Stonemason and Octane

Forums: Stonemason and Octane
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Stonemason and Octane

Postby RGUS » Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:07 pm

RGUS Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:07 pm
So here I was, all excited at getting Stonemasons new pack
https://www.daz3d.com/the-private-garden

Yah!

Open DAZ Studio 4.10, load iRay scene, watch it appear, then crash, DAZ Studio spat it out.

So...

Open DAZ Studio 4.9, load..., watch it..., crash..., more spitting.

Contacted Steffan (stonemason) who said he had experienced Octane users before having a few issues.

Question is, can I suspend Octane after loading a scene and then initialize it somehow after the scene has loaded. I could I guess un-install Octane, but then, that only leaves me iRay to render with... stink!!!

Anybody got any ideas what could be causing the problem?, has anyone had this before?

All other stonemason packs and other vendors products load fine, just this "Private Garden" is not playing fairly... and that's assuming of course that Octane is at fault.
WEB: http://rgus.deviantart.com/
GPU: 1x Nvidia GTX TITAN 6GB - 425.31
RAM: 32GB
CPU: INTEL Core i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
SOFTWARE: Windows 10 Enterprise
DAZ Studio Pro Edition 4.11.0.236 (64 bit), DAZ Studio Plugin: 4.2.1.44 - Feb 15.2019
User avatar
RGUS
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:32 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Stonemason and Octane

Postby face_off » Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:39 pm

face_off Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:39 pm
Try the plugin version at https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=55646&start=40 which fixes an Instancing issue.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13320
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Stonemason and Octane

Postby RoyGS » Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:10 pm

RoyGS Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:10 pm
I have exactly the same issue with The Secret Garden..... Load IRay scene it opens for about 2 seconds and then DS 4.10.. GONE! I have the Octane plugin for both DS and Poser and Standalone installed also .. any help please?
RoyGS
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 5:52 pm

Re: Stonemason and Octane

Postby face_off » Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:00 am

face_off Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:00 am
I have exactly the same issue with The Secret Garden..... Load IRay scene it opens for about 2 seconds and then DS 4.10.. GONE! I have the Octane plugin for both DS and Poser and Standalone installed also .. any help please?
What version of the plugin do you have installed please?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13320
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Stonemason and Octane

Postby linvanchene » Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:47 pm

linvanchene Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:47 pm
Tested this with

DAZ Studio Beta 4.11.0.236.

OctaneRender for DAZ Studio plugin R.3.8.2.39.

https://www.daz3d.com/the-private-garden

- - -

On my system Private Garden did not crash.

But clearly instancing is not working as expected.

There are plants all over the place in areas where should be none.


- - -

Step 1: Loaded the scene in MAN mode

loading the scene without materials
- allows you to test if the geometry loading triggers any errors
- makes sure that you do not exceed the available VRAM


Private Garden v1001 - Instancing not working.jpg
Private Garden v1001 - Instancing not working


Step 2: Create auto materials

- this will allow you to test if material loading triggers any errors
- if the scene does not fit into VRAM try autoconverting one surface after the other

Private Garden v1002 - Create auto materials.jpg
Private Garden v1002 - Create auto materials


- - -

Scene loaded in Octane

Private Garden v1003 - Auto materials created.jpg
Private Garden v1003 - Auto materials created


Original Scene in Iray

Private Garden v1004 - Iray version.jpg
Private Garden v1004 - Iray version



- - -

Speculation:

Maybe the faulty instancing is related to crashes other users are able to observe.
Maybe something else is the cause.
Win 10 Pro 64bit | Rendering: 2 x ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti TURBO | Asus RTX NVLink Bridge 4-Slot | Intel Core i7 5820K | ASUS X99-E WS| 64 GB RAM
FAQ: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio - FAQ link collection
User avatar
linvanchene
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:58 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Stonemason and Octane

