OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

Forums: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)
Rhino 3D (Export script developed by SamPage; Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

Postby face_off » Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:37 am

face_off Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:37 am
This is the recommended thread for downloading, and posting any questions, suggestions or support queries for OctaneRender for Rhino - TEST and STABLE releases.

IMPORTANT 1: If you get a "Package not compatible" error when installing the plugin, please follow the instructions at https://wiki.mcneel.com/rhino/5/rhi-problems -> "Package not compatible".

IMPORTANT 2: If you get an "Unable to load OctaneRenderForRhino.rhp plugin: initialization failed" error when starting the plugin, delete the HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\McNeel\Rhinoceros\6.0\Plug-Ins\F109BD23-4CF3-4C0B-9F83-06BE474B0152 and HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\McNeel\Rhinoceros\6.0\Plug-Ins\F109BD23-4CF3-4C0B-9F83-06BE474B0152 registry entries using Regedit and then reinstall the plugin.

IMPORTANT 3: If you get an "OctaneRender for Rhino not activated." error when rendering via the Rhino->Render->Render menu, open the plugin Setup window via the OctaneRenderForRhino command, or by adding the plugin panel to the Rhino Properties window as per https://docs.otoy.com/RhinoH/RhinoPluginManual.htm#Rhinoceros/InstallationofthePluginintoRhinoceros.htm.


Rhino Version
This version requires Rhino5, SR14 or later or Rhino6, SR12 or later on Windows. MacOSX is not currently supported.

License upgrade
Unless you have a subscription license, you will have to upgrade your version 3 licenses to version 4. This upgrade is free and can be done via these 4 steps:

To use this version, you need a GPU of compute model 3.0 or higher. Support for Fermi GPUs (like GTX 4xx and 5xx) has been dropped. Also make sure you use a driver of version 387 or higher and if you are working on Mac OS that have a CUDA driver installed that supports at least CUDA 9.1.

Network Rendering
For Network Rendering, you must use the Octane slave release from the Octane Standalone installer which matches the exact Octane version of the plugin you are using. This version matches OctaneRender Standalone 4.00.

Support Issues
If you have a support issue, pls provide the following information:
- Operating System (ie. Win XP, Vista, 7, 8)
- 32 or 64 bit
- Amount of RAM
- Graphics Card(s) - model (ie. GTX 580, 3GB)
- Nvidia driver version
- Rhino version and build number
- OctaneRender for Rhino version (ie. 2.0.10.8)

For more information
- Watch Iceglance's quickstart tutorial http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=51&t=36299
- Read the on-line manual
- Watch the "Getting Started" video http://vimeo.com/73202740
- Post your question on this forum thread
- To learn more about the new features and improvements of OctaneRender 4, please check out our blog post.

Known Issues
- Prior to rendering a Sun Study, Flythru Animation or Bongo Animation, you must select the Perspective Viewport in Rhino that the animation uses

Download Links

Current TEST build (Octane 2018.1 RC4)


Current STABLE build (Octane 4.02.1)


Previous STABLE build (Octane 4.01.1)


Release Notes

4.02.1.104 (13-Feb-2019)
- Compiled with Octane 4.02.1
- Increased the maximum resolution to approx 15k x 10k (on a 16GB RAM system).
- Fixed issue where importing an ORBX when adding a material for a layer was not working correctly
- The Albedo of a Universal material is now rendered in the Rhino Rendered preview window
- Multiple changes to fix issues with Octane material previews, and the appearance of Octane materials in the Rhino Rendered and Raytraced viewports. NOTE: This will need the final release of Rhino6 SR13 to work correctly

4.01.1.102 (11-Dec-2018)
- Compiled with Octane 4.01.1
- Internal changes to support HDR Light Studio
- Resolved rare issue where loading a .3dm file with a blank texture file would raise an exception

4.00.0.101 (21-Nov-2018)
- Fixed bug causes proxies to be placed at the center of the scene in Rhino6
- Fixed issue where thumbnails were not updating correctly
- Fixed Safe Frame not working with the Rhino6 version of the plugin

4.00.0.100 (26-Oct-2018)
- Compiled with Octane 4.00 RC 7
- Fixed issue where the Setup tree menu Sync to Rhino options were not being loaded correctly when loading a .3dm
- Fixed exception being raised when doing a File->New

4.00.0.99 (13-Oct-2018)
- Compiled with Octane 4.00 RC6
- Fixed issue where the Reload Texturemaps function was not working

