How to remove Octane settings from a DAZ scene (.duf)

Forums: How to remove Octane settings from a DAZ scene (.duf)
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

How to remove Octane settings from a DAZ scene (.duf)

Postby wader » Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:44 pm

wader Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:44 pm
Hi,
I've been using some scripts in non-DAZ Studio apps that can read directly from .DUF files for import/export needs, but some of them have been getting tripped up from unexpected data (to them) which comes from the plugin's cool way of neatly integrating Octane settings into DAZ Studio files.

So, I am wondering if there is a way to easily save or otherwise export scenes from Studio without Octane-related information. I did try unzipping a .duf, manually removing the Octane items and re-zipping, but apparently have not figured out how to do that carefully enough yet. So, a more foolproof way to do this would be appreciated.

I attempted to temporarily disable the Octane plugin in DAZ Studio, restart Studio, load an existing scene (which had Octane data in it) and save the scene with a different name, but the new .DUF still contained sections such as "OctaneRender Scene Data" which trip up the scripts I'm trying to use.

Sorry, I did a forum search and did not find a discussion of this specific request.
Windows 10 64-bit
i7 4770K 32GB
(2x) GTX 970 4GB
wader
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:38 am

Re: How to remove Octane settings from a DAZ scene (.duf)

Postby face_off » Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:04 am

face_off Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:04 am
So, I am wondering if there is a way to easily save or otherwise export scenes from Studio without Octane-related information.
I don't know of any way to do this - sorry. You could try completely uninstalling the plugin, but if this does not work, you might be able to write some DAZScript to do this.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12763
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: How to remove Octane settings from a DAZ scene (.duf)

Postby wader » Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:08 am

wader Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:08 am
Thanks, I tried manually editing again (with a different editor) and have now gotten that to work. But, it's not very scaleable or easily repeatable, I figure.

The script is a good idea, something new to learn . . .
Windows 10 64-bit
i7 4770K 32GB
(2x) GTX 970 4GB
wader
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:38 am

Re: How to remove Octane settings from a DAZ scene (.duf)

Postby linvanchene » Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:18 pm

linvanchene Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:18 pm
I post this here so that some of the older information how features work do not get lost.

On the Preferences Tab scroll down to the very bottom
to find filter options for

Scene Loading

The idea of those options was to be able to clear some OctaneRender parameters from the scene file.

Scene Loading v1001.jpg
Scene Loading options


You can place a checkmark in the boxes for

Don't load Rendersettings
Don't load unused Materials
Don't load Environments
Don't load Projects


- - -

In addition you can use "Manual Mode" to make sure no new material data is created when loading a scene:

Automatic Material updates after content loads is deactivated
Load OctaneRender materials from .duf user presets is deactivated

Manual Mode v1001.jpg
Manual Mode


In this manual mode just the geometry is loaded.


- - -

Something to test:

If you activate all four options of Scene Loading

Don't load Rendersettings
Don't load unused Materials
Don't load Environments
Don't load Projects

and are in Manual Mode

Automatic Material updates after content loads is deactivated
Load OctaneRender materials from .duf user presets is deactivated

- - -

In theory that way you removed all the included old OctaneRender information from the scene file and made sure that no new material information is created at loading time of the scene.


Then it might be that when saving a Scene file in this state no OctaneRender information is included.

It could also be that some information is still included nevertheless.
I do not know how which non daz studio applications to use to read the scene files in text mode...


- - -

You can find a .zip with two test scenes attached to this post.

Version 1001: Scene of a simple torus saved as .duf with OR materials included
Version 1002: Scene saved again after using "Manual Mode" and "Scene Loading" options to clear some of the OR data.

You may be able to check yourself which OR related information is still included in Version 1002.


- - -
Attachments
20180319 Scene Loading - test.zip
zip file with two test scene with and with OR materials
(64.47 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
Win 10 Pro 64bit | Rendering: 2 x ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti TURBO | Display: Asus GTX 1080 Ti FE | Intel Core i7 5820K | ASUS X99-E WS| 64 GB RAM
FAQ: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio - FAQ link collection
User avatar
linvanchene
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:58 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: How to remove Octane settings from a DAZ scene (.duf)

Postby apollyonpt » Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:45 am

apollyonpt Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:45 am
Image
free photo hosting

then delete the node, i believe this is whats giving u trouble in those scripts?

edit: Tab is "scene"
apollyonpt
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:47 pm

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Tue Nov 20, 2018 1:52 pm [ UTC ]