Gradients & Weight Maps

Forums: Gradients & Weight Maps
Foundry Modo (Developed by stenson, Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Gradients & Weight Maps

Postby lightvu » Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:31 pm

lightvu Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:31 pm
Is it possible to use vertex maps (weight maps) &/or the gradients available in Modo somehow with Octane?
Coming from Octane for LightWave I always thought it would be amazing to use a weight map to control the blending of two materials.

Is this just a dream or can it be accomplished?

Thanks for any feedback :)
lightvu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: Gradients & Weight Maps

Postby face_off » Thu Dec 13, 2018 9:23 pm

face_off Thu Dec 13, 2018 9:23 pm
Gradients are already supported (https://docs.otoy.com/ModoH/ModoPluginManual.htm#Modo/GradientTexture.htm). I think weight maps would be difficult to support, since it's a value at the vertex level which would be hard to translate back to a material. You can however use the Falloff Map node, which may achieve what you are trying to do.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14231
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Gradients & Weight Maps

Postby lightvu » Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:36 pm

lightvu Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:36 pm
That looks very close to what I need.
Is that an incidence angle gradient?
What type of inputs does it accept? Even if you can just tell me which nodes it accepts I can take it from there :)

And if I have your attention right now I am wondering if it's possible to use any function from Modo like the layers in the shading tree (such as procedural layers) in Octane.
I'm pretty sure I couldn't in LightWave but I am wondering if that's true in Modo too.

Finally how would it be possible (even a workaround) to use the sculpting capabilities in Modo to my advantage with Octane rendering.

Sorry for the barrage of information here, but those are 3 questions I would really appreciate an answer to :)

Thanks Paul. :mrgreen:
lightvu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: Gradients & Weight Maps

Postby Greg » Fri Dec 14, 2018 11:57 pm

Greg Fri Dec 14, 2018 11:57 pm
You can bake anything in MODO and use it in Octane as an image node. It would be better to have a sort of 'rasterinzing' node that can bake any procedurals live...and feed the data into Octane (modo, v-ray, prorender, whatever). I *thought* they were doing that with ProRender but I'm not so sure.

Here's some MODO | Octane videos to look at.

https://www.pixelfondue.com/search?q=octane
CEO Sabertooth Productions
Co-Founder Pixel Fondue
Greg
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:41 pm

Re: Gradients & Weight Maps

Postby face_off » Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:32 am

face_off Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:32 am
What type of inputs does it accept? Even if you can just tell me which nodes it accepts I can take it from there
Check the Standalone manual for details - https://docs.otoy.com/StandaloneH_STA/StandaloneManual.htm#StandaloneSTA/Gradient.htm.

And if I have your attention right now I am wondering if it's possible to use any function from Modo like the layers in the shading tree (such as procedural layers) in Octane.
Yes, there is some support for layers - pls see the manual. https://docs.otoy.com/ModoH/ModoPluginManual.htm#Modo/ModoLayerMasks.htm

Finally how would it be possible (even a workaround) to use the sculpting capabilities in Modo to my advantage with Octane rendering.
Sorry - I'm not sure what you mean by "sculpting capabilities".

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14231
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Gradients & Weight Maps

Postby lightvu » Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:05 pm

lightvu Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:05 pm
K so I have re-read this thread after feeling much more comfortable in both Modo & Octane.

It would be great to use a weight map to control the blending of 2 Octane materials, but if this isn't possible, how can I bake a weight map into a surface?
lightvu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: Gradients & Weight Maps

Postby face_off » Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:47 pm

face_off Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:47 pm
Vertex attributes (from Modo Mesh weight maps and RGB/RGBA maps) are supported in the Octane 2018.1 version of the plugin, which should be available in the next week or so.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14231
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Gradients & Weight Maps

Postby lightvu » Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:59 pm

lightvu Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:59 pm
face_off wrote:Vertex attributes (from Modo Mesh weight maps and RGB/RGBA maps) are supported in the Octane 2018.1 version of the plugin, which should be available in the next week or so.

Paul


Oh that is great news!
lightvu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: Gradients & Weight Maps

Postby lightvu » Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:22 pm

lightvu Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:22 pm
In regards to the original post, can someone tell me what I am doing wrong in this scene?

The zip has a very simple modo file and V.png

thanks :)
Attachments
Test.zip
(51.1 KiB) Downloaded 41 times
lightvu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: Gradients & Weight Maps

Postby face_off » Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:51 pm

face_off Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:51 pm
lightvu wrote:In regards to the original post, can someone tell me what I am doing wrong in this scene?

The zip has a very simple modo file and V.png

thanks :)
That scene rendered OK for me. You didn't say what problem you are having.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14231
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Next

Return to Foundry Modo


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:12 pm [ UTC ]