Status: Waiting...what does it do?

Forums: Status: Waiting...what does it do?
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

Status: Waiting...what does it do?

Postby hkleton » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:53 pm

hkleton Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:53 pm
Hi,

Maybe I'm overlooking something.
Currently I am rendering a short test animation, each frame takes 5-6 second to render.
In between each frame being rendered Octane displays WAITING, for roughly 10 seconds. (double the time of the render!). Then it quickly updates the scene and starts rendering for 5 seconds again.
Then Waiting for 10 seconds, rinse and repeat.

What is it doing in the mean time?
The EXR is already written to disk, and I have time to open it in Photoshop before WAITING is over.
Is there something I can do to shorten the WAITING period or get rid of it at all?

Just wondering and trying to understand what it's doing.

Br,
Hans
hkleton
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:17 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Status: Waiting...what does it do?

Postby juanjgon » Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:34 am

juanjgon Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:34 am
Usually, this message means that the plugin is waiting for the Layout to update the scene, so it is hard to know what is happening under the hood. Perhaps the scene has subdivision surfaces, or multiple steps motion blur, etc. ... something that needs a lot of time to be updated.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6947
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Status: Waiting...what does it do?

Postby hkleton » Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:51 am

hkleton Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:51 am
Hi,

Thanks. So will have try to get some optimizing there.

best regards,
Hans
hkleton
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:17 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Status: Waiting...what does it do?

Postby hkleton » Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:17 pm

hkleton Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:17 pm
Hi,

Back with this, sorry :(
Something weird is going on.
The scene is rather large, so it makes sense it takes a while. (quite some instances)
I have disabled all update stuff, because except for moving objects and camera's nothing special happens.
A frame renders in roughly 7-8 seconds, but WAITING takes around 50 seconds now. (rendering with F10)
Updating scene is only displayed for barely one second.
When WAITING is displayed, layout shows not responding in Taskmanager.
Rendering each frame manually with f9 is a few seconds quicker somehow.

Also, somehow it WAS quick (was able to do 3 or 4 frames / minute, but suddenly it has dropped to one frame/minute (7 seconds really doing something usefull)

It must be something in this scene, but I have no idea why it was first ' quick' and now really crawls.

System is CPU = i9 -9820k, 64GB RAM, 2x 2080ti, 2x 1080ti and a bunch of NVME drives where the data is stored/written to.
hkleton
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:17 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Status: Waiting...what does it do?

Postby juanjgon » Mon Apr 22, 2019 7:35 pm

juanjgon Mon Apr 22, 2019 7:35 pm
Sorry, I'm not sure what could be the problem without taking a look at the scene but do you have the motion blur enabled, with multiple instances MB or something like that? Evaluate a complex scene with instances at multiple time slices to get the MB can be very slow. Try to disable the MB to see if it is the source of this issue. Also, perhaps you could enable the Octane log in the plugin options panel and attach it here to check if there is any clue on it about this issue.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6947
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Status: Waiting...what does it do?

Postby hkleton » Mon Apr 22, 2019 8:06 pm

hkleton Mon Apr 22, 2019 8:06 pm
Hi Juanjo,

I have a log! From the entire rendering sequence. Can I email it to you?

Motion blur is activated indeed, and, (you knew this ... you're the best) without motion blur it 's really quick!
Never knew that, this is the first scene in years I've activated motion blur :|

Sorry to have bothered you with this, another lesson learned!
Any setup to make it quicker?

https://youtu.be/i2z_4J9fLUg Here is a link of what was cooking (246 frames, took 3 hours to render at 7 seconds per frame :| )

Thanks,
Hans
hkleton
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:17 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Status: Waiting...what does it do?

Postby juanjgon » Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:44 pm

juanjgon Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:44 pm
What are you motion blur settings in the render target root node options panel? Perhaps you have a lot of MB steps on it ...

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6947
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Status: Waiting...what does it do?

Postby hkleton » Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:25 am

hkleton Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:25 am
Just Lightwave's motionblur is tagged in the camera, Default settings in Octane.
Steps is 2.

Thanks,
Hans
hkleton
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:17 am
Location: Netherlands

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest

Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:16 pm [ UTC ]