OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.02q [OBSOLETE]

Smith Micro Software Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)
Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.02q [OBSOLETE]

Postby face_off » Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:17 am

This is the recommended thread for downloading, and posting any questions, suggestions or support queries for OctaneRender for Poser, build 1.02q (TEST VERSION). This version is compiled against Octane 1.02, so see the requirements for that build regarding compatibility with your video card.

If you have a support issue, pls provide the following information:
- Operating System (ie. Win XP, Vista, 7, 8)
- 32 or 64 bit
- Amount of RAM
- Graphics Card(s) - model (ie. GTX 580, 3GB)
- Nvidia driver version
- Poser version (Poser -> Help -> About Poser) - list the build number (eg. 9.0.3.23027)
- OctaneRender for Plugin version (ie. 1.02q)
- Also have ready a copy of the octaneplugin.log and cuda.log file from your Poser temp direction (Poser -> Edit -> General Preferences -> Misc tab to find the temp directory)

Change Log from release 1.02p
- Post processing settings are now saved and re-loaded correctly
- New toggle button added (left of the auto refresh button), which when activated, disabled ALL updates to Octane, meaning the current Octane render will continue with restarting. NOTE: Activating this button will block Imager and Postproc changes too.
- Updated splash screen and header to reflrect compilation against Octane 1.02
- Focus pick clicking no longer highlights the camera->focalDepth parameter, meaning scrolling after clicking the focus point will not incorrectly move the slider
- The material tab window now displays a preview of the selected material. This adds a slight delay to item clicking (since the bitmap needs to be generated). The preview appears to be of limited use - so it has only been included for feedback and suggestion as this stage. Set MATERIAL_PREVIEW_SAMPLES in OctaneDefaults.py to disable material previews. This is DISABLED BY DEFAULT (since it adds a delay when selected tree items).
- Create Emitter From Lights no longer converts infinite lights (since they now feed the Octane sunlight angle)
- Default daylight model set to 1. Can be changed but to 0 via the DEFAULT_DAYLIGHT_MODEL parameter in OctaneDefaults.py
- The first infinite light in the Poser scene will now be remained to "Daylight", and if the "environment" pin of the rendertarget is set to the "daylight" node, the sun direction will be picked up from that Poser infinite light
- The imager, kernel, resolution, environment, postprocessing and camera setting can now be individually reset. Rightclick over these node for the reset to defaults option
- The main setup dialog can now be stretched lengthwise - drag the dialog border to increase it's size
- Copy/Paste are now the first items on the rightclick menu
- If you have progressive save ON, you can now RIGHTCLICK the viewport to instantly display the previous progressively saved render. This will only work if you have progressively saved a render whilst the viewport is open.
- Fixed issue where sometime the render would not start after opening the viewport
- Moving a light which has an emitter attached (from the Create Emitters For Lights script) now trigger a refresh of the emitter prop position if Auto Refresh is ON
- You can now save all material for a given figure back to the Poser Material nodes. Rightclick the mesh, and select "Save all Materials for this Figure/Prop as Poser Materials"
- "No Handler" warning msg is now suppressed when clicking the "Image File Statistics" button when there are HDR images in the scene. Also suppressed from the Scene Texture Counter script
- You can now delete all Octane nodes that reference a ceratin file. Rightclick the image, alphaimage or floatimage node in Material Tab containing the file to be removed, and select "Delete all nodes referencing [filename]"
- Color picker - now includes HSV sliders.
- A cuda error will no longer shutdown the plugin. If it's error 999 (your card didn't start rendering), you can then Reset the card through the Cuda Devices tab. If you run out of memory (error 2), you can still continue the render (at your own risk!), or can at least tweak the nodes in the Materials tab to save some memory. If you get a geometry error (error 1).
- If there is a cuda error raised whilst loading the geometry, the plugin will now display the prop or figure which caused the issue
- Resolved issues where rightclicking on the Materials tab selected the wrong tree item on large node setups
- Deleting a figure/prop with child props will no longer trigger multiple scene reloads
- Pasting "Retaining Texturemaps" now retains any maps plugged into the transmission and specular pins
- The image file selection dialog now no longer displays the folder name (only displays the filename)
- Scene Texture Counter script no longer fails if there is a null figure with attached figures/props
- Non-standard geometry containing polygons with only 2 vertices will now load into the plugin
- Fixed issue where material picker was not working correctly with props parented to a figure
- There is a new rightclick option on the Material tab to copy the currently pasted material to all materials with teh same name as the material you have rightclicked. You must have copied a material into the clipboard and have rightclicked a material to make this option available in the rightclick menu
- When File->Import->Poser Document is used, the Octane settings of the imported scene will not be loaded into the scene (since the importing process will rename all the figures and props). The existing Octane settings will remain untouched.
- There is a new parameter SPECULAR_RATIO in the OctaneDefaults. If a Poser Material has a transparency greater than this figure, it will be converted to an specular Octane material. Default value is 0.5
- You can now specify the default image save location in OctaneDefaults via the DEFAULT_SAVE_FOLDER parameter
- When finishing rendering an animation, if the update geometry checkbox if OFF, the vertices are no longer refreshed
- Added addition logging for node creation
- Fixed issue where assigning an image file was sometimes not working during rendering
- Fixed issue where File -> Revert was not correctly loading Octane settings from the pz3 file
- Added the ability to load and save kernel and imager settings

