Smooth problem with glossy

Forums: Smooth problem with glossy
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

Smooth problem with glossy

Postby scratch33 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:46 pm

scratch33 Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:46 pm
Hi,

I post here because I think it's a lightwave export problem.

Here is what I got if I try to render a glossy material.

smooth is on.

Image

Can you help me please? Thank you.
scratch33
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 7:45 am
Location: Bienne(Switzerland)

Re: Smooth problem with glossy

Postby scratch33 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 6:49 pm

scratch33 Mon Feb 28, 2011 6:49 pm
I think that this is the plugin that don't work properly.
I have exported the object from modeler without the plugin and textured in octane and I don't have this issue.
But I want to do animation and I must use the plugin...

Is there anyone who could confirm the bug?

- Do a sphere in modeler with enough polygons.apply a material with smooth active.
- export in layout.
- from layout export in octane with the plugin.
- apply a glossy material on the sphere.
- apply a hdri map in environment.
- zoom...

Thank you very much.
scratch33
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 7:45 am
Location: Bienne(Switzerland)

Re: Smooth problem with glossy

Postby marchermitte » Tue Aug 23, 2011 12:59 pm

marchermitte Tue Aug 23, 2011 12:59 pm
I suffer the same problem and didn't find a fix yet. I tried to export the obj fromn Modo and replace the Lw export ,then re-open the Octane scene, no sucess... still facetted. (Very simple polygonal mesh, no dub-d used.)
Anyone has got a tip? (other than give up lightwave, please)
Thanks!
Marc Hermitte
Intel I7 4.5 Ghz, 24 gig ram, 2x Nvidia GTX 480, win 764bits
marchermitte
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Geneva

Re: Smooth problem with glossy

Postby scratch33 » Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:20 pm

scratch33 Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:20 pm
Salut,

Here is a tip. Works well but a bit tricky. And usefull only with animation without deformation...

third message :

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=6894

The point is to export from modeler the good version with internal exporter, then export from layout with plugin.

Hope this bug will fixed soon...
scratch33
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 7:45 am
Location: Bienne(Switzerland)

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Oct 20, 2019 10:31 pm [ UTC ]