Stitches by displacement or mech? Share expirience!

Forums: Stitches by displacement or mech? Share expirience!
Discuss or ask critique about your current works
Forum rules
Important notice: All artwork submitted on our public gallery forums gallery forums may or may not be used by OTOY for publication on our website gallery.
If you do not want us to publish your art, please mention it in your post clearly. (put a very red small diagonal cross in the left right corner of the image)
Any images already published on the gallery will be removed if the original author asks us to do so.
We recommend placing your credits on the images so you benefit from the exposure too, and use a minimum image width of 1200 pixels, and use pathtracing or PMC. Thanks for your attention, The OctaneRender Team.


For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.

This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Stitches by displacement or mech? Share expirience!

Postby vitgaus » Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:33 am

vitgaus Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:33 am
Hi,
I've faced a problem how to make automotive stitches. Below is latest progress with displacement, but I'm still not happy.
Could you guys share you workflow how to make stitches?
Attachments
steer2.jpg
vitgaus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 5:08 am

Re: Stitches by displacement or mech? Share expirience!

Postby FrankPooleFloating » Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:27 am

FrankPooleFloating Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:27 am
I haven't made stitches per se, but I have achieved incredible results with Octane Hair for all kinds of (non-hair) stuff. If I were doing this, or anything with thick stitches, I would prolly go with hair. I've made a full rope hammock, chain link fencing... If you need high-def details for closeups, and displacements won't cut it, hair has got you covered. Pun intended. ;)
Win10Pro || GA-X99-SOC-Champion || i7 5820k w/ H60 || 32GB DDR4 || 3x EVGA 980Ti Hybrid || EVGA Supernova G2 1300W || Tt Core X9 || ̶B̶l̶e̶n̶d̶e̶r̶ ̶P̶l̶u̶g̶ ̶|̶|̶ ̶L̶i̶g̶h̶t̶W̶a̶v̶e̶ ̶P̶l̶u̶g̶ || Blender E-Cycles
User avatar
FrankPooleFloating
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1654
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:48 pm

Re: Stitches by displacement or mech? Share expirience!

Postby vitgaus » Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:48 pm

vitgaus Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:48 pm
Thx for hint, but could'n find any tutorials or pictures how to make stitches with Hair modifier. Any links or own practices?
vitgaus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 5:08 am

Re: Stitches by displacement or mech? Share expirience!

Postby FrankPooleFloating » Tue Dec 18, 2018 5:43 pm

FrankPooleFloating Tue Dec 18, 2018 5:43 pm
In LightWave we use 2-point poly chains which can be generated by LightWave's FiberFX when doing actual hair/fur, or in my case I make curves (wherever I need them) and convert them with FiberFX Strand Maker -- which Octane for LW is able to turn into Octane Hair. I have no idea what other apps use or their workflows... Someone else will need to help with your specific app I think. What's your weapon of choice?

Omg, how I could leave out pipes, tubes, hoses, and wires.. duh.. I have used Hair for those more than anything.
Win10Pro || GA-X99-SOC-Champion || i7 5820k w/ H60 || 32GB DDR4 || 3x EVGA 980Ti Hybrid || EVGA Supernova G2 1300W || Tt Core X9 || ̶B̶l̶e̶n̶d̶e̶r̶ ̶P̶l̶u̶g̶ ̶|̶|̶ ̶L̶i̶g̶h̶t̶W̶a̶v̶e̶ ̶P̶l̶u̶g̶ || Blender E-Cycles
User avatar
FrankPooleFloating
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1654
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:48 pm

Re: Stitches by displacement or mech? Share expirience!

Postby itsallgoode9 » Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:02 pm

itsallgoode9 Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:02 pm
vitgaus wrote:Hi,
I've faced a problem how to make automotive stitches. Below is latest progress with displacement, but I'm still not happy.
Could you guys share you workflow how to make stitches?


Based on your image it just looks like your displacement map isn't very good. Stitches like this should be completely doable via displacement created in photoshop, or scuplted displacement. There are also some scripts for creating stitching if you google but those won't get the look of the stitches being indented into the leather
Intel i7-3930K, 64gb RAM, Asus X79 Deluxe mobo, 2x EVGA 780 6gb (for rendering), 1x PNY quaddro k4000 (for display)
Windows 8.1 x64, Maya 2014, Octane Render v2
itsallgoode9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 730
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:04 am
Location: New York City

Re: Stitches by displacement or mech? Share expirience!

Postby Creative_Sheep » Mon Jan 28, 2019 1:28 am

Creative_Sheep Mon Jan 28, 2019 1:28 am
The steering wheels looks very good, nice Job your obviously in the right direction with your question.
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Return to Works In Progress


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:45 am [ UTC ]