OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Forums: OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]
Foundry Modo (Developed by stenson, Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:38 am

face_off Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:38 am
I have updated the TEST build installers at the top of this thread with:

3.08.0.131
- Compiled with Octane 3.08

I expect these will become the next STABLE build unless there are issues found in the next few days.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12434
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Tue May 08, 2018 10:52 am

face_off Tue May 08, 2018 10:52 am
I have updated the links at the top of this thread to migrated release 3.08.0.131 through to the current STABLE build.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12434
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Hesekiel2517 » Thu May 17, 2018 1:51 pm

Hesekiel2517 Thu May 17, 2018 1:51 pm
Thank you for the new Build!

Is it already possible to use the osl cameras in Modo? Thanks in advance
Hesekiel2517
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Fri May 18, 2018 4:08 am

face_off Fri May 18, 2018 4:08 am
I have updated the STABLE installers at the top of this thread with:

3.08.1.132
- Compiled with Octane 3.08.1
- Fixed crash when rendering a Front Projection with no camera assigned
- Fixed issue (introduced in 3.08.0.128) where Image map powers were being set to 0 when creating Octane Overrides
- Fixed crash on OSX when loading an OBJ file. This requires Modo12.1v1 or later

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12434
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Fri May 18, 2018 4:08 am

face_off Fri May 18, 2018 4:08 am
Is it already possible to use the osl cameras in Modo? Thanks in advance
This is not currently possible, but should be doable in the future.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12434
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Hesekiel2517 » Fri May 18, 2018 10:18 am

Hesekiel2517 Fri May 18, 2018 10:18 am
Would it be possible to enhance the nodegraph function in modo to get Standalone Features into modo?

Now it is possible to build shaders with a nodegraph. But it would be even nicer if it wasn't limited to that.

Thanks in advance!
Hesekiel2517
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Mon May 21, 2018 12:58 pm

face_off Mon May 21, 2018 12:58 pm
Would it be possible to enhance the nodegraph function in modo to get Standalone Features into modo?

Now it is possible to build shaders with a nodegraph. But it would be even nicer if it wasn't limited to that.
What specific features would you like pls?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12434
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Tharso » Tue Jun 26, 2018 2:45 pm

Tharso Tue Jun 26, 2018 2:45 pm
The big problem with octane for Modo is the mesh loading time, in octane for maya the loading time is about 2 to 4 times faster depending the scenes with a lot of high poly meshs.
Could this be improved?
User avatar
Tharso
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 3:11 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:36 am

face_off Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:36 am
The big problem with octane for Modo is the mesh loading time, in octane for maya the loading time is about 2 to 4 times faster depending the scenes with a lot of high poly meshs.
Can you provide load time comparisons of the exact same scene in Modo and C4D pls?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12434
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Tharso » Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:31 pm

Tharso Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:31 pm
Hi Paul.. Its not C4d its Maya, I did some tests last year for you. You need to try for yourself to see the difference, try a scene with 4k and 8k images and about 7 million polys maybe.
You said last year that was problem with modo and to compare fbx export from modo and Maya. I did it too and it not a huge difference. My last tests I did with modo 3.08 and Maya 3.08.

Thanks
User avatar
Tharso
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 3:11 pm
Location: Brasil
PreviousNext

Return to Foundry Modo


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Sun Jul 22, 2018 1:20 am [ UTC ]
cron