Transferring Octane Materials from Modo to other packages.

Forums: Transferring Octane Materials from Modo to other packages.
Foundry Modo (Developed by stenson, Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Transferring Octane Materials from Modo to other packages.

Postby Terryvfx » Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:03 am

Terryvfx Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:03 am
Hello normally I use Modo to create assets everything to do with modelling and UVs and some texturing sometimes too so I was wondering if there is a way to do the look-dev on Modo as well and then transfer those materials to say C4D where I would do the animation and final render.

I know that getting the meshes with the Octane materials already applied would be impossible without scripts and stuff but I'm talking about just the materials.
User avatar
Terryvfx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:43 am

Re: Transferring Octane Materials from Modo to other packages.

Postby Hesekiel2517 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:38 pm

Hesekiel2517 Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:38 pm
I don't know if this is the best way, but you can start a render in Modo and type octane.shownodegraph into the command field. Octane Standalone opens in a window. There you can select the Material and save it to orbx or the local DB. I don't know cinema4d but i'm pretty sure there is a way to load these materials.

I hope that helps
Hesekiel2517
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:57 pm

Re: Transferring Octane Materials from Modo to other packages.

Postby Terryvfx » Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:01 am

Terryvfx Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:01 am
Thanks for the response I will definitely give this a try and see if it works.
User avatar
Terryvfx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:43 am

Re: Transferring Octane Materials from Modo to other packages.

Postby TStudio » Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:30 pm

TStudio Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:30 pm
Hi TerryVFX. You can export Octane shaders from modo as ORBX and load them to C4D.
You can check it out free examples here. https://gumroad.com/tomerk
Enjoy.
Tomasz
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Transferring Octane Materials from Modo to other packages.

Postby LFedit » Wed Jan 03, 2018 4:22 pm

LFedit Wed Jan 03, 2018 4:22 pm
TStudio wrote:You can export Octane shaders from modo as ORBX and load them to C4D.


Are you for real? How accurate is this? Limitations? I knew this was some type of idea or work in progress. And I trust Tomasz for sure. I am going to investigate more into this. I really hope this is true, because I love everything about modo and octane, but we have to animate and render in C4d for other coworkers to be on the same page.

Thanks a lot. I really want to believe this works well!
Win 7 64bit/ Nvidia Maximus k5000 and k20
LFedit
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:00 am

Re: Transferring Octane Materials from Modo to other packages.

Postby face_off » Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:00 am

face_off Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:00 am
Select the Octane Override in Modo, then enter the command octane.exportMaterial, and it will export the material to ORBX.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12841
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Transferring Octane Materials from Modo to other packages.

Postby LFedit » Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:10 pm

LFedit Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:10 pm
I will give that a go. Trying to find a way to keep the materials assigned when bringing it over too. As long as the names stay the same as whats assigned in modo, I can open the materials in a separate scene. Then use the material exchanger in c4d and have it grab the new materials. But haven't quite mastered the workflow yet. I do have it working really well when I texture animate and render in c4d. I also have it setup where I can reexport from modo and use the material exchanger to reassign the materials back to the changed scene. But man I wish this process was easier. Can't complain two much, 2 different companies making 2 different products..

Thanks
Win 7 64bit/ Nvidia Maximus k5000 and k20
LFedit
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:00 am

Return to Foundry Modo


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:07 pm [ UTC ]