Rhino 6 + Octane 4: Slow scene load

Forums: Rhino 6 + Octane 4: Slow scene load
Rhino 3D (Export script developed by SamPage; Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Rhino 6 + Octane 4: Slow scene load

Postby Micha3D » Fri Nov 30, 2018 6:53 pm

Micha3D Fri Nov 30, 2018 6:53 pm
Hi Paul,

could you optimize the load time for a render please? My scene contain several blocks and Rhino told me that 2.000.000 polygons are used. Vray and Enscape needs approx. 15s to start and Octane needs more than 70s until the first passes are shown. It's not the first time I think, is the load process slow. What do you think?

-Micha
Win7 64 | Dual Xeon E5-2687W | GTX 1080ti 11GB + GTX 780 6GB | Rhino3D
Micha3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 4:16 pm

Re: Rhino 6 + Octane 4: Slow scene load

Postby face_off » Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:26 am

face_off Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:26 am
I would need to see the scene you are having slow load time issues with in order to help you.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13094
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Rhino 6 + Octane 4: Slow scene load

Postby Micha3D » Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:19 am

Micha3D Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:19 am
I sent you an email just now.
Win7 64 | Dual Xeon E5-2687W | GTX 1080ti 11GB + GTX 780 6GB | Rhino3D
Micha3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 4:16 pm

Re: Rhino 6 + Octane 4: Slow scene load

Postby face_off » Sat Dec 01, 2018 9:54 pm

face_off Sat Dec 01, 2018 9:54 pm
In case anyone else has this issue, the scene load time was slow due to having Setting->Live Updating to All Meshes Live ON. Turning this off resulting in the scene loading in 1 second. Loading live geometry into Octane is much slower than loading non-live geometry.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13094
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Rhino 6 + Octane 4: Slow scene load

Postby Bendbox » Tue Dec 04, 2018 4:01 pm

Bendbox Tue Dec 04, 2018 4:01 pm
Really good to know, thank you Paul!

Ryan
Win10x64 / i7 6850K / 16g RAM / 4 x GTX1080
User avatar
Bendbox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 1:38 pm

Return to Rhinoceros 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Mar 23, 2019 2:49 pm [ UTC ]