OctaneRender V4 XB2.1

Forums: OctaneRender V4 XB2.1
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB2.1

Postby Jolbertoquini » Tue May 22, 2018 9:13 am

Jolbertoquini Tue May 22, 2018 9:13 am
Hi Guys,

I did a Really quick test many of older scenes which was working on the version before doesn't work anymore on the new version, is opening but soon I select render target Octane crashs.

For some reason when I'm trying to rebuild the scenes with the Alembic caches preview is not responding and fail making Standalone crash. All this Alembic is working perfect in other version.

the positive side denoiser is working better on most of the machine which wasn't work before :) .

Anybody has problems with Alembic files or other scenes??

Cheers,
JO
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 855
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB2.1

Postby Jolbertoquini » Tue May 22, 2018 9:39 am

Jolbertoquini Tue May 22, 2018 9:39 am
Hi Guys,

Me again, also I was testing the denoiser and I have a quick question the denoiser will support the depth bokeh and motion blur information? I realize is only mesh based so on some scenes like this one I can render really fast with denoiser but the bokeh is really bad if I use adaptive sampling is not worth because make just slower and take a lot time to be clean up.
So only with denoiser is not so clean as you can see the render target previe comparison between Denoised and Raw.

Let me know if any plans on the future for that ? I was think to reduce the noise in post with mask for those type of situation but would be great to have something better. I also attach the scene in case is wrong settings never know.

Cheers,
JO
Attachments
Ball_field.rar
Orbx scene
(41.27 MiB) Downloaded 30 times
Render target.jpg
comparison Denoise & Raw
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 855
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB2.1

Postby funk » Tue May 22, 2018 10:52 am

funk Tue May 22, 2018 10:52 am
Another feature request / bug fix (?)

I'm setting my 670 to denoise in octane 4, but every time I start octane 3, it resets my device settings in 4.x, so the denoiser runs on the 1080ti (which crashes my pc).

Is it possible to store the octane 4 device settings separately, so octane 3 doesnt affect them?
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 12
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB2.1

Postby Elvissuperstar007 » Tue May 22, 2018 5:25 pm

Elvissuperstar007 Tue May 22, 2018 5:25 pm
universal - Metalic
what is the difference? they are all the same
win 7 /64x C2Quad 6600 2.4/ Nvidia 9800 GX2 1gb 512 bit + Asus 480 GTX/ DDR2 8Gb / NVIDIA 460 GTX 2GB/2x NVIDIA 580 GTX 3GB
Page octane render " В Контакте " http://vkontakte.ru/club17913093
User avatar
Elvissuperstar007
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2219
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Ukraine/Russia

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB2.1

Postby coilbook » Tue May 22, 2018 6:00 pm

coilbook Tue May 22, 2018 6:00 pm
vray next GPU now has nice fog system where distant stuff look very nice and foggy and upfront clear and all noise free. Link https://youtu.be/iTjPFHNy96U?t=2m35s
Can we get the same?

Thanks
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB2.1

Postby longshoes » Tue May 22, 2018 7:00 pm

longshoes Tue May 22, 2018 7:00 pm
I am trying to batch a render an animated FBX in standalone.
But it is only rendering the first frame ad nauseum.
Why would this be broken?
longshoes
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 5:44 am

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB2.1

Postby longshoes » Tue May 22, 2018 7:20 pm

longshoes Tue May 22, 2018 7:20 pm
Looks like batch render doesn't work in 3.08.1 either.
Anyone else having issues with animated fbx renders?
longshoes
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 5:44 am

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB2.1

Postby Goldorak » Tue May 22, 2018 7:33 pm

Goldorak Tue May 22, 2018 7:33 pm
rohandalvi wrote:True.

Right now it's the perfect metallic roughness node that you need to work with substance painter and stuff. Once they add SSS and refraction then it's the universal node. :)


Yes -that is exactly the point - substance and other engines map perfectly to this material, and yes, improved SSS, emission and refection will be added in the next update, and a few nice surprises as well.

The denoiser has no size limits (and way less RAM requirements) as of this build, but other things may be affected (speed/stability) as this is a relatively new fix. Volumetric, hair and other denoiser domain specific targets are being worked on as well for subsequent releases.
User avatar
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:09 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB2.1

Postby ramone163 » Tue May 22, 2018 8:13 pm

ramone163 Tue May 22, 2018 8:13 pm
Very unstable build. Crashes and one time Blue screen. Hope you fix this.
And please fix Batch render node. It doesn't do anything.
GPU: 980+1080+1080Ti; 3ds max;
Behance portfolio; Handmadefont.com;
ramone163
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:12 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB2.1

Postby vijay_thirukonda » Tue May 22, 2018 11:25 pm

vijay_thirukonda Tue May 22, 2018 11:25 pm
longshoes wrote:I am trying to batch a render an animated FBX in standalone.
But it is only rendering the first frame ad nauseum.
Why would this be broken?


Thanks for the report. This will be fixed in next release.
vijay_thirukonda
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:42 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: vijay_thirukonda and 4 guests

Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:04 pm [ UTC ]