OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [OBSOLETE]
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [CURRENT]

Postby face_off » Fri Dec 14, 2012 8:48 am

face_off Fri Dec 14, 2012 8:48 am
Hi Vincent

Paul, can we expect on a new plugin integrating those features

The way the plugin is written, it is very quick to simply compile it against the 1.01 version of the Octane development environment, so "yes", the new 1.01 features will be released in the plugin, and I would expect them to become available once any 1.01 bugs have been fixed.

The other feature i'm dreaming of, would be a real native object/deformation motion blur, but apparently, Octane is not ready for this at this point...

Motion blur is a tricky topic. It could be done via Octane engine if it could store the previous and next frame geometry, so it can render the true motion blur (which it is not current able to do), or there is a way to approximate it - by rendering 5 times as many frames as needed, and post-process merging each 5 frames into 1 (ie. if you have a 30 frame animation, retime it to be 150 frames, and animate frame 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 and merge them to be frame 1 - then do the same for frames 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 for frame 2...etc. This can be manually done in Poser by retiming the animation to be 5 times as many frames, rendering, then manually merging the frames.

FYI - Following is the list of candidate features for the next version of the plugin (which would hopefully also include the Octane 1.01). Not all will make it, but at least you know where I'm heading:

- Drag setup window size to resize it
- Add material preview
- Color picker - add HSV and continual move slider
- Menu to reset other settings rendertarget settings
- Handle Poser image rotation and scaling
- Fix exception for HDR files
- Enable the loading of geometry which has polygons with 2 vertices
- Open all materials when selecting a figure/prop (can be switched on/off in the OctaneDefaults.py file)
- Move Cut/Paste to the top of the menu
- Double mousewheel slider movement if ctl pressed
- Add defaults for additional folders
- Add button to disable camera refreshes (so you can continue working on the scene without restarting the render)
- Add rotation and transform to TRANSFORM types

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14037
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [CURRENT]

Postby vipvip » Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:41 am

vipvip Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:41 am
Super!
Excellent news! !
Aother great thing would be to auto adapt the viewport size to the new render resolution
vipvip
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:28 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [CURRENT]

Postby face_off » Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:01 am

face_off Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:01 am
Aother great thing would be to auto adapt the viewport size to the new render resolution

I originally had that, however there is a risk that the viewport could be sized greater than the screen size, and it is theoretically possible for the viewport to cover the setting window so you cannot change it back, nor close the viewport (ie. if you put an X resolution of 4000 in). So I felt it safer to implement the scrollbars in the viewport instead.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14037
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [CURRENT]

Postby Erick » Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:42 am

Erick Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:42 am
I finally found some time to play around with this amazing plug-in a little more.
I wanted to build a little room and noticed something strange with a carpet, I was using.
I then isolated the carpet and did a sole render of it.
There is nothing else in the scene, beside some Inf. Lights, I use to set up my scenes in poser and the Poser Ground plane.
The carpet itself is called "CarpetLaura" and did come with an apartment set, iirc.
The mat. set-up for the carpet is very basic, just a diffuse material with an image file attached.

What could cause, that it's only rendered half ways (diagonally)?
Attachments
carpet.png
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [CURRENT]

Postby face_off » Fri Dec 14, 2012 11:02 am

face_off Fri Dec 14, 2012 11:02 am
Hi Erick

Looks like the prop only has 2 polygons. Try turning smoothing OFF for the carpet material in the Materials tab of the plugin.

If that doesn't work, export just the carpet geometry to OBJ and email it to me. I'll take a closer look.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14037
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [CURRENT]

Postby Erick » Fri Dec 14, 2012 12:35 pm

Erick Fri Dec 14, 2012 12:35 pm
Turning smoothing OFF fixed the issue for me :D
Thank you!
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [CURRENT]

Postby vipvip » Sat Dec 15, 2012 3:52 am

vipvip Sat Dec 15, 2012 3:52 am
Erick, i don't know if it can help you but 1+ year ago, i has such problems with the octane standalone version:
the main reason was that the exporter i used didn't convert well the mesh normals when exporting in OBJ format ( specially with the lightwave 10 exporter ).
Fixing (unifying) or flipping manually normals resolved this problem because when you unckek the smoothing parameter, you will give faceted output of your object ( of course with a plane it is not a problem...)
Actually, Blender and Lightwave 11 export correctly OBJ Format... it is not the case with all the apps ( sometimes, there's options to tweak normal/smoothing/face orientation parameters and avoid this....)
vipvip
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:28 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [CURRENT]

Postby wimvdb » Sat Dec 15, 2012 1:17 pm

wimvdb Sat Dec 15, 2012 1:17 pm
A multiple selection of meshes would be nice to have (for instance to remove bump maps from part the scene)
Another useful thing to remove bump maps from other objects with the same material name.
Example is Stonemansons UrbanSprawl2
There are many objects in the scene - it re-uses many of the bump, trans and texture maps. So removing the bump map from one of the objects will not help since the bump map is used in many other objects. There is currently no way to remove them all (except for the entire scene)
A list with all objects with checkboxes would do the trick, I think
Configuration: Windows 10 64bit Creators Edition, I7 6850K, 128GB, 2 GeForce 1080ti, P11 Pro SR6
wimvdb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:03 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [CURRENT]

Postby Michael314 » Sat Dec 15, 2012 4:35 pm

Michael314 Sat Dec 15, 2012 4:35 pm
Hello,
with 1.00p, I get lots of errors like "Polygon (xx) has not enough vertices" or "mismatch between vertices and textures".
If I export the scenes to .obj (i.e. the old, non-plugin-way) and load them into Octane directly, I have no issues.
For one scene I think it worked with an earlier version of the plugin (not sure though, I didn't track that precisely).

What exactly should I look for to remove in the obj files what the plugin does not like?

Best regards,
Michael
Win XP 64 | GTX 580 (3 GB) | Core2Quad 2.83GHz (Q9550) | 8GB
Win7 Ultimate 64 | GTX 680 (4 GB) | Core i7 X980 | 24GB
Michael314
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 3:41 pm
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta - build 1.00p [CURRENT]

Postby Erick » Sat Dec 15, 2012 6:28 pm

Erick Sat Dec 15, 2012 6:28 pm
Thanks for the info, vipvip.
I'll (try to) keep that in mind =)
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am
PreviousNext

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Fri Jul 03, 2020 9:17 pm [ UTC ]