There is a video of the new daylight light control at http://youtu.be/KiIGvoyt0zk.

If you have questions....
- Read the manual
- Read the FAQ
- Watch the Features Video
- Read the Features Blog Posting
- Watch the Introductory Tutorial
- Check the Facebook Page
- Post your question on this forum thread

Troubleshooting
- GUI issues (lock-up/crash) on large scenes (ie. 4million polys) - potentially due to the Windows Vista/7 "Timeout Detection and Recovery" http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/gg487368.aspx[url][/url]. Settings can be changed using Regedit. The recommended setting for Octane are registry setting HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\GraphicsDrivers, TdrLevel = 3, TdrDelay =10 (if these settings are not already there, rightclick the right panel -> New -> DWORD). You will need to reboot after changing these settings.

Limitations
- Loading a Poser scene by double-clicking a pz3 file in the Windows file explorer, or selecting from your "Recent Files" will not load the previously saved Octane scene data for that file when Poser starts. This is due to a Poser bug which has been reported to Smith Micro. Instead, use the Poser menu File -> Open to open any pz3 files which contain Octane scene data.
- Material Picking (by clicking on a material in the Poser Material Room) does not select that material in the OctaneRender material tab if you have a camera selected in the Parameter Dials window.
- If you delete a duplicated figure in Poser, when next reloading the scene, the figures may have been renamed, in which case the plugin will not have loaded the materials for the rename figure correctly. This has been reported as a big to Smith Micro and will be fixed.

Download the plugin HERE

Paul
Last edited by face_off on Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:23 am, edited 4 times in total.
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 11800
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.02q [TEST]

Postby vipvip » Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:58 am

wow, huge enhancements !
happy new year, Paul !
Thanx for this
Vincent
Vincent PARIS - Le Jardin Digital - Photos/Films/Websites/3D - FRANCE - Internet Website: http://www.lejardindigital.fr
User avatar
vipvip
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:28 am
Location: France

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.02q [TEST]

Postby Zay » Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:55 am

This is great!

