My workflow on AO renders.

Forums: My workflow on AO renders.
Tutorials for OctaneRender - demonstrations and howto's.

My workflow on AO renders.

Postby PAQUITO » Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:38 pm

PAQUITO Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:38 pm
I´d like to share my workflow in AO mode renders. It´s pretty basic and obvious, but I´m sure someone will find it useful.

First of all, when you load your obj, you get this, in gamma 1.0:
Image

In interiors is better to work in a 2.2 gamma space, so tweak it:
Image

Then adjust the AO distance, to get the better shading you can:
Image

It is always a good idea to have some daylight into the room, so add an environment:
Image

To finish it, give it some love into photoshop, so you get the best enhancement of your render:
Image

I hope you´ll find it useful. It´s a very basic procedure, but Ive found its a good way for fast interiors.
AMD FX8350 8 cores. 16GBs RAM
GTX690
Win8 64.
Image
User avatar
PAQUITO
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Spain

Re: My workflow on AO renders.

Postby paoloverona » Sun Dec 23, 2012 7:55 pm

paoloverona Sun Dec 23, 2012 7:55 pm
Thanks a lot for the tutorial Paquito!
I'm trying to get good results with AO mode but unfortunatley sometimes seems to work good and some others bad (most of the time bad :mrgreen: )
I'll certainly try your seggestions (I'm sure that they will be helpful).
I added a test from a pre-modeled scene (all materials was from the conversion), I just wanted to find out a correct illumination in AO mode; seems not too bad but another problem now: I love the bloom effect, but it's not easy to tweak because at too low value seems not applied, and at higher values it foggy/grainy out the scene :? ...have ny suggestion about?.

Thanks again, Paolo
Attachments
general_octane_test3_ao.jpg
intel i7 3820 3.6GHz, 16Gb 1600Hz, windows 7 professional 64bit, gtx 580 3Gb x2, Octane 3dsMax 2.58
paoloverona
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:40 pm

Re: My workflow on AO renders.

Postby PAQUITO » Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:39 pm

PAQUITO Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:39 pm
You must be aware that the bloom effect should be very well justified if you want it to look right. Personally I don´t use the octane bloom, since I´m used to fake it in photoshop. Could you post the render without bloom? I could post some screenshots to build a tutorial on faking bloom in photoshop the way I do.
AMD FX8350 8 cores. 16GBs RAM
GTX690
Win8 64.
Image
User avatar
PAQUITO
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Spain

Re: My workflow on AO renders.

Postby nehale » Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:40 pm

nehale Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:40 pm
Nice thanks for the share!
Regards
Nehale

Windows 10 x64 | 2x GTX680 | i7 990X | 24GB
Cinema 4D R17 Studio + 3Ds Max 2017
OctaneRender™ for Cinema 4D 3.01 + OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.14
User avatar
nehale
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:09 pm
Location: Namibia

Re: My workflow on AO renders.

Postby merid888 » Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:09 am

merid888 Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:09 am
thank you for this tutorial, still i can't understand the steps, just talk about image 1, image 2, image 3 but none values in the setting, just gamma 2.2, i mean, camera value ? glossines, diffuse, specular, etc, etc ?
regards
W10 x64 Bits, 24 Gb 1866 OC Mghz, P9X79 ws, E5-2670 Xeón, 2.60 Ghz to 3.30 Ghz Overclock, 2 SSD 240 Gb Raid, ThermalTake Water 2, 1 GTX 1080 Ti OC 11 GB ROG STRIX, 1 Power Supply Corsair 750 W.
User avatar
merid888
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: Merida

Re: My workflow on AO renders.

Postby PAQUITO » Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:23 am

PAQUITO Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:23 am
Just take it as something visual. I don´t need parameters to make it work. For example in the AO distance, I don´t even know the number to put in the box. I just move the slider until I get the desired effect. Forget about camera values, material parameters, etc... just follow this steps visually to get a nice AO shading. This is just about the shading of the scene in terms of lightning, Im not explaining about making materials and the like, just telling you how I light my scenes.
AMD FX8350 8 cores. 16GBs RAM
GTX690
Win8 64.
Image
User avatar
PAQUITO
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Spain

Re: My workflow on AO renders.

Postby paoloverona » Mon Dec 24, 2012 9:01 am

paoloverona Mon Dec 24, 2012 9:01 am
here is the unbloomed render :)
Attachments
test_ao_no_bloom.jpg
intel i7 3820 3.6GHz, 16Gb 1600Hz, windows 7 professional 64bit, gtx 580 3Gb x2, Octane 3dsMax 2.58
paoloverona
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:40 pm

Re: My workflow on AO renders.

Postby PAQUITO » Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:05 pm

PAQUITO Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:05 pm
Here is your scene with my bloom. Always try to be subtle.
Attachments
bloom.jpg
AMD FX8350 8 cores. 16GBs RAM
GTX690
Win8 64.
Image
User avatar
PAQUITO
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Spain

Re: My workflow on AO renders.

Postby paoloverona » Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:44 am

paoloverona Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:44 am
certainly better if compared with the one with the internal bloom effect,

did you used the threshold level?
intel i7 3820 3.6GHz, 16Gb 1600Hz, windows 7 professional 64bit, gtx 580 3Gb x2, Octane 3dsMax 2.58
paoloverona
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:40 pm

Re: My workflow on AO renders.

Postby PAQUITO » Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:29 pm

PAQUITO Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:29 pm
What do you mean with threshold level?
AMD FX8350 8 cores. 16GBs RAM
GTX690
Win8 64.
Image
User avatar
PAQUITO
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Spain
Next

Return to Tutorials


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:24 am [ UTC ]