OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Forums: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby larmannjan » Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:20 pm

larmannjan Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:20 pm
Not to get off topic but octane scales multi-gpu better than cycles. Regarding the speed cycles glass is very noisy.
Win 7 64-bit | GTX580 | i7- 2600 @ 3.4Ghz | 12GB
larmannjan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:25 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby kavorka » Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:25 pm

kavorka Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:25 pm
larmannjan wrote:Not to get off topic but octane scales multi-gpu better than cycles. Regarding the speed cycles glass is very noisy.


I noticed a lot of noise and fireflys in my test, I had a large window wall on one end of my room and fireflys everywhere. I have 0 fireflys in the Octane render. I just assumed I don't know how to optimize Cycles because with the fireflys I was getting, I don't know how anyone can do interiors with Cycles.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby larmannjan » Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:01 pm

larmannjan Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:01 pm
A lot of people like to use yafaray for interior rendering. Or they use a fake sort of glass shader which works really well but doesn't produce nice caustics.
Win 7 64-bit | GTX580 | i7- 2600 @ 3.4Ghz | 12GB
larmannjan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:25 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby Sdados » Tue Jan 01, 2013 11:32 pm

Sdados Tue Jan 01, 2013 11:32 pm
cycles for interior is still not good... too much noise. They say some importance sampling update is coming with the next releases... we'll see.
win7 64, i5 750, 16gb ram, geforce 570gtx 2,5gb
Sdados
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:15 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby archigrafix » Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:05 pm

archigrafix Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:05 pm
are you joking about caustics in archviz interior renderings??? I dont see no interest about any real glass material for that purpose despite you get too much time and money to spent on your rendering jobs... I already tested Cycles for archviz interiors end it works quite well IMO
archigrafix
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:37 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby larmannjan » Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:50 pm

larmannjan Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:50 pm
archigrafix wrote:are you joking about caustics in archviz interior renderings??? I dont see no interest about any real glass material for that purpose despite you get too much time and money to spent on your rendering jobs... I already tested Cycles for archviz interiors end it works quite well IMO


I am not sure that I understand what you are trying to say. As far as cycles and archviz goes I have to say I think Octane is better (at the current sate) than cycles because of several features such as Importance Sampling.
Win 7 64-bit | GTX580 | i7- 2600 @ 3.4Ghz | 12GB
larmannjan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:25 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby larmannjan » Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:39 pm

larmannjan Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:39 pm
Will Octane For Blender use nodes like cycles does?
Win 7 64-bit | GTX580 | i7- 2600 @ 3.4Ghz | 12GB
larmannjan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:25 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby JimStar » Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:54 pm

JimStar Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:54 pm
larmannjan wrote:Will Octane For Blender use nodes like cycles does?

Yes.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3547
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby larmannjan » Sat Jan 05, 2013 9:58 pm

larmannjan Sat Jan 05, 2013 9:58 pm
any news at all?
Win 7 64-bit | GTX580 | i7- 2600 @ 3.4Ghz | 12GB
larmannjan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:25 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Blender plugin product dev wanted

Postby kivig » Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:45 pm

kivig Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:45 pm
larmannjan wrote:any news at all?

Doubt it's a fast thing to implement.

Still, curious if it will be a universal plug-in or a custom build.
http://www.visnevskis.com
Vista64/Ubuntu, GTX470/580
User avatar
kivig
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:42 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

Thu Aug 13, 2020 12:17 am [ UTC ]