4.00.0.98 (27-Sep-2018)
- Octane 4.00 RC5
- Fixed multiple issues causing the Rhino rendered view not showing Octane Image maps correctly
- Fixed material thumbnails not rendering with the Octane 4 version of the plugin

4.00.0.96 (15-Sep-2018)
- Compiled with Octane 4.00 RC4
- Changed Devices tab to use the Octane API panel
- Added Denoiser options in the Imager settings
- Added Denoised Beauty pass to the Select Render Pass combobox on the Viewport toolbar
- Added Kernel AI Light options
- Added RenderPasses Denoiser passes
- Fixed pause state being lost when restarting a completed render

Paul
Last edited by face_off on Thu Mar 07, 2019 10:44 am, edited 9 times in total.
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13070
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

Postby Bendbox » Fri Dec 07, 2018 1:01 pm

Bendbox Fri Dec 07, 2018 1:01 pm
Hi Paul,

Does the free upgrade to V4 include the StandAlone AND the Rhino Plugin? The FAQ makes it sound like it doesn't include Rhino. I was confused by the way the description was worded.

Also, correct me if I'm wrong, but it sounds like this free upgrade to V4 will only work with 2 GPUs. Is that correct? If that is the case, I guess I'll need to get the Octane All Access Pass. I don't care about Cloud Rendering right now, but I do need my 4 GPUs to get animations done on time and it has a 20 GPU limit.

Thanks,
Ryan
Win10x64 / i7 6850K / 16g RAM / 4 x GTX1080
User avatar
Bendbox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 1:38 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

Postby face_off » Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:40 am

face_off Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:40 am
Hi Paul,

Does the free upgrade to V4 include the StandAlone AND the Rhino Plugin? The FAQ makes it sound like it doesn't include Rhino. I was confused by the way the description was worded.

Also, correct me if I'm wrong, but it sounds like this free upgrade to V4 will only work with 2 GPUs. Is that correct? If that is the case, I guess I'll need to get the Octane All Access Pass. I don't care about Cloud Rendering right now, but I do need my 4 GPUs to get animations done on time and it has a 20 GPU limit.

Thanks,
Ryan
Hi Ryan, there is a licensing upgrade FAQ that will hopefully answer your questions more accurately than I can. https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69646

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13070
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

Postby Bendbox » Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:38 pm

Bendbox Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:38 pm
Thanks Paul,

Yes, I read over that and am still confused, as it seems Many people are on the forum. I guess i'll do the free upgrade and see if I can use my 4 GPU's and it not, go back and purchase.
Win10x64 / i7 6850K / 16g RAM / 4 x GTX1080
User avatar
Bendbox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 1:38 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

Postby face_off » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:46 am

face_off Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:46 am
I have updated the STABLE build at the top of this thread with:

4.01.1.102
- Compiled with Octane 4.01.1
- Internal changes to support HDR Light Studio
- Resolved rare issue where loading a .3dm file with a blank texture file would raise an exception

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13070
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

Postby neiwei845458454 » Sat Dec 22, 2018 7:42 am

neiwei845458454 Sat Dec 22, 2018 7:42 am
face_off wrote:I have updated the STABLE build at the top of this thread with:

4.01.1.102
- Compiled with Octane 4.01.1
- Internal changes to support HDR Light Studio
- Resolved rare issue where loading a .3dm file with a blank texture file would raise an exception

Paul



Hi Paul,

How to use the Internal changes to support HDR Light Studio?
neiwei845458454
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:32 am

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

Postby face_off » Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:45 am

face_off Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:45 am
How to use the Internal changes to support HDR Light Studio?
Just install the latest HDR Light Studio plugin with Rhino, and it will handle the interface with Octane.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13070
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

Postby Refracty » Tue Jan 29, 2019 7:38 am

Refracty Tue Jan 29, 2019 7:38 am
Hello Paul,
can you say when 4.02 will be published for Rhino?
Ciao
Nando

3D Animation, Motion Design & CGI Köln
www.lichtblickstudio.com
User avatar
Refracty
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1581
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:42 pm
Location: 3D-Visualisierung Köln

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

Postby face_off » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:12 am

face_off Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:12 am
can you say when 4.02 will be published for Rhino?
I have a enhancement I would like to make for the next release, so it probably won't be available until next week.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13070
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Rhino (TEST and STABLE)

Postby Refracty » Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:10 pm

Refracty Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:10 pm
Enhancements, cool. Keep us updated.

3D Animation, Motion Design & CGI Köln
www.lichtblickstudio.com
User avatar
Refracty
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1581
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:42 pm
Location: 3D-Visualisierung Köln
Next

Return to Rhinoceros 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:30 am [ UTC ]