OctaneRender V4 XB3

Forums: OctaneRender V4 XB3
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby Notiusweb » Sat Jun 16, 2018 1:45 pm

Notiusweb Sat Jun 16, 2018 1:45 pm
Could you please post a screen shot of a simple Material Map set-up, doing whatever it does now?
I can't figure out link-wise how it plays into a mix of FBXs, say for example.
I am imagining, as I have 2FBXs, with equal # material node channels, and one FBX with mats already set up, another without any, and this thing (Material Map Node) could link the two to transport the maps from one to the other (?).
But, even though I am a master of nodes, and all nodian things, I have node idea what to do with the Material Map.
Do you node what I am saying?

THX!

PS- Say Node to Drugs!
(Except on weekends.)
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan RTX, 1 Titan Xp
External: 6 Titan X Pascal, 2 GTX Titan X
Plugs: Enterprise
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1269
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby Hesekiel2517 » Mon Jun 18, 2018 6:12 pm

Hesekiel2517 Mon Jun 18, 2018 6:12 pm
Did anyone get AI Light working? I tried it on multiple scenes. The results are always worse (more noise/longer rendertimes) than without it.
Hesekiel2517
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby haze » Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:47 pm

haze Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:47 pm
Hesekiel2517 wrote:Did anyone get AI Light working? I tried it on multiple scenes. The results are always worse (more noise/longer rendertimes) than without it.


Wallace has made some major improvements in this area for XB4, a lot of scenes now benefit from AI Light as well, where they didn't before.
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby mykola1985 » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:09 pm

mykola1985 Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:09 pm
AMAZING! So the new version is coming? :-P
i7 3770K, 12GB RAM, ASUS STRIX GTX 780 - 6GB OC Edition + ASUS GTX 780 Ti - 3GB, win 7 ultimate 64bit
User avatar
mykola1985
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby haze » Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:47 am

haze Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:47 am
mykola1985 wrote:AMAZING! So the new version is coming? :-P


Yes, we are aiming XB4 for the next couple of weeks
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby Goldorak » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:23 am

Goldorak Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:23 am
richardyarlett wrote:Quick question...

If NETWORK RENDERING is currently disabled, what about the ORC ? If I buy an ORC subscription, does the ORC currently support this v4.00-XB3 build, or will it only work with the official commercial releases like 3.08 ?


I'd stick with 3.08 for ORC. RE is being worked on, both in terms of our own portable version and licensable ones out there too.
User avatar
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:09 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby nildoe » Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:46 am

nildoe Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:46 am
Hello...has offline license been re-implemented yet?

If not any ideas how long it will take? I'd very much like to start using 3.08 or even 4.0
Corei7, 6x GTX1070 (2 Inside and 4 in a CUBIX Xpander), 32GB Ram, Win10 64Bit Home, 3dsMax2017 64Bit, Octane for max 3 and LOVING IT!!!!

MSI GT72S 6QE Dominator Pro G win10Home, gtx 980m.
User avatar
nildoe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:03 am
Location: Maputo-Mozambique

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby Hesekiel2517 » Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:29 am

Hesekiel2517 Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:29 am
haze wrote:
Hesekiel2517 wrote:Did anyone get AI Light working? I tried it on multiple scenes. The results are always worse (more noise/longer rendertimes) than without it.


Wallace has made some major improvements in this area for XB4, a lot of scenes now benefit from AI Light as well, where they didn't before.


Sounds great! Thank you for the quick answer
Hesekiel2517
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby Notiusweb » Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:28 pm

Notiusweb Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:28 pm
I, or my PC rather, has found this release buggy. Buggy as in little weird things freeze the whole PC. Not consistent but:
(1) Denoiser use
(2) Saving image
(3) adjusting a slider

Here is another strange anomaly:
In a list of materials in the scene object menu, you can rename them, If it is a Diffuse, the name change stays.
If a glossy one, the name change disappears. It sometimes will let you type it in but keeps disappearing immediately when you hit enter or click on something else.
Other times clicking where you should to change the name does nothing.
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan RTX, 1 Titan Xp
External: 6 Titan X Pascal, 2 GTX Titan X
Plugs: Enterprise
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1269
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby Notiusweb » Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:53 pm

Notiusweb Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:53 pm
To all the Octane developers - is THIS possible:

BACKGROUND
So when I render an animation, it appears that the denoiser is moving from scratch, frame to frame with each frame, in order to collect the information for the denoise.
So, if I can render a batch of denoised images @1080p for say, 6 seconds per frame, a 900 frame render winds up being 5400 seconds, so like 90 minutes, an hour and a half.

IDEA
What if, the denoiser could run an initial 'Scan Pass' of some sort, where it could scan all frames in a timeline, to gauge AI-wise where the renders wind up being less dynamic and more static (ie 'stay the same')
Then, it could render frame by frame, but not be pressured to start from scratch in all frame cases, because it would have a que of info to cross-check against, (either in a buffer of active info, or off of a text-file, say) in which case it could spit out the almost identically same render, much like if it was a single mat HDRI, or single JPG background. Now, it would need to collect the info first, so it would take time to do it, initially, before render.
But, if it could run such a Scan Pass to collect the info first, it would have a more optimized 'render plan' for the whole project.

HOPE
instead of having to run an image by image denoise scan, it would do one at beginning (ie 15 minutes scan of all frames), que the info, and then run the renders with the AI of knowledge already captured (45 minutes, say).
I am imagining such a Scan pass could cut down the render timer for a sequence of frames.
It doesn't make denoiser or renderer itself faster, it just gives could give 'the project' a curriculum to work off of, AI wise. And then the project could take an hour, vs and hour and a half.

EDIT
--Nutshell--
The pre-scan could identify and tell Octane if any duplicate, or near-duplicate frames, which could then be processed more quickly by Octane, given that Octane will in-advance know it will have already rendered the identical, or near-identical, frame before it.


Any thoughts?
Last edited by Notiusweb on Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan RTX, 1 Titan Xp
External: 6 Titan X Pascal, 2 GTX Titan X
Plugs: Enterprise
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1269
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Wed May 27, 2020 3:41 am [ UTC ]