Hair renders with octane

Forums: Hair renders with octane
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Hair renders with octane

Postby ch0pper » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:27 am

ch0pper Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:27 am
I've not seen thread started with this so I decided to ask.
As we all know poser is not great for hair renders I'm just wondering if there is any way that we could make within octane hair look more realistic and lifelike.

I'm really not sure where to start with this and what you can recommend.

Maybe some sort of sss but for hair?

The best plug-in I've ever seen for hair is a program called hair farm but unfortunately it's about $700 to buy. And is only available 3-D studio Max


Image
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: Hair renders with octane

Postby icelaglace » Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:39 am

icelaglace Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:39 am
Mesh is fine, the material does not need SSS,it'll just require some glossy material that is all :)
The tricky part & where the hair looks "life-like" or not is mostly the specular/roughness/index part.
Play with it till you get that nice shine on it! because it looks flat at the moment.
http://icelaglace.com
User avatar
icelaglace
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:59 am
Location: France

Re: Hair renders with octane

Postby FractalBuddha » Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:07 am

FractalBuddha Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:07 am
I really like here stare.
Imagine reality

2 x GTX 560 | i7 | windows 7
User avatar
FractalBuddha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 2:26 am

Re: Hair renders with octane

Postby face_off » Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:19 am

face_off Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:19 am
Yes, her eyes are great.

Hair is probably the area I've least experimented with. But the shader I'm using at the moment is attached. I'm sure it can be vastly improved on.
Attachments
hair settings.png
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14102
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Hair renders with octane

Postby ch0pper » Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:25 am

ch0pper Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:25 am
Well here's my first attempt at changing some of the settings I'm not sure what i am quite doing to be honest with you as I said in very new to this whole.

Rendering malarkey and I am using a very old GTxs 450 card that takes me for 4 hours roughly to render with hair.

Image
Image
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: Hair renders with octane

Postby face_off » Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:44 am

face_off Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:44 am
That is such a nice render!!!

Are you missing a diffuse map? (says "diffuse = ").

For me, the reflection in her eyes is a touch high too.

Her skin is absolutely perfect. Nice job.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14102
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Hair renders with octane

Postby ch0pper » Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:21 pm

ch0pper Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:21 pm
Maybe I misunderstood about glossy I thought you had to set the tab to glossy and then change the default settings here is my default settings what needs to be change on here to achieve translucent effect on hair and to make it more realistic I probably misunderstood/

Yes you're right guys eyes a bit over glossy overkill but still it looks nice






Image


Well his results with playing with the various settings.

Still not sure what settings to use but I'm sure I'll get there eventually

Image

few changes

Image
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: Hair renders with octane

Postby face_off » Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:24 pm

face_off Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:24 pm
Hi Chopper

Maybe I misunderstood about glossy I thought you had to set the tab to glossy and then change the default settings here is my default settings what needs to be change on here to achieve translucent effect on hair and to make it more realistic I probably misunderstood/

From the default converted hair material, try roughness 0.3, filmwidth 1, and I think I used opacity at 0.8 or 0.9. Bump power 1. Then adjust the /amount/ of specular with the specular "color".

Also, in "imager", try gamma at 0.8 and "exposure" 1.2, and adjust the overall look with the "saturation".

Which figure are you using in the render?
Which skin material is that? And is it an SSS shader, or the default converted skin material?
Looks great!

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14102
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Hair renders with octane

Postby ch0pper » Sun Jan 13, 2013 3:11 pm

ch0pper Sun Jan 13, 2013 3:11 pm
Image

The base figure is Victoria 4.2 from DAZ

With the add-on figure of Paris from danae

http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/inde ... ndor=danae

Is probably the best for realism in the whole poser production

I've been using this stuff about three years no one even comes close

two baseline renders from realism. (I've added no sss whatsoever so far to the skin)

It's a baseline render basically straight out of the box with no tweaks.

Basically it's the default skin shader.

And still l bit confused about the settings sorry about this is I said in very new to this forum
"roughness 0.3, filmwidth 1, and opacity at 0.8 or 0.9. Bump power 1"

The only way I see these settings is converting the default from diffuse to specular. I take it this is correct
Seeing enclose screen dump?

as Default i only see power,gamma,scale,ray_step


Image
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: Hair renders with octane

Postby mlru » Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:00 pm

mlru Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:00 pm
ch0pper wrote:
And still l bit confused about the settings sorry about this is I said in very new to this forum
"roughness 0.3, filmwidth 1, and opacity at 0.8 or 0.9. Bump power 1"

The only way I see these settings is converting the default from diffuse to specular. I take it this is correct
Seeing enclose screen dump?

as Default i only see power,gamma,scale,ray_step

You need to set the material to glossy.
There you have a roughness and a film-width channel. Opacity and bump channels are present in all material types.
Win8.1/64Bit | i7-950 | 12GB | GTX Titan 6GB | NVidia Driver 431.36 | Octane 4.05 | DAZ Studio 4.12 - Plugin 4.04
mlru
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 9:26 pm
Next

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed Aug 12, 2020 11:41 pm [ UTC ]