OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Forums: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby Daniel » Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:12 am

Daniel Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:12 am
I haven't had butterflies in my stomach for a long time... And now I do.
Core i7 950 @3.07GHz | GTX 460 2GB | 12GB RAM | Window 7 x64
Daniel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:52 am

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby steveps3 » Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:01 am

steveps3 Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:01 am
Daniel wrote:I haven't had butterflies in my stomach for a long time... And now I do.


You should see a doctor :lol:
(HW) Intel i7 2600k, 16GB DDR3, MSI 560GTX ti (2GB) x 3
(SW) Octane (1.50) Blender (2.70) (exporter 2.02)
(OS) Windows 7(64)
User avatar
steveps3
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: England

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby dave62 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:53 pm

dave62 Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:53 pm
A blender plugin for tight octane intergration.
Is this official? Really? Cant be true.. nothing anounced in the news.
viewforum.php?f=7

Would be Awesome!
I will buy it!!

Cheers dave
- Mint 10 64bit nvidia drv 260.19.29/cudatoolkit3.0 intel q6600, 4gbRAM, GTX470 1,2GB
- Mint 10 64bit/ Win7 64bit nvidia drv 260.19.29/cudatoolkit3.2 amd X6, 16gbRAM, 2x GTX580 3GB
->Octane 2.44/ Blender2.5x
User avatar
dave62
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby kavorka » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:09 pm

kavorka Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:09 pm
dave62 wrote:A blender plugin for tight octane intergration.
Is this official? Really? Cant be true.. nothing anounced in the news.
viewforum.php?f=7

Would be Awesome!
I will buy it!!

Cheers dave


They haven't "officially" announced it. It was more a "hey, we are working on it, stop bothering us" kind of announcement, haha. Once they have it more finished and are comfortable showing it, I'm sure they will announce it like they did the others.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby RealityFox » Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:35 pm

RealityFox Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:35 pm
Can't wait to test the little bastard. Gonna be so much better than an exporter.
RealityFox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 1:43 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby SamCameron » Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:11 am

SamCameron Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:11 am
Image
SamCameron
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:58 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby Alain » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:22 am

Alain Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:22 am
The fact that they do not officially put their intention about the Blender-Integration on the Otoy website (like they do for Cinema4D, DAZ-Studio, AutoCAD,...) makes me very distrustfuly.

It's not important what people SAY, it's only important what they DO ;-)

I don't believe it until I see it officially announced on the Otoy-Website.
My guess: From the time it's officially announced on the Otoy-Website, if it ever is, it will at least take one year until it's usable for production.

Yes I'm a pessimist, but that way I get more often positivly surprised ;-)

Kind regards
Alain
Intel Pentium 2.8 GHz 2 Cores, 8 GB RAM, GeForce GTX Titan 8GB, Blender 2.72b, Win 7 64 Bit
Alain
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:12 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby kavorka » Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:47 pm

kavorka Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:47 pm
Alain wrote:The fact that they do not officially put their intention about the Blender-Integration on the Otoy website (like they do for Cinema4D, DAZ-Studio, AutoCAD,...) makes me very distrustfuly.

It's not important what people SAY, it's only important what they DO ;-)

I don't believe it until I see it officially announced on the Otoy-Website.
My guess: From the time it's officially announced on the Otoy-Website, if it ever is, it will at least take one year until it's usable for production.

Yes I'm a pessimist, but that way I get more often positivly surprised ;-)

Kind regards
Alain



There are several plugins they are working on that they haven't announced. A company wouldn't announce something until they actually have something to show. If they say ya, working on Blender plugin, here's a screen shot and it looks horrible and un-usable, people will just go elsewhere and never come back. Once they have something that is starting to shape up and feel comfortable showing it, then they will.

This is how it works with any product, it's all marketing (think about how Microsoft, Sony and Nintendo announce new consoles, they don't announce it till years after it's started). One of the Devs did say they are working on it and it seems to me that Jimstar is the one working on it (he has given a little information on it, but this is really just an assumption). Not sure what else you want from them right now.

I do imagine it will be about a yearish until it is rolled out as an actual release, but if they have an open beta before that (dont know how they will do this), we may get our hands on something very usable before that.

I am trying to be optimistic, hoping that the Blender plugin will have the same amount of control as the other plugins.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby Daniel » Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:35 am

Daniel Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:35 am
kavorka wrote:it and it seems to me that Jimstar is the one working on it (he has given a little information on it, but this is really just an assumption).

It would make sense. He expressed availability to work on the plugin in the past, and then answered a question earlier in this thread with "Yes" which you'd assume only those working on the plugin would know to say.
Core i7 950 @3.07GHz | GTX 460 2GB | 12GB RAM | Window 7 x64
Daniel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:52 am

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby RealityFox » Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:16 am

RealityFox Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:16 am
Can't wait for the official announcement. Hope they say something soooooon. Even if they don't show screenshots.
RealityFox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 1:43 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Aug 13, 2020 12:53 am [ UTC ]