OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1 [superseded by 2020.1 XB2]

Forums: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1 [superseded by 2020.1 XB2]
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby Notiusweb » Mon Dec 09, 2019 11:45 am

Notiusweb Mon Dec 09, 2019 11:45 am
Notiusweb wrote:This happens with Random walk Medium on both Universal and Diffuse.

The RW's transmission, when lit by another bright adjacent light source, gets 'hot' and looks pixelated.
I can adjust all of the settings in RW Medium up and down, but to no avail Doesn't matter if Transmission is Specular or Diffuse either...
I can only 'clamp' the hotness, but not arrange it such that it matches the smoothness when unlit. Even when denoised it looks way too hot



Otoy Team - This was an FBX.
but now I found that when I imported as an ABC, it wound up coming in @100x larger scale than the FBX. And guess what - no issue!
So I cranked the transmission and then I could see it. The dots are still there, but way tinier, almost akin to a 'higher resolution'. Like the scale of the dots was 100x smaller!

So, kind of a workaround...
But, I would want at any scale that it should not happen though.
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan RTX, 1 Titan Xp
External: 6 Titan X Pascal, 2 GTX Titan X
Plugs: Enterprise
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1281
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby Notiusweb » Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:43 pm

Notiusweb Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:43 pm
AHA!
That's why I am always seeing those little Transmission pixels when I use Up-sampling....
It's because it is enlarging the resolution of these mini SSS dots, which are otherwise smaller and rendered away.

My scale is probably already enhancing the presence of these dots, and then that, plus the up-sampling, leads to the artifacting.

I am a Genius! :geek:
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan RTX, 1 Titan Xp
External: 6 Titan X Pascal, 2 GTX Titan X
Plugs: Enterprise
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1281
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby Stefan » Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:36 pm

Stefan Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:36 pm
Thanks for bringing back the perpetual license!
Release looks promising feature wise.

Will the offline licensing mode be back as well?
Stefan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 2:01 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby karu » Tue Dec 10, 2019 1:28 am

karu Tue Dec 10, 2019 1:28 am
omardex wrote:Hello,

I haven't got any luck using either of the batch render job scripts ( the one in the menu and the one as a node) didn't had a crash but the software showed me a notification about expecting a type of output. saving works only using the save passes button on the bar but have to render each render target separately, and no animation save for me in exr format.

the scripts work on earlier versions 2019.1.4 works (reconstructed the scene for this version just in case)

cant share the culprit scene I'm under NDA (I know, dont use this version as is in experimental state, but it is rock solid just this little issue).


Thanks for the report. This will be fixed in the next release.
karu
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 11:26 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby KeeWe » Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:43 pm

KeeWe Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:43 pm
Is the cryptomatte bug (new random color set each time you start a new render) finally fixed or can someone confirm that you working on it? It's a huge dealbreaker for working with crpytomattes...
6850k // 32 GB // 1080, 1080 Ti, 2080 Ti // Win 10 // C4D 19.068
User avatar
KeeWe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 11:32 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby Lewis » Wed Dec 11, 2019 11:02 am

Lewis Wed Dec 11, 2019 11:02 am
Hi OTOY, Devs

Quick question for DEVs

I have mid size Arch-Viz scene and i'm using 4*2080Ti + 441.66 Studio drivers and I'm testing RTX ON/OFF speedup difference

I wonder is RTX compatible with denoiser and is RTX using Out Of Core VRAM for some reason ?

In my test scene i have 4 GPUs enabled but only 3 GPUs set for denoising (display GPU OFF for denoiser there)
1. when RTX is OFF my scene render sin 79 seconds and uses 0.54GB Out Of Core
2. when RTX is ON my scene seems to render faster and uses 0.88GB Out Of core but it FAILS to complete with erorr Not enough VRAM for denoising ?

So why is OOC ram increased when RTX is on ?

P.S. when i set Deoniser only to one GPU (instead 3 as earlier) then it renders fine. So i wonder is there maybe some weird memory leak which is doubling, tripling, quadrupling denoiser VRAM needs with 2,3,4 GPUs active for denoiser in comparison to 1 GPU for denoiser active ?

Thanks
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby OneManVN » Wed Dec 11, 2019 11:59 am

OneManVN Wed Dec 11, 2019 11:59 am
Since I can't post on the "DAZ Plugin" section of the newly released stable build for Octane-DAZ. I'll do it here! Before downloading and installing the 2020.1.0.47 version, my current scene which was created with 2019.1.4.46 was rendering at 29minutes.45 seconds. Now... Well, all I can say is someone needs to send the Otoy team a speeding ticket! My render times with the exact same scene are down by 50% or more.

In English. I went from nearly 30 minutes per scene to an average of 13.57 sec(This is a heavy scene.) I'm rocking in my chair with excitement. I was really hoping I could finish working on my project this weekend, and I'll be done with time for some R&R and two days to spare. I was skeptical when I decided to become a yearly subscriber with that price tag. Now? Now, I am impressed with the continued improvements I have seen in only a short period of 6 months since I became an Octane subscriber. Just keep em coming guys!



Thank you! To everyone at Otoy Team, and happy holidays to all of you. I look forward to an even better 2020.

Specs for the curious ones: Ryzen 7 1700X 64GB DDR4 @3200 2x2080 in NvLink Sli.
OneManVN
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 12:25 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby Lewis » Wed Dec 11, 2019 1:30 pm

Lewis Wed Dec 11, 2019 1:30 pm
Hi Again,

I think i found some bug in rendering material with RTX ON.

Here is the simple scene of armchair in simple room. Test with RTX OFF show All good, and with RTX ON my Velvet Fabric is rendered wrong (looks like inverted mix material or so?).
But what is weird here is that IF i put this Armchair outside of the room (just at plain sun) then it's rendering fine with RTX ON also, so it might be some weird combo with windows glass (Fake shadow) + RTX ON and some material settings.

I hope DEVs can find way to debug it properly form this scene, I simplified it as much as possible.

Thanks

attaching image and ORBX
Attachments
RTX_Velvet_Glass_BUG.rar
(21.52 MiB) Downloaded 31 times
Velvet_Fabric_Glass_RTX_BUG.jpg
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby funk » Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:24 pm

funk Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:24 pm
Plugging a noise texture into the dirt radius crashes Octane

dirt_radius_texture_crash.png
Attachments
dirt_radius_texture_crash.ocs
(37.01 KiB) Downloaded 29 times
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 14
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby osiosiosi » Fri Dec 13, 2019 8:08 am

osiosiosi Fri Dec 13, 2019 8:08 am
Hello :-)

have been testing the build with DAZ plugin.

Getting up to x 2 speed.

Problem is that Out Of Core rendering isnt working again. Getting diverse CUDA errors in every scene we tryed.

I am sure its somehow driver related, cause 417.22 was the only driver we could use stable Out Of Core with.


Has anybody managed to run Out Of Core together with rtx without getting Cuda errors?

If so ... on what driver?

Thx :-D
osiosiosi
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:40 am
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Wed Aug 05, 2020 12:06 am [ UTC ]