Motion blur settings

Forums: Motion blur settings
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

Motion blur settings

Postby sjonsjine » Wed Oct 17, 2018 2:07 pm

sjonsjine Wed Oct 17, 2018 2:07 pm
Hi,

Please advice here, I have the camera settings for MB in lightwave (photoreal) and I have the MB settings in the Octane Render Target...how does this work?
I can tweak and then I see some results but I don't know what I am doing here.

Can someone explain and have tips for me? I need it for MB from objects, not the camera at the moment.

Thanks!!

Freddy
sjonsjine
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Motion blur settings

Postby juanjgon » Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:30 pm

juanjgon Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:30 pm
Hi,

The motion blur settings available in the render target "MB" tab are parameters used by the plugin to control additional Octane features, like the type of objects enabled or the motion blur steps, but if you are talking about the "MultiPass" tab motion blur settings, they are there only as a legacy feature used when Octane didn't have native motion blur ... it is a fake MB effect done rendering the scene in multiple passes, that now it is only useful in some rare cases, for example while rendering scenes including simulations from realflow.

Hope it helps,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6029
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Motion blur settings

Postby sjonsjine » Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:51 am

sjonsjine Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:51 am
juanjgon wrote:Hi,

The motion blur settings available in the render target "MB" tab are parameters used by the plugin to control additional Octane features, like the type of objects enabled or the motion blur steps, but if you are talking about the "MultiPass" tab motion blur settings, they are there only as a legacy feature used when Octane didn't have native motion blur ... it is a fake MB effect done rendering the scene in multiple passes, that now it is only useful in some rare cases, for example while rendering scenes including simulations from realflow.

Hope it helps,
-Juanjo


Yes, the motion blur steps in the render target AND the Blur length and MB passes in the LW camera, it's too much.
What's the basic setup you can advice? Do I really need to tweak them all?
I want to have a looong MB, a swoosh from left to right on my moving objects...

Thanks!

Freddy
sjonsjine
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Motion blur settings

Postby juanjgon » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:27 am

juanjgon Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:27 am
The only parameters related to the motion blur used by the plugin from the LightWave camera settings are the enable option (setting it to photoreal in LW2015 or enabling the motion blur in LW2018) and the blur length. The blur length in Octane is limited to the 0% to 100% range, so it is not possible to get trails larger than one frame currently.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6029
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Motion blur settings

Postby sjonsjine » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:22 am

sjonsjine Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:22 am
juanjgon wrote:The only parameters related to the motion blur used by the plugin from the LightWave camera settings are the enable option (setting it to photoreal in LW2015 or enabling the motion blur in LW2018) and the blur length. The blur length in Octane is limited to the 0% to 100% range, so it is not possible to get trails larger than one frame currently.

Thanks,
-Juanjo


Thank you Juanjo.
sjonsjine
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Motion blur settings

Postby sjonsjine » Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:00 pm

sjonsjine Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:00 pm
Oh no! I have objects moving from right to left, then I would expect a motion blur on the right side of the objects, I have it on the left side, so before arrival.

How can I change this? Blur lenth negative does not work...

Please help!

Freddy
sjonsjine
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Motion blur settings

Postby sjonsjine » Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:11 pm

sjonsjine Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:11 pm
OMG it has to do with my Heading of the camera, it has a H=-180

now trying to make the heading 0 and parent it to a null but first renders has the same error

F
sjonsjine
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Motion blur settings

Postby juanjgon » Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:17 pm

juanjgon Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:17 pm
Sorry, I'm not sure to understand you. Can you please share the scene to take a look at it?

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6029
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Motion blur settings

Postby sjonsjine » Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:59 am

sjonsjine Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:59 am
juanjgon wrote:Sorry, I'm not sure to understand you. Can you please share the scene to take a look at it?

Thanks,
-Juanjo


Hi Juan, I have attached a similar simple scene, here the motion blur is in front of the moving cube instead of after the moving cube.

Thanks!

Freddy
Attachments
Juan.zip
motion blur test scene for checking
(10.59 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
sjonsjine
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Motion blur settings

Postby sjonsjine » Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:26 am

sjonsjine Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:26 am
sjonsjine wrote:
juanjgon wrote:Sorry, I'm not sure to understand you. Can you please share the scene to take a look at it?

Thanks,
-Juanjo


Hi Juan, I have attached a similar simple scene, here the motion blur is in front of the moving cube instead of after the moving cube.

Thanks!

Freddy


Hmm when the 'blok' is rotated horizontal it goes wrong, when its vertical its okay....I just discovered...why?
sjonsjine
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Amsterdam
Next

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:15 am [ UTC ]