MDD and Instances...

Forums: MDD and Instances...
Foundry Modo (Developed by stenson, Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

MDD and Instances...

Postby MrFurious » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:43 am

MrFurious Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:43 am
If I have a mesh item with an MDD motion applied, and I intance that mesh item... will the instance always retain the MDD motion from the source mesh? Or is it possible to assign another (unique) MDD motion to a mesh instance? Modo native render appears to do this but not octane. I'm new to mdd and animation in general just trying to see what's possible and whats not possible.

Cheers,
Dino.
Dino Inglese
CG Artist
Melbourne Australia


Intel Core i7-4820K, 3x GTX 980ti
Windows 7 64bit, Modo 902 for PC
Current stable Octane build 3.07.0.128
User avatar
MrFurious
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:46 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: MDD and Instances...

Postby MrFurious » Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:04 am

MrFurious Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:04 am
It's ok I found this info in the Online Docs under 'Limitations'.

"Mesh Instance deformations are not supported. All mesh instances will be sourced from the source mesh geometry. This limitation may be lifted in the future once the Modo Render Cache API is fully operational."
Dino Inglese
CG Artist
Melbourne Australia


Intel Core i7-4820K, 3x GTX 980ti
Windows 7 64bit, Modo 902 for PC
Current stable Octane build 3.07.0.128
User avatar
MrFurious
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:46 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Return to Foundry Modo


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Jun 23, 2018 9:31 pm [ UTC ]