Modo Plugin Roadmap

Forums: Modo Plugin Roadmap
Foundry Modo (Developed by stenson, Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby face_off » Sat Aug 09, 2014 2:49 am

face_off Sat Aug 09, 2014 2:49 am
under what a distro is developed.
Ubuntu as under Maya?
My development box is Ubuntu 14.04 - but there are issue with Nvidia drivers after 331. The Modo plugin port to Linux build should work with Centos.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13496
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby riggles » Fri Aug 15, 2014 1:06 am

riggles Fri Aug 15, 2014 1:06 am
Hi Paul~

Has there been any progress on supporting proxies? Would be quite useful for the winter forest shot I'm working on. Also, what's the likelihood of other shader effects being supported? For instance, I'm using a MODO gradient layer with slope angle driving a white color. It's a great and quick way to add a snow effect to background trees. But I can't render out a quick animation using Octane.
riggles
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:34 pm
Location: CT, USA

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby face_off » Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:05 am

face_off Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:05 am
Has there been any progress on supporting proxies? Would be quite useful for the winter forest shot I'm working on. Also, what's the likelihood of other shader effects being supported? For instance, I'm using a MODO gradient layer with slope angle driving a white color. It's a great and quick way to add a snow effect to background trees. But I can't render out a quick animation using Octane.
Hi John.

Proxies are potentially doable - but would only work if the scene containing the proxy is loaded. I will add this to the todo list - so not available right now - sorry.

The gradient shader will be more challenging to implement I think. If you have a sample scene which demonstrates how you are trying to use it - I can take a look inside the Modo API to see what is accessible.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13496
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby riggles » Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:50 am

riggles Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:50 am
face_off wrote:
Has there been any progress on supporting proxies? Would be quite useful for the winter forest shot I'm working on. Also, what's the likelihood of other shader effects being supported? For instance, I'm using a MODO gradient layer with slope angle driving a white color. It's a great and quick way to add a snow effect to background trees. But I can't render out a quick animation using Octane.
Hi John.

Proxies are potentially doable - but would only work if the scene containing the proxy is loaded. I will add this to the todo list - so not available right now - sorry.

The gradient shader will be more challenging to implement I think. If you have a sample scene which demonstrates how you are trying to use it - I can take a look inside the Modo API to see what is accessible.

Paul

Thanks Paul~ I'll email you a quick sample now.
riggles
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:34 pm
Location: CT, USA

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby face_off » Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:08 pm

face_off Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:08 pm
I now have a build of the plugin running on Modo on Linux, and am looking for beta testers. If you run Modo and Linux, pls PM now and I will get you a copy. It is at a production-ready state yet, so pls be prepared for some minor issues.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13496
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby matrix2012 » Thu Sep 25, 2014 8:04 pm

matrix2012 Thu Sep 25, 2014 8:04 pm
Yes please the linux link :D
Thanks for the hard work.
matrix2012
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:40 pm

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby dutchbaker » Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:39 pm

dutchbaker Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:39 pm
will the plugin also work for modo 601.5 one day??
dutchbaker
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:30 pm

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby face_off » Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:34 pm

face_off Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:34 pm
will the plugin also work for modo 601.5 one day??
No, sorry, that will not be possible.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13496
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby ch0pper » Thu Feb 12, 2015 5:39 pm

ch0pper Thu Feb 12, 2015 5:39 pm
Hey there Paul.

But you didn't think you would see me over this side hahah.


Okay, I'm quite new to Modo itself. I downloaded the demo

The actually have a scene that I was given.

But octane itself doesn't seem to convert the materials so everything is blank

Is that normal? As I know the poser plug-in converts materials and everything else. If present

? Anyway, just a general question before I actually buy a licence
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby face_off » Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:19 pm

face_off Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:19 pm
Chopper - the plugin will convert the Modo materials to Octane materials on the fly - so you can just change the modo materials and the Octane Viewport should update. http://render.otoy.com/manuals/Modo/?page_id=35.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13496
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
PreviousNext

Return to Foundry Modo


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Oct 17, 2019 5:21 am [ UTC ]