Page 12 of 14

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 12:40 am
by Veneris
face_off wrote:
But how is that possible if I have 2 GTX TITAN X video cards? I'm just rendering this:
Sorry - I have no way of knowing how much VRAM that scene takes, or if you have other applications running which use VRAM. The plugin System tab gives some memory statistics, and you can also use GPU-Z to track total memory used. You can also try turning on OutOfCore textures.

Paul


Here you have the information only 7% of the VRAM is used.

Image Image Image Image Image

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 1:14 am
by face_off
Veneris wrote:
face_off wrote:
But how is that possible if I have 2 GTX TITAN X video cards? I'm just rendering this:
Sorry - I have no way of knowing how much VRAM that scene takes, or if you have other applications running which use VRAM. The plugin System tab gives some memory statistics, and you can also use GPU-Z to track total memory used. You can also try turning on OutOfCore textures.

Paul


Here you have the information only 7% of the VRAM is used.

Image Image Image Image Image
Thanks for the additional information. I suggest monitoring the System tab whilst the animation is running and take a screenshot shortly before you get the "out of memory" error to see if there is a memory leak in VRAM. I suggest also running ZGPU to track memory use there too.

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:16 am
by Veneris
If I start rendering Animation I can no longer access the System tab or any other tab. Or I can leave the tab in the system and start the Animation if there is any keyboard shortcut for that. I will follow up with GPU-Z and I pass you the report. Thank you.

Edited: Here is the file.

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 11:36 am
by delguy
Hi,

While we are going on with latest versions for Subscription users, where is the upgrade for licensed users. Is this a moral practice. We paid for the license so no upgrades?

This is rediculous

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 11:16 pm
by face_off
While we are going on with latest versions for Subscription users, where is the upgrade for licensed users. Is this a moral practice. We paid for the license so no upgrades?
The latest version of the plugin compiled with Octane 4 is at the top of this thread.

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2019 7:22 am
by MFindt
Good morning Paul,
there will be an update of version 4 this year.
Does the Denoiser in the current version.
Does Kernel-> Light ID currently work correctly? What other improvements will come for version 4?

Can you give us an outlook?

Greeting,
Michael

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:50 pm
by face_off
there will be an update of version 4 this year.
I'm not sure has been anything major that has changed which would be relevant for the Octane 4 version of the plugin. Was there something from the Octane 2018.1, 2019.1 or 2020.1 plugins that you need in the Octane 4 version of the plugin?

Does the Denoiser in the current version.
I'm sorry - I don't understand this question.

Does Kernel-> Light ID currently work correctly? What other improvements will come for version 4?
Light ID's are not implemented - as the Octane Standalone "bit" widget is not implemented in the DAZStudio plugin. You can actually enter the binary values for the lights you need - but obviously this is a very unfriendly solution. At some point this will need to be implemented into the plugin, and is on the TODO list, but I think Octane 4 will no longer be supported by the time this is done.

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 8:44 am
by MFindt
Thank you Paul,

I wanted to write: "Does the Denoiser run in the current version."

Greetings
Michael

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 10:11 pm
by face_off
MFindt wrote:Thank you Paul,

I wanted to write: "Does the Denoiser run in the current version."

Greetings
Michael
Hi Michael - I believe so. Have you tried it?

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2019 8:04 am
by MFindt
Yes but, there are no differeces.

I will check it again with ather parameters.
Or can you suggest a good test szenario?

Greetings Michael