low video card memory?WTF

Forums: low video card memory?WTF
Smith Micro Software Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)
Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

low video card memory?WTF

Postby ch0pper » Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:26 am

ch0pper Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:26 am
Quadro fx 5600 Video Memory Installed1.5 GB

Well so far i not have good time with octane : (

version used 1.2p

Image
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: low video card memory?WTF

Postby ch0pper » Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:28 am

ch0pper Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:28 am
after going back to version 1.00p
now geting this error

Image
Image
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: low video card memory?WTF

Postby pixelrush » Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:57 am

pixelrush Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:57 am
The Quadro 5600 is quite an old card based on a GeForce 8800 Ultra.
Its general level of performance for gpu rendering would not be very good having 128 cuda cores.
It also has cuda Compute Capability 1.0. It may not be so suitable for recent Octane builds but the Otoy guys can advise you about that.
Which Nvidia driver are you using at the moment?
How many polys has your model?
Try closing some open apps and turning off Aero to free some vram
i7-3820 @4.3Ghz | 24gb | Win7pro-64
GTS 250 display + 2 x GTX 780 cuda| driver 331.65
Octane v1.55
User avatar
pixelrush
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:11 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: low video card memory?WTF

Postby mlru » Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:31 pm

mlru Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:31 pm
Also try to reduce the texture sizes.
Often they come in a 4000x4000 resolution, that's usally not needed.
Win8.1/64Bit | i7-950 | 12GB | GTX Titan 6GB | Driver 375.86 | Octane 3.x | PoserPro 2014 - Plugin 3.x | DAZ Studio 4.9 - Plugin 3.x
mlru
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 9:26 pm

Re: low video card memory?WTF

Postby face_off » Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:21 am

face_off Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:21 am
I am pretty sure that Octane 1.02 will only work with GTX 500 and 600 series cards at the moment, so for the moment you should use the 1.00p build of the plugin. If you are running out of memory check the FAQ thread in this forum for tips, including using the texture file compression script supplied with the plugin.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12523
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: low video card memory?WTF

Postby ch0pper » Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:24 am

ch0pper Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:24 am
thanks for the reply.

i going buy KFA2 GeForce GTX 680 EX OC 4096MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card


i take it one these would work quite well?
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: low video card memory?WTF

Postby badmilk69 » Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:39 am

badmilk69 Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:39 am
670 gtx 4gb are the best bang for tue buck.
i7 2600, 16 GB RAM, 2x Evga 670 SC 4gb, dual boot win7/osxML, 2 SSDs, 3 HDs.
badmilk69
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 4:24 am

Re: low video card memory?WTF

Postby wimvdb » Tue Jan 01, 2013 3:55 pm

wimvdb Tue Jan 01, 2013 3:55 pm
ch0pper wrote:thanks for the reply.

i going buy KFA2 GeForce GTX 680 EX OC 4096MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card


i take it one these would work quite well?


I have the GTX680 4GB and am extrem ly happy about it
Keep the old card in as well. Plug your monitor in that one and the OS UI will use that card freeing up more memory for the GTX and a much more responsive UI
Configuration: Windows 10 64bit Creators Edition, I7 6850K, 128GB, 2 GeForce 1080ti, P11 Pro SR6
wimvdb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:03 pm

Return to Smith Micro Software Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:00 pm [ UTC ]