Page 2 of 4

copy of nodes not possible

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:52 pm
by v-cube
Hello Paul,

I just noticed that it is not possible to copy and paste nodes in a material ( I am using rhino 6), I use this 50 times a day, can this be fixed ?

2019-02-01-NoCopy.jpg



thanks

Andreas

reflection in display port not updating

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:02 pm
by v-cube
Hello Paul,

when I create a new octane Material in the ME, it is a glossy material by default. After assigning it to an object, the object is displayed with a reflection in the Rhino viewport ( my setting is "shaded" with the "color and material usage" set to "Rendering material")

Now I change the octane material type to diffuse, but the reflection is still there (see pic...) there seems to be an update issue, because changing the opacity value back and forth seems to fix it...


2019-02-01-reflection update bug.jpg


best

Andreas

-

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 7:32 am
by face_off
I just noticed that it is not possible to copy and paste nodes in a material ( I am using rhino 6), I use this 50 times a day, can this be fixed ?
I will check with McNeel to see if this is possible.

when I create a new octane Material in the ME, it is a glossy material by default. After assigning it to an object, the object is displayed with a reflection in the Rhino viewport ( my setting is "shaded" with the "color and material usage" set to "Rendering material")

Now I change the octane material type to diffuse, but the reflection is still there (see pic...) there seems to be an update issue, because changing the opacity value back and forth seems to fix it...
McNeel are currently working on an issue that is related to this, so I hope it will be addressed in the next release of Rhino6.

Thanks

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 7:31 pm
by v-cube
I will check with McNeel to see if this is possible.


I really hope it is possible, I use it in R5 / octane 3.8xx all the time, it is important for a fast workflow, not having it would be a huge step back and really annoying IMHO !

best

Andreas

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 1:23 pm
by Bendbox
Hi V-Cube,

This is possible, I do it all the time -- once you right click, click on "expand all" and the Copy and Paste functions will reveal themselves.

Ryan

Re: copy of nodes not possible

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 3:20 pm
by Refracty
Is this only a Rhino V6 related issue?

v-cube wrote:Hello Paul,

I just noticed that it is not possible to copy and paste nodes in a material ( I am using rhino 6), I use this 50 times a day, can this be fixed ?

2019-02-01-NoCopy.jpg



thanks

Andreas

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:23 pm
by v-cube
Bendbox wrote:Hi V-Cube,

This is possible, I do it all the time -- once you right click, click on "expand all" and the Copy and Paste functions will reveal themselves.

Ryan


Hi Ryan, thank you for the hint, I wasn't aware of this!
Although this will ease my pain quite a bit, I would prefer the copy option to appear directly after the first click and if possible even work with control -C and control-V

best

Andreas

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:13 pm
by Bendbox
v-cube wrote:Although this will ease my pain quite a bit, I would prefer the copy option to appear directly after the first click and if possible even work with control -C and control-V

I agree, this would be nice. I constantly copy and paste as well when making new materials.

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:00 pm
by Refracty
Hello Paul,
any news about 4.02.1 ?
Cheers
Nando

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:22 am
by face_off
I have updated the STABLE installers at the top of this thread with:

4.02.1.104
- Compiled with Octane 4.02.1
- Increased the maximum resolution to approx 15k x 10k (on a 16GB RAM system).
- Fixed issue where importing an ORBX when adding a material for a layer was not working correctly
- The Albedo of a Universal material is now rendered in the Rhino Rendered preview window
- Multiple changes to fix issues with Octane material previews, and the appearance of Octane materials in the Rhino Rendered and Raytraced viewports. NOTE: This will need the final release of Rhino6 SR13 to work correctly

Paul