OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1

Forums: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby nildoe » Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:41 am

nildoe Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:41 am
paride4331 wrote:
nildoe wrote:This is Great!!

Can someone please tell me if offline license was re-introduced? if not, when?


Hi Nildoe,
https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=68091&p=342506#p342506
Regards
Paride


Thanks Paride... I already knew of that post.. so this means that as of this moment offline mode is still not implemented.. :( I hope this gets fixed soon.
Corei7, 6x GTX1070 (2 Inside and 4 in a CUBIX Xpander), 32GB Ram, Win10 64Bit Home, 3dsMax2017 64Bit, Octane for max 3 and LOVING IT!!!!

MSI GT72S 6QE Dominator Pro G win10Home, gtx 980m.
User avatar
nildoe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:03 am
Location: Maputo-Mozambique

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby fatrobotsneedlove » Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:24 pm

fatrobotsneedlove Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:24 pm
Goldorak wrote:
coilbook wrote:"Nvidia’s new Turing architecture focuses on dedicated RT Cores for ray tracing, a technique that’s designed to improve lighting effects in games."

Will octane 4 support RT cores or only cudas


Now that our nvidia talk is done, we can talk about our work on this. We have an internal buid of V4 on RTX, and it’s faster, but not by the same amount we have gotten on Vulkan. We’re working with nvidia on this.


Is the talk online somewhere?
4x 980ti Hyrbids, 2x Titan Blacks, 4x 6gig 780s. i7 5960X. 64gigs RAM. C4D/Modo Plugin. Windows 10.
fatrobotsneedlove
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:06 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby enricocerica » Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:31 pm

enricocerica Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:31 pm
Well, after looking several times, trying and trying again I think this could be an issue.
I have loaded an object than exported again as I changed it and I'm not able to refresh it, just like if it always uses a cached version without updating it.
If I create a new mesh object and load the last exported version, I indeed get the good version, so I have tow meshes pointing to the same obj file but the result is different ...
Hope this is clear ;)

Edit : Forget it, my bad, it was due to a bad UV unwrapping
Modeling system : I7 32GB Windows 10 & Fujitsu Celsius H720
GPU : 1x Gigabyte GTX580 3GB + 1x MSI GTX780 3GB + 1x PALIT GTX780 6GB +1x Asus Stix GTX1070 8GB
http://www.myline.be
User avatar
enricocerica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby sauloarruda » Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:17 pm

sauloarruda Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:17 pm
Denoising volumes is only working with Path Tracing? When I use PMC kernel, the denoising process doesn´t start.

Anyone notice this?
sauloarruda
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 2:56 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby ramone163 » Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:39 pm

ramone163 Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:39 pm
Denoiser on large images crash Standalone and 3ds Max plugin.
Scene is only 1.5 Gb of VRAM. So how much denoiser need to render 5000x5000 pixel?
Please fix it.
Attachments
shot_180816_233813.jpg
980 is for monitor.
GPU: 980+1080+1080Ti; 3ds max;
Behance portfolio; Handmadefont.com;
ramone163
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:12 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby abstrax » Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:11 pm

abstrax Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:11 pm
sauloarruda wrote:Denoising volumes is only working with Path Tracing? When I use PMC kernel, the denoising process doesn´t start.

Anyone notice this?

Yes, that's currently a limitation. For the denoiser to work we have to render a lot of passes, which we haven't implemented yet for PMC. It also would slow down PMC a lot. We are going to try to solve the issue in the future, but that's what it currently is.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby sauloarruda » Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:20 pm

sauloarruda Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:20 pm
abstrax wrote:
sauloarruda wrote:Denoising volumes is only working with Path Tracing? When I use PMC kernel, the denoising process doesn´t start.

Anyone notice this?

Yes, that's currently a limitation. For the denoiser to work we have to render a lot of passes, which we haven't implemented yet for PMC. It also would slow down PMC a lot. We are going to try to solve the issue in the future, but that's what it currently is.



Thanks for your answer.

And the other passes Will also have too a denoised version? Like Refraction, transmission, subsurface ?
sauloarruda
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 2:56 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby abstrax » Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:31 pm

abstrax Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:31 pm
BorisGoreta wrote:I can't mix 980 Ti with 1080, they can't work together but separately they work just fine.

Which driver version are you using? I have seen similar issues with driver 397 or higher and had to revert to 391.35 to make it work. If you don't think it's the driver, could you send me a simple scene or instructions to reproduce the problem? Thank you.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby vijay_thirukonda » Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:51 pm

vijay_thirukonda Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:51 pm
Notiusweb wrote:I get crashes all the time too, I can't modify anything while denoiser is active. Sliders especially have a bad way of crashing the engine while denoiser is running.
I use a separate 'preview' render target with Denoiser off, then I go and render with another one having Denoiser on.


Yesterday I fixed a bug related to enabling and disabling info passes while the denoiser is active. Do you think that the problem you face the same? if not? could you please provide more detail of what were you trying to modify ?.
vijay_thirukonda
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby coilbook » Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:47 pm

coilbook Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:47 pm
wallace wrote:
coilbook wrote:Hi do you have any examples of this or how to do galaxies, stars etc?

" Planetary environment: Improved appearance of star field"

By the way, this octane 5 looks amazing https://youtu.be/6ChweQETKTE


Here is a simple scene setup with the planetary environment.

Please note that the images are scaled down to avoid a huge file size.



Thanks it looks nice but will we see one for space animations. Like star fields, galaxies and they dont look pixelated? I really thought we would be able to do this like in this video https://youtu.be/jhc8AdI0MWg?t=3m27s
Attachments
planetary.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2485
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:12 pm [ UTC ]