Warning when opening or creating new file

Forums: Warning when opening or creating new file
Rhino 3D (Export script developed by SamPage; Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Warning when opening or creating new file

Postby Bendbox » Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:28 pm

Bendbox Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:28 pm
Hi Paul,

I've just been able to upgrade to Rhino 6 (SR9) and Octane for Rhino (version 3.08.3.95). I'm getting the warning diaglog below every time I open a new file or create a new blank document in Rhino. Any ideas?

I don't know if this is related or not, but the only issue i've noticed updating from Rhino 5 and Octane version 3.7.87 to 6 and 3.08.3.95 is that all of my proxies show up at 0,0,0 from previous files, NOT where they were placed. And when I create a new file and make a block and assign a proxy it shows up correctly -- however, I don't seem to be able to copy and paste blocks like I used to be able to do. Only the first proxy created shows up. It's very odd. This makes scattering impossible. I'm guessing something has changed with the newer Octane version and I'm not doing something correctly?

Thanks,
Ryan

Image
Win10x64 / i7 6850K / 16g RAM / 4 x GTX1080
User avatar
Bendbox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 1:38 pm

Re: Warning when opening or creating new file

Postby face_off » Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:57 am

face_off Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:57 am
I will post a new build tomorrow to fix the File->New exception. Can you also test that build to see if it resolves the proxy issue.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12915
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Warning when opening or creating new file

Postby Bendbox » Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:08 pm

Bendbox Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:08 pm
Hi Paul,

Yes, I'll test it out when you post it. Thank you!!!
Win10x64 / i7 6850K / 16g RAM / 4 x GTX1080
User avatar
Bendbox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 1:38 pm

Re: Warning when opening or creating new file

Postby Bendbox » Fri Oct 26, 2018 12:49 pm

Bendbox Fri Oct 26, 2018 12:49 pm
Hi Paul,

i've been testing the lateset build you posted yesterday and the eception seems to be fixed!!! Thank you!

However, the proxy issue remains. I can now copy and paste a proxy, but when I do, the proxy stays fixed at 0,0,0 in Rhino. I'm unable to move it from the origin. I CAN move the originally created proxy just fine, just NOT the copied and pated versions. Scale, rotation, etc all are working fine on both the original and copied/pasted versions.

Is anyone else having this issue?

Thanks,
Ryan
Win10x64 / i7 6850K / 16g RAM / 4 x GTX1080
User avatar
Bendbox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 1:38 pm

Re: Warning when opening or creating new file

Postby face_off » Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:59 am

face_off Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:59 am
Hi Ryan

There was a pre-existing bug causing your proxy issue (which was also in the Rhino5 version of the plugin, however Rhino5 is loading the scene in a different order, so the bug was not occurring). I have resolved this in the version below, however all the proxy functionality will need a thorough test. Are you able to do this please?

https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloads/plugins/be/c5/ce/37/OctaneRenderForRhino6_3_08_5_101.rhi

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12915
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Warning when opening or creating new file

Postby Bendbox » Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:19 pm

Bendbox Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:19 pm
Hi Paul,

I've been testing the new build you linked above on both newly created and old files and all seems to be working correctly!!! All controls are working normally.

Thank you VERY much, this is extremely helpful as I have a bunch of files with proxy's.

Ryan
Win10x64 / i7 6850K / 16g RAM / 4 x GTX1080
User avatar
Bendbox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 1:38 pm

Return to Rhinoceros 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:44 pm [ UTC ]