Bogus scene path

Forums: Bogus scene path
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Bogus scene path

Postby Isotemod » Fri Jun 21, 2019 8:41 pm

Isotemod Fri Jun 21, 2019 8:41 pm
Hi after switching between the Daz Beta and Current 4.11 Release many of my scenes and material presets are missing texture paths in the octane materials (daz materials are fine).

The Bogus scene path message is coming up in the plugin.

Is there any way to fix this?
Isotemod
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:58 am

Re: Bogus scene path

Postby wader » Sun Jul 07, 2019 3:26 pm

wader Sun Jul 07, 2019 3:26 pm
@face_off

I just experienced the same thing mentioned above, with the "Bogus scene path" message for almost all image files referenced by materials in a recently created scene.

Except for one material, which was the only texture file to have a directory reference with no apostrophe ( ' ) in the path.

A quick test later and I can reproduce this issue using a new scene with objects that have one texture reference with a path that has no apostrophe character and another which does have an apostrophe character: save the scene, bring it back up and Iray sees both textures fine but the Octane plugin declares "Bogus scene path" for the texture file which has an apostrophe in its folder path.

While a scene is open, I can assign a texture from a path which includes an apostrophe and it will work with the Octane plugin during that session. But, saving and then re-opening the scene loses that texture file's reference when it tries to resolve its path anew.

This is for r4.4.0.44

Hope that helps.
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | i7 4770K | ASUS Z87-WS | 32GB | {Titan X Pascal 12GB + (2x) GTX 970 4GB}
wader
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:38 am

Re: Bogus scene path

Postby face_off » Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:29 am

face_off Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:29 am
I just experienced the same thing mentioned above, with the "Bogus scene path" message for almost all image files referenced by materials in a recently created scene.

Except for one material, which was the only texture file to have a directory reference with no apostrophe ( ' ) in the path.

A quick test later and I can reproduce this issue using a new scene with objects that have one texture reference with a path that has no apostrophe character and another which does have an apostrophe character: save the scene, bring it back up and Iray sees both textures fine but the Octane plugin declares "Bogus scene path" for the texture file which has an apostrophe in its folder path.

While a scene is open, I can assign a texture from a path which includes an apostrophe and it will work with the Octane plugin during that session. But, saving and then re-opening the scene loses that texture file's reference when it tries to resolve its path anew.

This is for r4.4.0.44
This is a big help. Thank you for working this out. I will see if there is a solution for this when doing the next release, and add a note about this to the release threads.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13324
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Bogus scene path

Postby wader » Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:28 am

wader Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:28 am
Thanks for your consistently helpful support, Paul !
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | i7 4770K | ASUS Z87-WS | 32GB | {Titan X Pascal 12GB + (2x) GTX 970 4GB}
wader
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:38 am

Re: Bogus scene path

Postby face_off » Thu Jul 11, 2019 6:33 am

face_off Thu Jul 11, 2019 6:33 am
From my further testing, I think "bogus scene path" is being returned when an image file cannot be found. I don't think it's related to the apostrophe in the folder name.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13324
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Bogus scene path

Postby wader » Thu Jul 11, 2019 3:03 pm

wader Thu Jul 11, 2019 3:03 pm
The error does show when an image cannot be found, but on my system that was repeatable when an apostrophe was in the image pathname. Would a sample scene possibly help?
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | i7 4770K | ASUS Z87-WS | 32GB | {Titan X Pascal 12GB + (2x) GTX 970 4GB}
wader
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:38 am

Re: Bogus scene path

Postby face_off » Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:48 am

face_off Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:48 am
The error does show when an image cannot be found, but on my system that was repeatable when an apostrophe was in the image pathname. Would a sample scene possibly help?
I can replicate it at the moment - so no need for a scene. I have reported the issue to OTOY.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13324
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Jul 24, 2019 7:32 am [ UTC ]