OctaneRender™ V4 XB4

Forums: OctaneRender™ V4 XB4
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender™ V4 XB4

Postby Issa » Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:32 am

Issa Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:32 am
haze wrote:Ok. Would you be able to upload the scene to dropbox or somewhere I can download it so I can take a look?


I've sent you my scene in private message :) thank you
Issa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:21 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ V4 XB4

Postby Jolbertoquini » Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:44 am

Jolbertoquini Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:44 am
Issa wrote:I am making some sort of point cloud rendering in octane using scatter node.

I can easily load over 10 millions points in octane 3 but no way for v 4, even with out-of-core turned on. Please tell me that will be fixed.
The dream for v4 may be to be able to handel 1 billion instance or closer.
I deal with billion of photogrametric points from time to time at work.

I took the model from this site for my test:
https://dronemapper.com/sample_data/


Hi Issa,

This is interesting, and looking really good did you use the ply with the vertex color and generate the scatter on Houdini? or other way?

Cheers,
JO
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: OctaneRender™ V4 XB4

Postby Issa » Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:44 am

Issa Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:44 am
Jolbertoquini wrote:This is interesting, and looking really good did you use the ply with the vertex color and generate the scatter on Houdini? or other way?


Hi Jolbertoquini,
Yes this is exactly my workflow for Houdini. You can also wrote a script to directly translate the .ply, What I've done for my company


thank you : )
Issa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:21 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ V4 XB4

Postby Jolbertoquini » Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:55 am

Jolbertoquini Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:55 am
Issa wrote:
Jolbertoquini wrote:This is interesting, and looking really good did you use the ply with the vertex color and generate the scatter on Houdini? or other way?


Hi Jolbertoquini,
Yes this is exactly my workflow for Houdini. You can also wrote a script to directly translate the .ply, What I've done for my company


thank you : )


Thanks a lot Issa.

Awesome I also did meshlab save as xyz file change to .txt and is working well only trying to find how to put the color but you totally right Houdini save the day there hehehe!

Cheers,
JO
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Screen
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: OctaneRender™ V4 XB4

Postby Issa » Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:13 pm

Issa Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:13 pm
Awesome I also did meshlab save as xyz file change to .txt and is working well only trying to find how to put the color but you totally right Houdini save the day there hehehe!


Pretty ! Follow this to get the color in houdini:
https://vimeo.com/172594655
Issa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:21 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ V4 XB4

Postby Notiusweb » Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:31 pm

Notiusweb Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:31 pm
Zay wrote:
haze wrote: There are ways to change this, but to determine which way, we would need to know what it would be used for - can you give us an example in your workflow where you need this (for our understanding)?

In the mean time,we will fix the tooltips on these settings to indicate that they operate only for direct light.


I use it all the time for indoor scenes. On walls, doors, ceilings, windows - where ever I need a fill light and its reflection. Especially for wall lights to assist in various ways.

But - the problem is also in the Octane Environment/HDRI.

hdri.jpg


Otoy - Maybe my idea for Object Layer Map having separate check boxes for receives and casts shadows could be useful here?
Or maybe, somewhere in the mix, a shadow amount slider, like opacity, to reduce the presence of any shadows...

Fake, but hey...as it is it's accuracy out the window, so when in Rome...

DO AS NAPOLEON WOULD DO. CONQUER THE ENEMY, AND LEAVE NO SHADOW OF A DOUBT....

Eh?
Eh......?
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan Xp, 1 Titan X Pascal
External: 6 Titan X Pascal - 1600W EVGA T2
Plugs: 3DSMax, C4D, Daz, Houdini, Lightwave, Sketchup
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1181
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender™ V4 XB4

Postby Jolbertoquini » Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:58 pm

Jolbertoquini Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:58 pm
Issa wrote:
Awesome I also did meshlab save as xyz file change to .txt and is working well only trying to find how to put the color but you totally right Houdini save the day there hehehe!


Pretty ! Follow this to get the color in houdini:
https://vimeo.com/172594655


Yes, I realize the plug does it automatic, basically not need Roahn stuff anymore also get as Alembic cache (not csv scatter) I realize is perfect and way stable for XB4 I have full PLY Pointcloud straight there really faster and stable. with the alembic cache.

Cheers,
JO

:)
Attachments
Capture.PNG
XB4
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: OctaneRender™ V4 XB4

Postby Issa » Mon Jul 30, 2018 3:32 pm

Issa Mon Jul 30, 2018 3:32 pm
Jolbertoquini wrote:
Yes, I realize the plug does it automatic, basically not need Roahn stuff anymore also get as Alembic cache (not csv scatter) I realize is perfect and way stable for XB4 I have full PLY Pointcloud straight there really faster and stable. with the alembic cache.


All done :D !
Yes but we need stable .csv for octane standalone. This is pretty handy and straightforward in our workflow with scripting all the boring stuff, no more need of Houdini
Issa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:21 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ V4 XB4

Postby abstrax » Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:10 pm

abstrax Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:10 pm
Sorry, we still don't get it.

Zay wrote:
haze wrote: There are ways to change this, but to determine which way, we would need to know what it would be used for - can you give us an example in your workflow where you need this (for our understanding)?

In the mean time,we will fix the tooltips on these settings to indicate that they operate only for direct light.


I use it all the time for indoor scenes. On walls, doors, ceilings, windows - where ever I need a fill light and its reflection. Especially for wall lights to assist in various ways.


If you use a fill light, you would make it transparent wouldn't you? And thus the fill light doesn't cast any shadows anyway. But if you are talking of the objects that will have an indirect shadow due to the reflected fill light from the wall you certainly want to see (indirect) some shadow here, don't you, Or what am I missing?

It's probably best to show us some real scene where indirect shadows are a problem, then we can try to figure out a way to improve that behaviour, because we have a couple of ideas of what we could do, but all of them have some negative side effects that usually don't make any sense.

But - the problem is also in the Octane Environment/HDRI.

hdri.jpg


We don't include the environment in the direct light calculation if it's constant. Only if you use some non-constant texture (like an HDR image), the environment is included in the direct light calculation and thus only then the option "shadow visibility" has an effect (if you have "importance sampling" enabled). In other words if you use a simple colour texture in the texture environment, the shadows below your objects are indirect shadows.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5112
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ V4 XB4

Postby Zay » Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:05 am

Zay Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:05 am
abstrax wrote:Sorry, we still don't get it.


You're right! I can fix it with transparency as you said.
The problem was me still thinking that "transparency on" was a no go as I would lose light reflections. But I see now that is fixed and it was my test scene light setup that made me think it was not.
So my mistake, sorry :?
Carry on :P
Win 7 64bit | 3.4GHz I7 | 64GB ram | 2x GTX 1080Ti - driver 441.41| Modo/ZBrush/Poser
Zay
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:53 am
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:27 am [ UTC ]