OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build

Forums: OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:56 am

bepeg4d Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:56 am
hi Sighman,
your post help me alot to understand that the game is too hard for my brain :D
fortunately i have find the way to get the matrix directly from c4d, now that i have understand the composition of the matrix, i need only to change the values position ;)
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6898
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build

Postby rappet » Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:25 pm

rappet Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:25 pm
bepeg4d wrote:hi rappet,
today i have investigated a bit the scatter node and what i have understand is that the scale and the rotation plays together. with a bit of trigonometric it seems to work but unfortunately i can't find a way to rotate the instance on more than one axes
for a H rotation:
(- cosH * Sx) (0) ( sinH * Sx) (tx) (0) (Sy) (0) (ty) (sinH * Sz) (0) (cosH * Sz) (tz)
in your case should be:
0 0 1 tx 0 1 0 ty 1 0 0 tz

ciao beppe


Thanx so much bepeg4d,
That worked quiet well as you can see.
Now I can rotate the scattered objects around the vertical axis the way I want. Super!
Another step I have made in learning Octane. This scattering, grouping and placing is fantastic!

I used Ecel to make my own scattering with the formule you gave.
I had to replace the , by . (with notepad) before copying it in Octane,
and that works.

Sighman, your way to rotate things on two axes is a little to much for me to comprehend right now,
but I might try and do some braintraining later too see if I can walk your talk.
Thanx for the information.

greetz,
Attachments
Scatter-excel.jpg
Android_3_outdoor-plane.jpg

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:46 pm

bepeg4d Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:46 pm
great, i'm happy to hear that you have solved an your alies have found a way to turn aroud :D
what a beautiful excel you have, well done ;)
as a common 3d user, i must say that octane is making me do things that i never believed to do :D
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6898
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build

Postby radiant » Thu Jul 26, 2012 3:46 pm

radiant Thu Jul 26, 2012 3:46 pm
For all the people wondering, i posted 4 video tutorials on the placement node and geometry group node.
The first is a introductory, mess around and the next three is making a full fledged scene.

As for the scattering node, i plan on making a tutorial on it, on how to use it in a certain program.
This weekend :)
There is already a script ready for maya that im using (works flawlessly) im currently waiting for the blender script for it.
As for max, that one needs to wait. I might also do the manual theory work of it (my trigonometry is a bit rough though)
Win8 Pro 64bit ULT|Intel Core i7 3930K|3.20 GHz|32 GB RAM|GTX 590|UD5 2011 socket||2x TB HD||Master Cooler HAF X||Blender 2.6||Maya 2012||Octane|
User avatar
radiant
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build

Postby matej » Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:35 pm

matej Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:35 pm
btw, I accidentally saved an empty .obj file (one without geometry data), which was referenced in an .ocs. When trying to open the .ocs project it failed with "cant load .obj".

It's understandable that it cant load the .obj, since it's empty, but this error should not result in not being able to open the .ocs project, because the user can possibly loose a lot of work. If Octane is not able to load some resources, it should not fail completely, but remove the problematic nodes and keep loading everything else.
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build

Postby yhloon » Thu Jul 26, 2012 6:05 pm

yhloon Thu Jul 26, 2012 6:05 pm
a little test with placement node and falloff node
Attachments
FalloffVirus01.jpg
yhloon
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 6:30 am

Re: OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build

Postby matej » Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:36 pm

matej Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:36 pm
The scatter node has a "load file" option. What kind of file would that be and where can I read about its specification?

(btw, a "reload file" icon for the geometry nodes would be useful)

EDIT:
also, is there a limit on how much text you can paste in the scatter node text-field? I'm trying to paste 2000 transforms (each line one transform), but it wont accept, while something like 1100 lines works ok.
Last edited by matej on Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build

Postby rappet » Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:41 pm

rappet Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:41 pm
radiant wrote:For all the people wondering, i posted 4 video tutorials on the placement node and geometry group node.
The first is a introductory, mess around and the next three is making a full fledged scene.

As for the scattering node, i plan on making a tutorial on it, on how to use it in a certain program.
This weekend :)
There is already a script ready for maya that im using (works flawlessly) im currently waiting for the blender script for it.
As for max, that one needs to wait. I might also do the manual theory work of it (my trigonometry is a bit rough though)


Great.. I am a big fan of your tutorials!
Concerning the scattering node it would be helpful to have more explanation on how the scattering can be applied without max, maya, blender, but by making a matrix by 'hand and head'.
I am now using Sketchup as intermedium to get my Artlantis/Archicad Objects to Octane,
(I know exporting from Archicad and ATL is not the same comparing to the max, Blender... and other users.. but I have got to work with the tools I have, and I guess there are more users like me)
and I am doing the scattering manually with excell, but as you can see in the previous replies that it's quiet hard mathematical to understand all the ingredients of the numbers to get the scattering done more then only replace and rotate on the vertical axis.
I got that far with help, but more then that is getting difficult... i.e. rotating on two axes or otherwise.
I Hope you mean explaining filling in the digits manually like I am doing it now by
I might also do the manual theory work of it

Greetz,

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build

Postby matej » Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:53 am

matej Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:53 am
In the file browser default folder list, could we also have the directory of the currently loaded .ocs file? This would speedup browsing quite a bit.
folders.jpg
folders.jpg (5.58 KiB) Viewed 718 times


Being able to specify some custom folders (in Octane settings) that would appear on that list would also speedup browsing.
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: OctaneRender® 1.025 instancing preview test build

Postby Daniel79 » Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:05 am

Daniel79 Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:05 am
rappet, can you post the excel file to obtain a matrix?

thanks a lot
SORRY, MY ENGLISH IS BAD!
2 Xeon quad core E5440_8gb Ram_Nvidia GeForce 2GTX 780ti 3Gb/Nvidia Quadro K2000_Win10 64bit_Octane 3.02_Rhinoceros3D
User avatar
Daniel79
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 3:53 pm
Location: Italy
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:27 am [ UTC ]