Modo Octane Render Queue

Forums: Modo Octane Render Queue
Foundry Modo (Developed by stenson, Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Modo Octane Render Queue

Postby mpaquin » Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:32 pm

mpaquin Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:32 pm
I know Modo doesn't have a render queue, but has anyone used a 3rd party solution for rendering Octane animations from Modo?
mpaquin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 9:54 pm

Re: Modo Octane Render Queue

Postby Dmi3ryd » Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:43 pm

Dmi3ryd Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:43 pm
Have you tried to use modo render passes groups?
I found it's very useful.
Win 8.1/64 | Geforce GTX780TI | Core I7 970 | 24GB
User avatar
Dmi3ryd
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:31 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Modo Octane Render Queue

Postby mpaquin » Mon Nov 14, 2016 9:40 pm

mpaquin Mon Nov 14, 2016 9:40 pm
I was thinking more along the lines of sending multiple scenes or files to render. I'm used to having Backburner at the office, but would like something similar for Modo and Octane at home.
mpaquin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 9:54 pm

Re: Modo Octane Render Queue

Postby face_off » Mon Nov 14, 2016 10:35 pm

face_off Mon Nov 14, 2016 10:35 pm
If you are handy with Modo python you could write something to do this. Or export each lxo to orbx and render using an Octane Standalone render queue LUA script.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12838
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Modo Octane Render Queue

Postby Hesekiel2517 » Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:25 pm

Hesekiel2517 Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:25 pm
Dmi3ryd mentioned Render Passes Groups. Is it possible to set up different Render Passes in Modo and Render them with Octane? That would help a lot since I have to render a lot of variations of a scene.
Hesekiel2517
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:57 pm

Re: Modo Octane Render Queue

Postby face_off » Sat Jan 27, 2018 3:21 am

face_off Sat Jan 27, 2018 3:21 am
Dmi3ryd mentioned Render Passes Groups. Is it possible to set up different Render Passes in Modo and Render them with Octane? That would help a lot since I have to render a lot of variations of a scene.
Sorry - I don't completely understand what you are trying to do here. If you are rendering an animation, you can tick the Kernel->Animation->Export Render Passes as Discrete Files to save each render pass in a separate file each frame.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12838
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Modo Octane Render Queue

Postby Hesekiel2517 » Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:29 am

Hesekiel2517 Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:29 am
No :) Modo has a function to setup different scene states as Render Passes:

For Example:

Pass 1:
Mesh 1
Material 1

Pass 2:
Mesh 1
Material 2

Pass 3:
Mesh 2
Material 1

Then you can hit Render Passes and Modo will automatically render each of these settings. When I read Dmi3ryds post i thought it is somehow possible with octane. Is it?

https://help.thefoundry.co.uk/modo/content/help/pages/rendering/render_passes.html
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_5Uz7NGNVTY
Hesekiel2517
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:57 pm

Re: Modo Octane Render Queue

Postby face_off » Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:58 am

face_off Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:58 am
When I read Dmi3ryds post i thought it is somehow possible with octane. Is it?
Sorry - I am not sure if this is possible or not.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12838
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Return to Foundry Modo


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Mon Dec 10, 2018 6:07 pm [ UTC ]
cron