Poser Pro 2014 problems

Forums: Poser Pro 2014 problems
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby Iefke » Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:50 am

Iefke Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:50 am
Wow, your quick!

I tried 1.16a6 on both PP2012 and PP2014 and unfortunatly the problem remains.

Yvo
Win8 64bit, GTX680, i7, 16G RAM,
Iefke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby face_off » Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:05 am

face_off Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:05 am
OK, I will post another version in an hour or two. In the meantime, can you post the latest .wer file in your c:\users\<yourname>\AppData\Local\Temp folder? It should be the Poser crash file, and be dated today.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14202
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby face_off » Sun Jun 02, 2013 3:56 am

face_off Sun Jun 02, 2013 3:56 am
I have some more info on this....it appears this problem is due to the event mechanism behind wx.python (which is the PoserPython GUI which the Octane plugin uses). It appears certain versions of the Microsoft common controls respond differently to the tree selection event, and some versions fire the select event twice which is causing the plugin to get into a loop, which ends up in a crash.

I have updated the http://render.otoy.com/customerdownloads/plugins/OctaneRender%20for%20Poser%20Setup%201.16a6%20beta.exe installer to add more verbose output to the octaneplugin.log file so that I can get a better handle of where exactly the crash is happening. Can you pls try this revised version, and once you get a crash, send me the octaneplugin.log file, and let me know which node you changed the type of to cause the crash.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14202
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby Iefke » Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:34 am

Iefke Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:34 am
Thanks Paul, i will test this.
Right now i have some Sunday duties to do, like cooking for my family, etc...
I will come back.

Yvo
Win8 64bit, GTX680, i7, 16G RAM,
Iefke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby Iefke » Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:03 pm

Iefke Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:03 pm
Paul,

I sended the logs to your Physicalc address.

Yvo
Win8 64bit, GTX680, i7, 16G RAM,
Iefke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby face_off » Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:38 pm

face_off Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:38 pm
I have 2 leads on this issue.....

1) Are the 3 or 4 people experiencing the node type change crash all running a non-English version of Poser? Is anyone running the English version getting this crash?

2) I could be the version of the Microsoft Common Controls you have installed. Can the people experiencing this problem pls report the version of the Windows common controls they are using? To do this, check the C:\Windows\WinSxS\ folder - the common controls are named something like amd64_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.9200.16579_none_418ab7ef718b27ef\COMCTL32.dll, which is version 6.0.9200.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14202
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby Iefke » Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:08 am

Iefke Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:08 am
I have the English version of Poser running on a Dutch Windows 8 64bit

I have 4 common controls files:

amd64_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_5.82.9200.16384_none_7762d5fd3178b04e
amd64_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.9200.16384_none_418c2a697189c07f
amd64_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.9200.16579_none_418ab7ef718b27ef
amd64_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.9200.20683_none_2abe9a298b310786

Yvo
Win8 64bit, GTX680, i7, 16G RAM,
Iefke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby face_off » Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:34 am

face_off Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:34 am
It looks like the common factor is Windows 8!
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14202
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby face_off » Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:06 am

face_off Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:06 am
I have re-uploaded http://render.otoy.com/customerdownloads/plugins/OctaneRender%20for%20Poser%20Setup%201.16a6%20beta.exe, which /should/ fix the issue people are having. Once I get confirmation of this from people, I'll post this version as the new 1.16a TEST release.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14202
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby Iefke » Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:58 am

Iefke Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:58 am
Paul,

You fixed it !!!
No more crashes, tested in both PP2012 and 2014.

Thanks for your support!

Yvo
Win8 64bit, GTX680, i7, 16G RAM,
Iefke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Belgium
PreviousNext

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Thu Oct 01, 2020 7:22 pm [ UTC ]