Problem with Volumetric

Forums: Problem with Volumetric
Rhino 3D (Export script developed by SamPage; Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Problem with Volumetric

Postby sgufa » Mon May 15, 2017 8:51 pm

sgufa Mon May 15, 2017 8:51 pm
Hi there,
I know that Rhino is not the most suitable software for volumetric rendering, but I had a bit of time and decided to try it out.
In the standalone I associated a .vdb cloud to the Render Target, modified the density, absorption and scattering parameters to get the effect you see and exported it to the orbx format.

Image

In Rhino I created a box, turned it into a block and linked the previously created .orbx file within the octane render tab 'Geometry'.
This is the result:

Image

The only mirrored parameters are absorption and scattering, while for density it keeps those of the original .vdb file.
Is there a particular procedure to follow to be able to modify the object in rhino?
I also tried to assign a diffuse material to the box and to modify the density, absorption and scattering parameters there, but nothing...
I hope it is much simpler the procedure than it seems to me.

Thanks
sgufa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Problem with Volumetric

Postby face_off » Tue May 16, 2017 1:28 am

face_off Tue May 16, 2017 1:28 am
Hi - it is much easier to do this by using the plugin proxy system to load an ORBX or OCS containing the VDB file and it's material.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13001
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Problem with Volumetric

Postby sgufa » Tue May 16, 2017 6:22 pm

sgufa Tue May 16, 2017 6:22 pm
face_off wrote:Hi - it is much easier to do this by using the plugin proxy system to load an ORBX or OCS containing the VDB file and it's material.

Paul


Can you explain the procedure? Please Paul
sgufa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Problem with Volumetric

Postby face_off » Wed May 17, 2017 3:49 am

face_off Wed May 17, 2017 3:49 am
Set the VDB up in Octane Standalone and save as vdb.orbx.
vdb1.png
In Rhino, add a plane and convert it to a Block Definition. Then select the block, and in the Octane Geometry tab click Load ORBX and load vdb.orbx.
vdb2.png
Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13001
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Problem with Volumetric

Postby sgufa » Sun May 21, 2017 1:30 pm

sgufa Sun May 21, 2017 1:30 pm
That's what I did Paul, but I did not add the geometry out node. I think the problem is not that (it works even without that node), but it's a scale problem.
The original size of the vdb cloud is much larger than the block I want to associate with. When I scale the block, to get the desired size of the cloud, it also scale (down) all the values associated (density and volume step length).
Is there a way to make the vdb geometry fit the block, so that I know exactly its position and dimensions?
sgufa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Problem with Volumetric

Postby v-cube » Thu Jul 06, 2017 2:59 pm

v-cube Thu Jul 06, 2017 2:59 pm
sgufa wrote:That's what I did Paul, but I did not add the geometry out node. I think the problem is not that (it works even without that node), but it's a scale problem.
The original size of the vdb cloud is much larger than the block I want to associate with. When I scale the block, to get the desired size of the cloud, it also scale (down) all the values associated (density and volume step length).
Is there a way to make the vdb geometry fit the block, so that I know exactly its position and dimensions?



... I got the same problem... I can use the custom scale options in the octane geometry tab, but since e.g. the fire.vdb file ist huge, it is sometimes not enough to scale it down to 1 % (which is the lowest possible value...) is there a way to scale down the vdb volume in standalone?

best

Andreas
4 machines, each with 1 X1070 GTX and 1 X1080 Gtx cards core i7, 32 GB RAM http://www.v-cube.de
User avatar
v-cube
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: Problem with Volumetric

Postby face_off » Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:07 am

face_off Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:07 am
Hi - you need to scale the VDB inside the ORBX.

Paul
Attachments
scale vdb.png
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13001
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Problem with Volumetric

Postby v-cube » Fri Jul 07, 2017 9:29 am

v-cube Fri Jul 07, 2017 9:29 am
face_off wrote:Hi - you need to scale the VDB inside the ORBX.

Paul


thanks Paul, worked !

vorlage-aussen-11-Nacht.jpg


best

Andreas
4 machines, each with 1 X1070 GTX and 1 X1080 Gtx cards core i7, 32 GB RAM http://www.v-cube.de
User avatar
v-cube
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Aachen, Germany

Return to Rhinoceros 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sat Feb 23, 2019 11:23 pm [ UTC ]