Just tried to do a File/revert for a saved PZZ file with octane settings. But it will not revert/reload with the octane materials.
Win 7 64bit | 3.4GHz I7 | 64GB ram | 2x GTX 1080Ti - driver 384.76| Modo 10/ZBrush/PoserPro11
Zay
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:53 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.02q [TEST]

Postby Zay » Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:59 am

Is "Refreshing Vertices" supposed to take longer than just refreshing the Poser scene? In my case with an Instance scene it takes about 8 to 10 times longer.
Win 7 64bit | 3.4GHz I7 | 64GB ram | 2x GTX 1080Ti - driver 384.76| Modo 10/ZBrush/PoserPro11
Zay
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:53 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.02q [TEST]

Postby Zay » Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:05 am

Moved a rock in the scene an clicked the Refresh button and got this error:
Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\OctanePlugin.py", line 3907, in EventInstantRefresh
  File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\OctanePlugin.py", line 8160, in refreshScene
  File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\OctanePlugin.py", line 8889, in copyMeshToOctane
  File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\OctanePlugin.py", line 8210, in refreshMaterials
  File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\OctanePlugin.py", line 8518, in createNodeFromSavedTree
WindowsError: exception: access violation reading 0x0000000000000000


Also got the Warning: Low video memory in the viewport at the same time.

No cuda errors.

Logfile:
octaneplugin.zip
(64.7 KiB) Downloaded 104 times
Win 7 64bit | 3.4GHz I7 | 64GB ram | 2x GTX 1080Ti - driver 384.76| Modo 10/ZBrush/PoserPro11
Zay
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:53 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.02q [TEST]

Postby Zay » Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:39 am

Why does the plugin start "Refresh Vertices" when starting AND stopping/canceling animations when "Refresh Geometry Each Frame" is turned off? I don't see the point of that extra waiting time.
Win 7 64bit | 3.4GHz I7 | 64GB ram | 2x GTX 1080Ti - driver 384.76| Modo 10/ZBrush/PoserPro11
Zay
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:53 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.02q [TEST]

Postby wimvdb » Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:38 pm

So far no problems and the infinite light link to daylight is absolutely great!

It is a petty that the resize of the windows did not make it
Configuration: Windows 10 64bit Creators Edition, I7 6850K, 128GB, 2 GeForce 1080ti, P11 Pro SR6
wimvdb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:03 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.02q [TEST]

Postby face_off » Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:59 pm

It did make it Wim....
- The main setup dialog can now be stretched lengthwise - drag the dialog border to increase it's size
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 11800
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.02q [TEST]

Postby face_off » Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:14 pm

Hi Zay

Just tried to do a File/revert for a saved PZZ file with octane settings. But it will not revert/reload with the octane materials.

I just recheck this and it works for me. Can you pls open the default scene, run the plugin, set the maxsamples to 1000, save the scene, change the maxsamples to 2000, File->Revert and then attach or email the octaneplugin.log file? Sorry for the hassle.

Is "Refreshing Vertices" supposed to take longer than just refreshing the Poser scene? In my case with an Instance scene it takes about 8 to 10 times longer.

I am unable to reproduce this issue. I can only speculate that there is something odd about the geometry that is causing the issue. The geometry load code has changed - in order to accommodate polygons with 2 vertices, but I would not have thought that would cause an issue. Would it be possible to attach or email the octaneplugin.log file pls? I can check if something odd is happening there.

Moved a rock in the scene an clicked the Refresh button and got this error:

I have located this issue and resolved it, and will post an update later today. Thanks for the info you provided - made it easy to track down.

Why does the plugin start "Refresh Vertices" when starting AND stopping/canceling animations when "Refresh Geometry Each Frame" is turned off? I don't see the point of that extra waiting time.

I will remove the refresh when stopping/finishing the animation in this situation.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 11800
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.02q [TEST]

Postby wimvdb » Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:14 pm

face_off wrote:It did make it Wim....
- The main setup dialog can now be stretched lengthwise - drag the dialog border to increase it's size


I missed that because I dragged on the right side, not below. Good!
Configuration: Windows 10 64bit Creators Edition, I7 6850K, 128GB, 2 GeForce 1080ti, P11 Pro SR6
wimvdb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:03 pm
Next

Return to Smith Micro Software Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:47 pm [ UTC ]