New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Forums: New daz beta adds native strand based hair
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby Sorel » Tue May 14, 2019 5:15 pm

Sorel Tue May 14, 2019 5:15 pm
I dont usually download the betas, can anyone who has see if the hair renders in octane?
User avatar
Sorel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:22 pm

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby ZEnN18 » Wed May 15, 2019 11:12 am

ZEnN18 Wed May 15, 2019 11:12 am
I can check it this evening and reply.
ZEnN18
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:25 am

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby huakiami » Thu May 16, 2019 4:31 am

huakiami Thu May 16, 2019 4:31 am
The new strand based hair in the DAZ Beta 4.11.0.366 does render in the Octane plugin.

Here's a crappy quick hairstyle I made -
strand_hair_octane.png


Lots to learn with the new feature, but great to see it usable with Octane.
huakiami
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:09 am

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby ZEnN18 » Thu May 16, 2019 11:41 am

ZEnN18 Thu May 16, 2019 11:41 am
If that's "crappy" hair then im scraping the bottom lol. I didn't get to mess with it for a long time but just what I tried to do was rough...
ZEnN18
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:25 am

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby Sorel » Thu May 16, 2019 1:38 pm

Sorel Thu May 16, 2019 1:38 pm
huakiami wrote:The new strand based hair in the DAZ Beta 4.11.0.366 does render in the Octane plugin.

Here's a crappy quick hairstyle I made -
strand_hair_octane.png


Lots to learn with the new feature, but great to see it usable with Octane.

Oh awesome I'm glad it works already!
User avatar
Sorel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:22 pm

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby abayliss » Sat Jun 15, 2019 6:24 am

abayliss Sat Jun 15, 2019 6:24 am
Does the release version of the strand based hair work for anyone in the Octane plugin? Because it doesn't appear to be working for me?
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-8700 3.2 GHz, 64GB RAM
1 x RTX 2080ti (Primary)
1 x GTX 1080ti (Rendering)
abayliss
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:45 am

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby Sorel » Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:17 pm

Sorel Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:17 pm
abayliss wrote:Does the release version of the strand based hair work for anyone in the Octane plugin? Because it doesn't appear to be working for me?

I'll have to test when I get home.
User avatar
Sorel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:22 pm

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby MFindt » Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:17 am

MFindt Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:17 am
Good morning,

now the final release from Daz Studio 4.11 is out, I tested the new Strand based hair and the Octane Plugin shows nothing in render. The Hair seems not exist.
In the material tab there is a entry about the Hair but nothing happens.

I tested also with the new ready to use hair prop dforce Bristol hair but there only the sculp will shown in the material and render.

Do you have similar problems?

Greetings Michael
MFindt
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:56 am

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby abayliss » Sun Jun 16, 2019 5:21 am

abayliss Sun Jun 16, 2019 5:21 am
Okay, after some messing around I've sort of gotten it working... sort of.

Under the Simulation section of the Parameter settings for the hair object or its cap, ensure Generate PR Hairs and Preview PR Hairs are toggled to on. I believe this create a hair figure in Daz from the strand based hair. This hair is still not visible for me in Otoy until I increase the Viewport Line Tessellation Sides value to 2 or higher; this value can be found under the Line Tessellation section settings for the hair object. The hair figure gains more hairs, the higher this value, however this also appears to be quite resource intensive. If you set it too high, Daz will probably stop responding and then crash. I found that a setting of 2 was generally too low, allowing the character's scalp to be visible through the hair,.

The strand base hair has new surface settings that don't translate to the material settings in Octane.

This is about as far as I have gotten so far.

hair 1.png



hair 1.png
Attachments
hair 2.png
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-8700 3.2 GHz, 64GB RAM
1 x RTX 2080ti (Primary)
1 x GTX 1080ti (Rendering)
abayliss
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:45 am

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby Sorel » Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:26 am

Sorel Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:26 am
So it's basically like viewing HD morphs. You have to turn everything on in the view port essentially.
User avatar
Sorel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:22 pm
Next

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed Jul 17, 2019 11:01 pm [ UTC ]