OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0

Forums: OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

Re: OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0

Postby juanjgon » Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:37 am

juanjgon Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:37 am
BorisGoreta wrote:Yes, with lots of instances and a bit heavier objects. Also I have noticed that when changing a light parameter in such a scene like light power it takes 6 seconds for IPR to start updating the image again. I will send you a scene that I worked on which shows this kind of behaviour.


Really there is nothing magic to get less delays while you update transformations in very complex scenes. Octane needs some time to rebuild the scene after each change, and while updating, Layout should wait to avoid side effects.

Anyway I just added a new feature to the "Pause" button /command that could help while working with complex scenes: now the pause function updates the scene transformations when resume the IPR rendering, so now you can pause the IPR rendering, work in your scene, and later, when you click again the "Pause" button or fire the pause command, all the Octane scene is going to be updated before continue rendering.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7028
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0

Postby BorisGoreta » Sat Feb 08, 2014 11:10 pm

BorisGoreta Sat Feb 08, 2014 11:10 pm
There is something fishy with emission. Those two spheres have the same emission parameters. Yet the small one is much brighter then the big one. If I scale the small one in Layout it keeps it's brightnes. I had this problem with HDRI images if you remember. It wasn't like this before. Could you take a look at it and report a bug if it is one ? Thanks
Attachments
IPR_image.jpg
emission.rar
(3.42 KiB) Downloaded 63 times
User avatar
BorisGoreta
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0

Postby BorisGoreta » Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:57 pm

BorisGoreta Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:57 pm
Is it possible in LW to color instances like in this post:

http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=38158&p=170496#p170510
User avatar
BorisGoreta
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0

Postby BorisGoreta » Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:14 pm

BorisGoreta Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:14 pm
I have noticed that if you don't plug anything into camera render input there is no depth of field in IPR but when you start F10 rendering there is.
User avatar
BorisGoreta
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0

Postby BorisGoreta » Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:24 pm

BorisGoreta Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:24 pm
If I leave just update transformations when rendering simple turntable animation without instances it seems it takes much longer to prepare the frame than previously.
User avatar
BorisGoreta
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0

Postby juanjgon » Tue Feb 11, 2014 4:47 pm

juanjgon Tue Feb 11, 2014 4:47 pm
BorisGoreta wrote:Is it possible in LW to color instances like in this post:

http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=38158&p=170496#p170510


Not currently. Lightwave plugin uses other kind of node graph to render the instances using the Scatter node. Only one scatter node can hold thousands of instances inside it, using very little memory because we are using only one node. The node graph you show in this post is really complex to be used in scenes with thousands or even hundreds of thousands of instances, and anyway Lightwave plugin doesn't use this kind of graph while building scene.

I think that this feature should be implemented at shading level, for example now you can use a world space texture to apply random colors to instances. An ideal solution could be a node that returns the instance ID to drive a material mixer or a gradient node, but it not available yet.

-Juanjo
Attachments
image000044.jpg
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7028
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0

Postby juanjgon » Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:02 pm

juanjgon Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:02 pm
BorisGoreta wrote:I have noticed that if you don't plug anything into camera render input there is no depth of field in IPR but when you start F10 rendering there is.


Fixed. Thanks for report it.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7028
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0

Postby juanjgon » Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:15 pm

juanjgon Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:15 pm
BorisGoreta wrote:If I leave just update transformations when rendering simple turntable animation without instances it seems it takes much longer to prepare the frame than previously.


Are you using a fixed number of samples for each frame or are you rendering by time?

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7028
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0

Postby BorisGoreta » Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:41 pm

BorisGoreta Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:41 pm
It is a fixed samples method 100 samples. But now that I look at it it is a low poly character subdivided and then transformed using normal displacement map from zbrush. So this might be what slows it down. It has around 1 milliion polygons when rendering. It's alright, I'm asking too much :D
User avatar
BorisGoreta
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ for LightWave™ 1.5 beta - build 1.25.0

Postby BorisGoreta » Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:49 pm

BorisGoreta Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:49 pm
Infochannel kerneel sees lights as material ID altough thez are set to be invisible in normal render.
User avatar
BorisGoreta
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:45 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Nov 12, 2019 6:04 pm [ UTC ]