OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1

Forums: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1

Postby abstrax » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:06 am

abstrax Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:06 am
Hi all

Since XB2 we have addressed various issues and finalized the interface for procedural geometry (vectron / SDF). Since this build is more or less feature complete we are releaseing it as release candidate. There will be most likely a couple more releases until we will call it stable and we expect a few more tweaks here and there, but feature-wise that's probably it. Of course, we are already working on the release for the next development cycle.

Reminder: 2018.1 RC1 will only be available for customers with a version 4 license for a limited time. To try 2018.1 RC1 you need to upgrade your version 3 license to a version 4 license. This can be done for free via our web shop: https://render.otoy.com/shop/upgrade.php.

The main change comppared to 2018.1 XB2 is the way how OSL code of procedural geometry returns values: The output value is now of the Octane-specific type _sdf, which is defined as:

Code: Select all
// struct for vectron shader networks (used for sdf inputs, and outputs).
struct _sdf
{
    int   objId;
    int   matId;
    float u;
    float v;
    float dist;
};


This way vectron objects can provide the necessary information required for shading. Please have a look at this simple example where a vectron node creates a blended union of two input vectron nodes:
union_material_2.png
sdf-union-material4.orbx
(71.17 KiB) Downloaded 408 times
(EDIT: The original example scene got replaced since there were some issues with it like the one that calus reported.)

For completeness here is the previous example scene updated to the new SDF interface:
Fun_With_Vectron.orbx
(16.02 MiB) Downloaded 709 times



Changes since OctaneRender 2018.1 XB2:

  • Overhauled the way you return data in vectron nodes - see above.
  • Added support for importing / exporting vertex attributes in Alembic files.
  • Improved partial updates of mesh data loaded from Alembic files, by loading only data that is necessary.
  • Improved detection of moving vertices at start and end of animation sequences.
  • Always show bar meter to indicate peer to peer mapping is in being enabled.
  • Worked around an issue with FBX files exported by Maya, which have their SSS sharpness values scales down by a factor of 10 (see viewtopic.php?p=354044#p354044).
  • Fixed incorrect render restart if the noise pass gets enabled / disabled when adaptive sampling or the denoiser is enabled.
  • Fixed loading of the opacity channel of FBX materials .
  • Fixed loading of normals and UV coordinated (see viewtopic.php?p=353284#p353284).
  • Fixed crash in scene graph update when an empty group node is being used, fixing the Xparticles scene provided in viewtopic.php?f=86&t=70006.
  • Fixed bug that caused geometry to disappear or to render only partially on some frames of animations.
  • Fixed rendering of the third UV coordinate set.
  • OSL: Improved error handling in certain situations.


Downloads for users with a regular license
OctaneRender for Windows (installer)
OctaneRender for Windows (zip)
OctaneRender for Mac OS
OctaneRender for Linux

Downloads for users with a Studio subscription license
OctaneRender Studio for Windows (installer)
OctaneRender Studio for Windows (zip)
OctaneRender Studio for Mac OS
OctaneRender Studio for Linux

Downloads for users with a Creator subscription license
OctaneRender Studio for Windows (installer)
OctaneRender Studio for Windows (zip)
OctaneRender Studio for Mac OS
OctaneRender Studio for Linux


Photoshop Compositing Extension download

You can download and install the current Photoshop Compositing Extension (1.1.0) either via the Adobe Exchange platform or you can download it from the link below and manually install it.

Windows and Mac OS X
Photoshop Compositing Extension (v1.1.0) (ZXP archive)


Happy rendering and a happy new year to you all :)
Your OTOY Team
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5483
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1 [latest 2018]

Postby calus » Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:58 am

calus Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:58 am
abstrax wrote:
  • Worked around an issue with FBX files exported by Maya, which have their SSS sharpness values scales down by a factor of 10 (see viewtopic.php?p=354044#p354044).