Postby RGUS » Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:53 pm

RGUS Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:53 pm
Still happens with me as well... I just don't use expensive packs like Stonemasons.
I guess this will eventually be solved.
WEB: http://rgus.deviantart.com/
GPU: 1x Nvidia GTX TITAN 6GB - 425.31
RAM: 32GB
CPU: INTEL Core i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
SOFTWARE: Windows 10 Enterprise
DAZ Studio Pro Edition 4.11.0.236 (64 bit), DAZ Studio Plugin: 4.2.1.44 - Feb 15.2019
User avatar
RGUS
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:32 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Stonemason and Octane

Postby valzheimer » Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:50 pm

valzheimer Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:50 pm
Private Garden had issues in certain older versions of Daz Studio (non-octane related), I think it only stopped crashing in later version of 4.10 and then 4.11 Beta,
so if you're still getting it you probably need to update the studio for it to work.

As for faulty instances I get them with Private Garden and Heart of the East product no matter what I do in Octane with them,
my only explanation would be that Octane experiences memory issues with those.
Scenes like Howie Farkes ironically work for me even though I could swear they use more memory than Stonemasons.
valzheimer
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 7:27 pm

Re: Stonemason and Octane

Postby RGUS » Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:48 am

RGUS Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:48 am
valzheimer wrote:Private Garden had issues in certain older versions of Daz Studio (non-octane related), I think it only stopped crashing in later version of 4.10 and then 4.11 Beta,
so if you're still getting it you probably need to update the studio for it to work.

As for faulty instances, I get them with Private Garden and Heart of the East product no matter what I do in Octane with them,
my only explanation would be that Octane experiences memory issues with those.
Scenes like Howie Farkes ironically work for me even though I could swear they use more memory than Stonemasons.



I have a 6GB nvidia card and 32GB main RAM running DAZ Studio 4.11 Beta and R4.0.0.40 of the plug-in... and still, that private garden splatters instances of weeds everywhere.
Stefan (stonemason) assures me it ain't his fault. So just don't use those packs and the problem goes away.
WEB: http://rgus.deviantart.com/
GPU: 1x Nvidia GTX TITAN 6GB - 425.31
RAM: 32GB
CPU: INTEL Core i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
SOFTWARE: Windows 10 Enterprise
DAZ Studio Pro Edition 4.11.0.236 (64 bit), DAZ Studio Plugin: 4.2.1.44 - Feb 15.2019
User avatar
RGUS
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:32 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Stonemason and Octane

Postby valzheimer » Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:36 am

valzheimer Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:36 am
RGUS wrote:
valzheimer wrote:Private Garden had issues in certain older versions of Daz Studio (non-octane related), I think it only stopped crashing in later version of 4.10 and then 4.11 Beta,
so if you're still getting it you probably need to update the studio for it to work.

As for faulty instances, I get them with Private Garden and Heart of the East product no matter what I do in Octane with them,
my only explanation would be that Octane experiences memory issues with those.
Scenes like Howie Farkes ironically work for me even though I could swear they use more memory than Stonemasons.



I have a 6GB nvidia card and 32GB main RAM running DAZ Studio 4.11 Beta and R4.0.0.40 of the plug-in... and still, that private garden splatters instances of weeds everywhere.
Stefan (stonemason) assures me it ain't his fault. So just don't use those packs and the problem goes away.


Yep same here with Private Garden and Octane and Heart of the East as well, I'm on GTX870, 4GB vRAM and 32GB RAM.
I'm sure Stefan did everything alright by the scattering script, otherwise it would've shown faulty in Iray to begin with.

Crashing the Studio issue I know has been about DS version though, it was something Iray-related that worked after shader update, but crashed older version if I remember correctly.
It's a shame because scenes like that are exactly why I use Octane because Iray hogs awfully on me with big scenes. Some other version will fix it hopefully.
valzheimer
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 7:27 pm

Re: Stonemason and Octane

Postby valzheimer » Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:45 am

valzheimer Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:45 am
Anyhow, since this was driving me insane I found what the culprit is in the private garden scene -
both flower boxes have proxy instances, meaning hundreds of little ferns under ultra scatter node.
They're the ones that are flying all over the scene, as much as scene may miss such detail in a render,
when you delete them scene will finally clear out.

Hope that helps.
V.
valzheimer
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 7:27 pm

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:54 pm [ UTC ]