cannot install latest octane 4 on my Rhino 6

Forums: cannot install latest octane 4 on my Rhino 6
Rhino 3D (Export script developed by SamPage; Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

cannot install latest octane 4 on my Rhino 6

Postby v-cube » Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:00 pm

v-cube Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:00 pm
Hi,
Although I upgraded to the latest version of Rhino R6, I still cannot install the latest release of octane for Rhino 6...

any Ideas?

best regards

Andreas

install oct 4 bug Rhino6.png


install oct 4 bug Rhino6 info.png
4 machines, each with 1 X1070 GTX and 1 X1080 Gtx cards core i7, 32 GB RAM http://www.v-cube.de
User avatar
v-cube
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: cannot install latest octane 4 on my Rhino 6

Postby face_off » Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:29 am

face_off Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:29 am
My understanding is that this is a Rhino6 bug, and I have reported it to McNeel (about a month ago). Some users have been able to resolve this by a combination of uninstalling/reinstalling Rhino, and the plugin.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13428
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: cannot install latest octane 4 on my Rhino 6

Postby v-cube » Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:51 pm

v-cube Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:51 pm
OK, thanks Paul...
4 machines, each with 1 X1070 GTX and 1 X1080 Gtx cards core i7, 32 GB RAM http://www.v-cube.de
User avatar
v-cube
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: cannot install latest octane 4 on my Rhino 6

Postby face_off » Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:23 pm

face_off Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:23 pm
Hi Andreas

Can you pls try the suggestions at https://wiki.mcneel.com/rhino/5/rhi-problems -> "Package not compatible" and let me know the result.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13428
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: cannot install latest octane 4 on my Rhino 6

Postby v-cube » Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:58 pm

v-cube Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:58 pm
will do!
4 machines, each with 1 X1070 GTX and 1 X1080 Gtx cards core i7, 32 GB RAM http://www.v-cube.de
User avatar
v-cube
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: cannot install latest octane 4 on my Rhino 6

Postby v-cube » Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:15 pm

v-cube Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:15 pm
thank you Paul, the manual uninstall described on the mcNeel site worked:

-Close all Rhino applications.
-Go to Windows Explorer.
-Go to the C:\Program Files\Common Files\McNeel\Rhinoceros\6.0\Plug-ins.
-Find the folder that contains the name of your plug-in and delete that folder.

after that i could run the installer and then I manually selected the rhi file from the rhino plugin manager .

best

Andreas
4 machines, each with 1 X1070 GTX and 1 X1080 Gtx cards core i7, 32 GB RAM http://www.v-cube.de
User avatar
v-cube
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Aachen, Germany

Return to Rhinoceros 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:27 pm [ UTC ]