This issue is not specific to Maya FBX : I confirmed this by testing with C4d fbx export, exact same wrong result in Octane than with Maya FBX.
> It just seems that Subdivision Surface Sharpness values (crease) are stored in FBX format with a different unit than what Octane naively expects (1 internal FBX crease unit = 10 Octane crease unit )

Please remove specific workaround for Maya FBX and make it a global fix.
Pascal ANDRE
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1 [latest 2018]

Postby PolderAnimation » Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:21 am

PolderAnimation Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:21 am
Octane is moving fast. Very nice. Thanks for the update!
Win 10 64bit | RTX 3090 | i9 7960X | 64GB
User avatar
PolderAnimation
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:23 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1 [latest 2018]

Postby ramone163 » Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:48 am

ramone163 Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:48 am
Are you going to fix this? When the camera is inside of volumetric light.
Attachments
record_181231_124648.gif
GPU: 980+1080+1080Ti; 3ds max;
Behance portfolio; Handmadefont.com;
ramone163
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:12 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1 [latest 2018]

Postby Notiusweb » Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:58 am

Notiusweb Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:58 am
I already can report that several ABC files I have are not importing into RC1, but were importing fine into XB2.
Issues consist of Octane freezing during AI Cache, and missing geometry in the ABC file.
In each case if left on, ABC files in Octane RC1 will cause GPUs to disconnect and driver reset.

DPC Latency shows no spike, and # GPUs is not a factor either. Seems that RC1 just has a very very rough time with ABC files.

FBXs on other hand load in great, Opacity fix is very nice! I find that Metallic map and roughness is not imported, just are imported as Black (or "0") like Opacity was.
No big deal, we can tweak in scene no issue, just wondering if this this a parameter stored in the FBX file that could be read by Octane.

Really cool, looking forward to Substrates, Upscaling, and Anime Kernel....
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan RTX, 1 Titan Xp
External: 6 Titan X Pascal, 2 GTX Titan X
Plugs: Enterprise
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1285
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1 [latest 2018]

Postby calus » Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:45 pm

calus Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:45 pm
The sdf-union-material.orbx example have a mistake In the unionRound function, swaping the SDF input in the result:

a.dist - b.dist should be b.dist - a.dist

sdf-union-material2.orbx
(72.19 KiB) Downloaded 290 times
Pascal ANDRE
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1 [latest 2018]

Postby Notiusweb » Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:34 pm

Notiusweb Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Finding ABC files "AI caching" causing also my Windows 10 itself to freeze and stutter as the GPU driver battles to stay connected. When ultimately then disconnects, screen goes black and then takes a minute to come back.
Does not happen in XB2.
Changes with handling of ABC files is likely connected to issue I see I am thinking.
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan RTX, 1 Titan Xp
External: 6 Titan X Pascal, 2 GTX Titan X
Plugs: Enterprise
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1285
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1 [latest 2018]

Postby PolderAnimation » Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:07 am

PolderAnimation Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:07 am
There are 'colour vertex attribute' and 'greyscale vertex attribute' nodes. You can not use a vector attribute in a greyscale node (make sense).
But can we have it that if you put .x .y or .z after the string input you can use that float channel of the vector in a ' greyscale vertex attribute' node?

For example you have a vector Cd for your vertex colors. But if you want to use 1 channel you can use Cd.x in a 'greyscale vertex attribute' node and only use the red channel.
That would be great.
Win 10 64bit | RTX 3090 | i9 7960X | 64GB
User avatar
PolderAnimation
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:23 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1 [latest 2018]

Postby bagel » Wed Jan 02, 2019 12:36 pm

bagel Wed Jan 02, 2019 12:36 pm
Hey not sure if this was addressed or not in this version, but in XB2, deep EXRs came out corrupted and the option to export a deep EXR was removed or moved to the passes export window. I do a lot of deep compositing so I rely on this feature which is why it cropped up for me.

I'll test with RC1 and see if the bug still persists.

Thanks for all you hard work, especially over the holidays, no less!
bagel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 3:38 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC1 [latest 2018]

Postby PolderAnimation » Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:25 pm

PolderAnimation Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:25 pm
I keep coming with requests but just trying to make octane better :).
It would be nice to have the option to make reference copys of placement nodes. So when you adjust one all of the other will adjust too.
Just an idea. Cheers,
Win 10 64bit | RTX 3090 | i9 7960X | 64GB
User avatar
PolderAnimation
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:23 am
Location: Netherlands
Next

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:28 pm [ UTC ]