How to toggle "Cast shadows" on objects?

Forums: How to toggle "Cast shadows" on objects?
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

How to toggle "Cast shadows" on objects?

Postby Tigersan » Sun Jul 09, 2017 5:50 pm

Tigersan Sun Jul 09, 2017 5:50 pm
I have a skydome that has a HDR texture and i use it as an emitter for the ambient light.
BUT i want to use Octane sunlight, but the skydome blocks the sunlight. How do I make
the skydome be transparent to the sunlight, so that i can still see it and without turning
off the shadows on the sunlight itself?
Home Rig:
Windows 10 Pro 64
Intel i7 980 6core HT
24GB RAM
Nvidia TITAN Xp 12GB VRAM

Laptop:
Windows 10 Pro 64
Intel i7 4710HQ
16GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 870m 3GB VRAM
User avatar
Tigersan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:54 am

Re: How to toggle "Cast shadows" on objects?

Postby face_off » Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:07 am

face_off Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:07 am
Hi. Delete the skydome, and put the HDRI that was on the skydone in the Visible Environment Texture.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13496
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: How to toggle "Cast shadows" on objects?

Postby Tigersan » Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:42 pm

Tigersan Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:42 pm
Yup I've done that, but i mean also having sun directed sunlight on top of that. Is there a way to do it? Or is it only
either or?
Home Rig:
Windows 10 Pro 64
Intel i7 980 6core HT
24GB RAM
Nvidia TITAN Xp 12GB VRAM

Laptop:
Windows 10 Pro 64
Intel i7 4710HQ
16GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 870m 3GB VRAM
User avatar
Tigersan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:54 am

Re: How to toggle "Cast shadows" on objects?

Postby Erick » Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:14 pm

Erick Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:14 pm
Yes, you can have both.
But you have to choose, which one you want to use for which purpose (Backplate, Refl., Refract.).
It's either this or that (see tooltips)
Attachments
OR.png
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: How to toggle "Cast shadows" on objects?

Postby wimvdb » Sat Jul 22, 2017 9:12 pm

wimvdb Sat Jul 22, 2017 9:12 pm
Or you can plug the hdri in the sky texture of the daylight environment
Configuration: Windows 10 64bit Creators Edition, I7 6850K, 128GB, 2 GeForce 1080ti, P11 Pro SR6
wimvdb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:03 pm

Re: How to toggle "Cast shadows" on objects?

Postby calvados » Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:42 am

calvados Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:42 am
Oh ! , I used Sky-texture, but You must use seamless texture.
calvados
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:58 am

Re: How to toggle "Cast shadows" on objects?

Postby Tigersan » Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:53 pm

Tigersan Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:53 pm
Thank you guys! :)
Home Rig:
Windows 10 Pro 64
Intel i7 980 6core HT
24GB RAM
Nvidia TITAN Xp 12GB VRAM

Laptop:
Windows 10 Pro 64
Intel i7 4710HQ
16GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 870m 3GB VRAM
User avatar
Tigersan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:54 am

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Oct 17, 2019 12:42 am [ UTC ]