Using Octane off-line

Forums: Using Octane off-line
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Using Octane off-line

Postby samhal » Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:56 am

samhal Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:56 am
This has probably been covered before, but I'm at work and don't have time to properly search for the answer, so...

I lost internet connectivity yesterday to a storm and tried to render a project and Octane/plugin was not having it.

We are not bound to a server handshake for everything to work are we? Checking the "work off-line" box on the window that popped up did nothing really expect get me to the activation tab on the plugin, which was useless without internet. No other tab would work.

So basically, how can I continue to use Octane/plugin off-line?

Thanks in advance!
Sam
i7 6800K (6 core), 24 GB, GTX 1080 8gb, Titan X 12gb
samhal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:15 pm
Location: Austin

Re: Using Octane off-line

Postby mojave » Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:45 pm

mojave Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:45 pm
What you need to look for is the offline licensing mode, here:

https://docs.otoy.com/StandaloneH3_06/S ... n%7C_____9
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: Using Octane off-line

Postby samhal » Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:44 pm

samhal Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:44 pm
Well thank you for the reply! :)

I read it three times and am still not sure what I just read. Clear as mud.

So...if I lose internet connectivity (without FIRST releasing my license and opting for the off-line license) I'm outta luck until I get internet back. Right? In this case roughly 5 hours.

Or am I reading this all wrong?

Thanks,
Sam
i7 6800K (6 core), 24 GB, GTX 1080 8gb, Titan X 12gb
samhal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:15 pm
Location: Austin

Re: Using Octane off-line

Postby mojave » Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:52 pm

mojave Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:52 pm
Yes, that is correct, if you expect not having Internet connection while using Octane you should use the offline mode. The main difference is that usually the licenses you use are released automatically when you close the application but with offline mode the license is just released when you explicitly sign out, which requires going back online at some stage.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: Using Octane off-line

Postby samhal » Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:21 pm

samhal Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:21 pm
Thats what I thought. Thank you.

I can only hope my internet doesn't rudely go out on me without advanced notice so I have time to take the necessary actions to keep rendering. Storms, cars hitting utility poles and such can be so thoughtless ya know!
i7 6800K (6 core), 24 GB, GTX 1080 8gb, Titan X 12gb
samhal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:15 pm
Location: Austin

Re: Using Octane off-line

Postby mojave » Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:41 pm

mojave Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:41 pm
Regardless whether you use offline mode or not, your Internet connection going down should not mean any type of disruption for you to keep working or finalize a current render.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:56 am [ UTC ]