Page 1 of 1

DOCUMENTATION ADDENDUM: Animation and Motion Blur

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2020 5:54 am
by face_off
The following is the latest information on Animation and Motion Blur, which has not yet been added to the on-line manual.

Fast Moving Objects

In general, if there are object moving quickly in the scene, you will need to increase the Kernel->Animation->Sample Per Frame so the Octane gets more transforms per frame. For fast rotating/spinning objects, the object will get smaller the higher the motion blur percent unless there are sufficient Samples Per Frame.

In cases where a Mesh Item is rotating rapidly, if the Mesh Item "center" of the geometry is not at in the middle of the geometry, the motion blur may not be calculated correctly. In this case, either increase the Kernel->Animation->Samples Per Frame to get the correct motion blur, or set the "center" and "pivot" point of the geometry to the geometry bounding box center.

Motion Blur on the First Frame

The plugin will not load object transforms into the Octane timeline prior to the first frame of the Current Modo Range. So if you need motion blur on the first frame, you need to either add one (or more) frames to the start of the animation, or set Kernel->Animation->Shutter Alignment = After.

Motion Blur on Replicators

To render motion blur on replicators, make sure Camera and Object motion blur are enabled on the Kernel->Animation tab. Then enable Object Motion Blur on the Replicator. IMPORTANT: motion blur on Replicators only works if there are the same number of Point Source transforms each frame. So if the Replicator has a Point Source of a Particle Generator or similar, then there will most probably be a different number of transforms for each frame in the animation, and if Object Motion Blur is enabled on the Replicator, the Replicator will NOT appear in the Octane Viewport. In this situation, UNTICK Object Motion Blur on the Replicator, and TICK Kernel->Animation->Refresh Replicators When Scrubbing The Timeline.

Using emReader

emReader meshes can be rendered with the plugin, however make sure you are on at least plugin version 2020.1.3.163, which contains the Kernel->Animation->Refresh Non-Live Meshes When Scrubbing The Timeline property, which you should turn ON to ensure the emReader mesh is reloaded each animation frame. Because the emReader mesh vertices are not consistent between frames, motion blur will not render in Octane - and even using octane.saveAnimation will not result in any motion blur being rendered on emReader meshes. Turning ON the Kernel->Settings->Use Modo Render Cache does not assist in rendering emReader animations, as the Render Cache appears to only load the first frames emReader mesh, and not subsequent frames.

Paul

Re: Animation and Motion Blur

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2020 7:39 am
by kostache
Hello Paul,

thanks a lot for the fast investigation, but don't you think, that the right way is to calculate the rotation center from the pivot of object, not from center of object? For example, we're doing complex machine's animations and for us is prohibited to move item's centers from world zero position in machine's assembly - otherwise if our construction department update some units in the machine's assembly we'll lost correct position of all items with object's center position not in world 0.

Konstantin

Re: Animation and Motion Blur

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2020 8:24 am
by face_off
thanks a lot for the fast investigation, but don't you think, that the right way is to calculate the rotation center from the pivot of object, not from center of object? For example, we're doing complex machine's animations and for us is prohibited to move item's centers from world zero position in machine's assembly - otherwise if our construction department update some units in the machine's assembly we'll lost correct position of all items with object's center position not in world 0.
I absolutely agree, however Octane requires a translation, rotation and scale transformation, whereas Modo is providing a pivot translation and rotation - there doesn't appear to be a pivot scale - only a world scale. I think it would be a non-trivial task to combine the pivot translation and rotation with the world scale, so for the moment, the solutions above are your best option.

Paul

Re: Animation and Motion Blur

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2020 11:31 am
by kostache
Hello Paul,

I got it, but what if we go with old proven way and parent all the meshes to locators and apply all transformation to these locators? Will it be a temporary solution to get rid of MB artefacts until you or OTOY make pivot work properly?

Konstantin

Re: Animation and Motion Blur

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2020 12:05 am
by face_off
I got it, but what if we go with old proven way and parent all the meshes to locators and apply all transformation to these locators? Will it be a temporary solution to get rid of MB artefacts until you or OTOY make pivot work properly?
I think users should apply to solution described above and set the "pivot point" to the "center".

Paul