setting focus during animations

Forums: setting focus during animations
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

setting focus during animations

Postby pegot » Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:21 pm

pegot Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:21 pm
Hi.

I'm new both Octane Renderer and Blender, so i have much to learn.

However, I was able to set up a decent work flow thus far for exporting animations from my main 3d application on the Mac (Cheetah 3d) into Blender 2.6 & Octane using the unsupported Blender v1.1 plugin.

Thanks for developing that! Works very nicely in my limited testing thus far.

There is one thing though I can't figure out. During an animation where the camera might pass and target several objects at different distances from each other, how does one selectively control focus? is this even possible?

I know that I can adjust the aperture setting in Octane (or through the plugin) but that only controls general depth of field. How can I ensure that specific objects are in focus?

I never experienced this issue in Cheetah 3d as everything is focused by default during a render (focus can also be controlled if necessary by adjusting /animating the DOF tag).

Would I need to accomplish this somehow by controlling camera focus in Blender's animation system and would that then get carried over via the plugin to Octane?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Windows 10
4.2Ghz i7 7700k / 64 GB
AsRock SuperCarrier
GTX 1080 ti SC Black (wc)
GTX 1080 ti SC2 Hybrid
GTX 780 6 GB
------
Hackintosh OS X 10.14.3 - NOT able to use with Octane :(
3.5 Ghz Intel i7-3770K / 32 GB
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5
GTX 770 4 GB
pegot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 693
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:44 am

Re: setting focus during animations

Postby yoyoz » Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:36 am

yoyoz Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:36 am
Hi,

please download the example I posted here http://www.refractivesoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=43464#p43464 (there's a short video and the blend file).

In this example, the camera is linked to an empty and the depth of field is attached to another one. This way you can control where the camera looks at and where to focus at, independently from each other.

Lionel
Desktop: Ubuntu 13.04 x64 - i7-3770K @ 3.5GHz - 32GB DDR3 - GTX670 2048MB
Laptop: Linux Mint 11 x64 - i7-2860QM @ 2.5GHz - 16GB DDR3 - Quadro 3000M 2GB
Software: NVidia 319.12 - Cuda 4.2.9 - Blender 2.66a
User avatar
yoyoz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Belgium

Re: setting focus during animations

Postby pegot » Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:02 pm

pegot Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:02 pm
Thanks!
Windows 10
4.2Ghz i7 7700k / 64 GB
AsRock SuperCarrier
GTX 1080 ti SC Black (wc)
GTX 1080 ti SC2 Hybrid
GTX 780 6 GB
------
Hackintosh OS X 10.14.3 - NOT able to use with Octane :(
3.5 Ghz Intel i7-3770K / 32 GB
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5
GTX 770 4 GB
pegot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 693
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:44 am

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Fri Jul 03, 2020 7:13 pm [ UTC ]