RAM usage very high

Forums: RAM usage very high
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

RAM usage very high

Postby LichtUndSchatten » Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:00 am

LichtUndSchatten Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:00 am
LW 2015.3
Octane Plugin : 4.00 0.15
Octane API buid: 4.00 RC5
Octane DLL version: 4000015

Is there some issue in this build with big resolution renderings in conjunction with ram usage?
I´ve to render a 19.000 px image and RAM gets very high (125GB) while "updating Scene in GPU"
GPU memory is still some free (see attachment) and Out of core is disabled.

After rendering with limited region it seems that denoising does not work. :( But i do not get error message.

Thanks a lot :)
Attachments
RAM-Issue.JPG
Last edited by LichtUndSchatten on Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
LichtUndSchatten
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 4:12 pm

Re: RAM usage very high

Postby LichtUndSchatten » Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:36 am

LichtUndSchatten Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:36 am
Some further test. When i deactivate denoising. RAM goes "only"up to 71.8 GB while" Updating Scene in GPU"
LichtUndSchatten
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 4:12 pm

Re: RAM usage very high

Postby juanjgon » Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:26 pm

juanjgon Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:26 pm
Sorry, I think that this is a known issue in the Octane 4.00 RC5 core that has been fixed in the latest build. A new plugin build with this core will be available later this week.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6029
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: RAM usage very high

Postby LichtUndSchatten » Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:23 am

LichtUndSchatten Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:23 am
Hello Juanjo.
Thanks for your reply.
Thats really good news. Looking forward to the new release.

Greetings,
Thomas
LichtUndSchatten
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 4:12 pm

Re: RAM usage very high

Postby LichtUndSchatten » Wed Oct 24, 2018 8:39 am

LichtUndSchatten Wed Oct 24, 2018 8:39 am
Hello Juano.

I´ve installed the latest RC 6.
RAM usage is still the same when rendering in this high resolution.
Don´t know whats going on.


Greetings
LichtUndSchatten
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 4:12 pm

Re: RAM usage very high

Postby juanjgon » Thu Oct 25, 2018 12:20 am

juanjgon Thu Oct 25, 2018 12:20 am
Do you know if somehow you could have a lot of instances or polygons in the same place? We have recently found an issue with the memory needed to build the Octane scene if there are a lot of polygons or instances just in the same place, just fixed in the latest RC7 core, I think.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6029
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: RAM usage very high

Postby LichtUndSchatten » Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:20 am

LichtUndSchatten Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:20 am
There are no instance objects on the same place. I´ve carpet instances.
When i reduce the final resolution (12000x 12000) the RAM is about 89.5GB. Still very high but i think this could be
not the reason that my Denoise Pass is always damage. See attachement.

With abut 3000x3000 (RAM usage 42GB) everythink works fine with Beauty and Denoise.
Attachments
DeMain-Pass.jpg
statistics.JPG
statistics.JPG (23.83 KiB) Viewed 186 times
LichtUndSchatten
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 4:12 pm

Re: RAM usage very high

Postby LichtUndSchatten » Thu Oct 25, 2018 3:56 pm

LichtUndSchatten Thu Oct 25, 2018 3:56 pm
After testing and deleting object after object at the end of the day iam ending up with a scene with a cube which needs about 60GB of RAM
and gives with a 12000 px resolution a damaged DeMain Buffer Output. With strange color like upper example.

So i hope this is a good test scene for bug fixing. See attachment


Greetings
Attachments
Export.zip
(8.64 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
LichtUndSchatten
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 4:12 pm

Re: RAM usage very high

Postby juanjgon » Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:51 pm

juanjgon Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:51 pm
Hmm, in any case, I think that the main problem here is that the denoiser resolution is limited to around 4k currently, as far as I know ...

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6029
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: RAM usage very high

Postby LichtUndSchatten » Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:54 am

LichtUndSchatten Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:54 am
Hello Juanjo.
Ohh... thats an important information. But bad news :(

So there is no plan to increase the limit for Realease version?

Is there an precise resolution limit you could give me?
So that we could stop rendering with try and error to get the most out of
it.

When i deactivate denoise pass the RAM behaves like it should do.

Thanks
LichtUndSchatten
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 4:12 pm
Next

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:53 am [ UTC ]