Page 3 of 6

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 10:56 am
by gordonrobb
Ah, ok. No worries. Thanks for the quick reply :)

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:59 pm
by MrFurious
An update on the IPR weirdness I've been experiencing. This only seems to happen if I rename the material before editing the Octane materal.. in which case I have to reload IPR to see changes. If I don't rename the material, or rename the material After setting up the Octane material, all is good and IPR behaves as it should.

Correction.. EVERY time I rename the surface, IPR needs to be reloaded to see changes in the Octane Material

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:01 pm
by juanjgon
MrFurious wrote:An update on the IPR weirdness I've been experiencing. This only seems to happen if I rename the material before editing the Octane materal.. in which case I have to reload IPR to see changes. If I don't rename the material, or rename the material After setting up the Octane material, all is good and IPR behaves as it should.

Correction.. EVERY time I rename the surface, IPR needs to be reloaded to see changes in the Octane Material


Yes, if you rename materials you need to reload the scene in the IPR. Currently the plugin can't change the internal material names in the Octane scene, and as you can see the picking and materials editing could fail. I will check this issue for Octane 3 to see if it can be fixed.

-Juanjo

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:08 pm
by MrFurious
I've never noticed this problem before this build- was using Octane for Lightwave 2.16.0 previously, has it always been that way?

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:22 pm
by juanjgon
MrFurious wrote:I've never noticed this problem before this build- was using Octane for Lightwave 2.16.0 previously, has it always been that way?


Yes, as far I know ;) ... perhaps in the old plugin versions, before the 2.x releases, rename the objects didn't affect the picking because the plugin was using a custom raycasting code to pick over the Layout scene. Now the plugin uses the native Octane picking functions over the Octane scene, and I am sure that if you rename the surfaces without reload the scene, you are going to have side effects in the IPR.

Anyway I will review all this code to know what is happening and if it is possible support materials renaming while the IPR is rendering.

-Juanjo

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:30 pm
by juanjgon
A preview of the upcoming LiveDB support in the OctaneRender for LightWave plugin.



-Juanjo

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 6:37 pm
by 3dworks
very nice news :-)

what are the other goodies in the bag? ;-)

cheers and good luck with the coding...

markus

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:01 pm
by atnreg
WOOOOOOOW! :mrgreen:

When this feature will be available in beta or final version? ;)

Antti

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:36 pm
by gordonrobb
Looks great. Is this a 2.x feature?

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:38 pm
by Lewis
Great stuf fJuan, keep them coming :).