modify a shader on multiple different objects

Forums: modify a shader on multiple different objects
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: modify a shader on multiple different objects

Postby face_off » Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:02 pm

face_off Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:02 pm
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\SetupForm.py", line 1694, in MenuSelectionCb
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\MaterialManager.py", line 909, in MenuCommand_ReimportSceneMaterialsFromPoser
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\MaterialManager.py", line 183, in ConvertMaterial
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\MaterialManager.py", line 642, in createOctaneMaterialFromPoserShaderTree
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\MaterialManager.py", line 625, in createOctaneMaterialFromPoserShaderTree
ValueError: invalid literal for float(): 0.5_2

I am sorry for the troubles you are having. However I cannot reproduce this error. I think it is either a) because you saved the Octane material to the Poser material with 1.20 and are trying to reconvert with 1.29, OR b) there is something specific in the material you are saving to the Poser material which is causing the problem.

So I can resolve this, can you pls save that material (that is causing the error above) to the Poser material of a cube (Poser primitive prop), and save that cube in a separate pz3 file and send me that pz3 file (so the pz3 will just have the cube and the Octane material giving you the above error saved to the cubes Poser material).

I hope that makes sense!

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14037
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: modify a shader on multiple different objects

Postby Andygraph3D » Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:08 am

Andygraph3D Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:08 am
Send the pz3 here ? Or to your e-mail ?
Andygraph3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: modify a shader on multiple different objects

Postby face_off » Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:15 am

face_off Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:15 am
Send the pz3 here ? Or to your e-mail ?
Either attach to this thread as a zip file, or email me at paul at physicalc-software dot com.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14037
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: modify a shader on multiple different objects

Postby Andygraph3D » Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:25 am

Andygraph3D Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:25 am
This is the pz3 with a sphere inside with octane shader applied to it.
Attachments
octanemat2poser.zip
(13.71 KiB) Downloaded 73 times
Andygraph3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: modify a shader on multiple different objects

Postby face_off » Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:47 am

face_off Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:47 am
Thanks. If I load that scene, open the plugin, select Reconvert From Poser for the ball_1 Preview material it works without error. Can you pls doublecheck that you get the above error when doing this?

Also, exactly what release are you using pls?

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14037
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: modify a shader on multiple different objects

Postby Andygraph3D » Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:44 pm

Andygraph3D Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:44 pm
the plugin is 1.20.2.7 32bit on poser 10

if i try to reconvert only the sphere i don't found problem, no error ..
BUT, if i create a new prop (example a cube) and i copy and paste the octane material from sphere to cube and try to reconvert it, i see the same error message again on sphere or on cube:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\SetupForm.py", line 1691, in MenuSelectionCb
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\MaterialManager.py", line 872, in MenuCommand_ReimportPropFigureMaterialsFromPoser
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\Node.py", line 1574, in MemoriseTreeState
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\Node.py", line 1574, in MemoriseTreeState
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\Node.py", line 1574, in MemoriseTreeState
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\Node.py", line 1566, in MemoriseTreeState
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\UiManager.py", line 2238, in displayError
ValueError: Error: null tree view in MemoriseTreeState for pin diffuse
Andygraph3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: modify a shader on multiple different objects

Postby Andygraph3D » Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:58 pm

Andygraph3D Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:58 pm
I have understand if i convert the materials from octane to poser and then reconvert material from poser to octane, i dont have error.

but if i try to copy and paste the octane material from a prop to another one and then reconvert the material from poser to octane,
BAM! error message
Andygraph3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: modify a shader on multiple different objects

Postby face_off » Sat Mar 08, 2014 1:32 am

face_off Sat Mar 08, 2014 1:32 am
I'm sorry, I don't understand what material you are copy/pasting. The octane material or the Poser material?

I did the following:

1) Opening your scene (reconnected the missing texturemaps)
2) Plugin Material tab->ball1->Preview->Save Octane Nodes to Poser Material
3) Poser Material Room, save Preview to the Material Library.
4) Loaded a new cude into the scene
5) Poser Material Room, load the saved material from the Poser Material Library into the material of the cube
6) Back to the Poser plugin, Material tab, select cube, Reconvert This Material From Poser -> the material from the sphere is correctly applied.

No crashes.

This is the workflow you need for copying one material to many. If you have 100 cubes, step 5.5 would be to use a Poser material tool to apply the MAT pose to all 100 cubes in one go, then step 6) would be to Reconvert All Materials From Poser (for the whole scene).

I hope that helps.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14037
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: modify a shader on multiple different objects

Postby Andygraph3D » Sat Mar 08, 2014 6:06 pm

Andygraph3D Sat Mar 08, 2014 6:06 pm
no error, but don't load the octane material applied to cube prop

maybe i don't understand how save and load the material create from octane into poser:

3) Poser Material Room, save Preview to the Material Library.
Attachments
matsavedfromoctane.jpg
this is the material saved from octane plugin into poser
matsavedfromoctane.jpg (40.94 KiB) Viewed 1459 times
Andygraph3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: modify a shader on multiple different objects

Postby face_off » Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:51 pm

face_off Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:51 pm
3) Poser Material Room, save Preview to the Material Library.

Pls see page 160 of the Poser Pro 2014 manual.

Code: Select all
Adding Materials to the Library Palette
Poser offers the option of saving either single materials, or
grouped material collections from a single figure, to the Library
palette.
To save single material to the Librarypalette:
1.  Open the Material Room.
2.  In the Library palette, select the desired Category/
Subcategory that will store the new material.
3.  Move the mouse into the Preview window, where it turns
into an Eyedropper tool. Use the eyedropper to “pick up” the
material that you want to save. The material settings appear
in the Simple or Advanced view in the Material room.
4.  Click the Save to Libraryicon (+) at the bottom of the
Librarypalette.
5.  In the New Material Set dialog, select the Single Material
radio button.
6.  Enter a name for the Material and click OK. A square
showing the single material appears in the currently selected
Material library category/subcategory.


Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14037
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
PreviousNext

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:24 pm [ UTC ]