GPU efficiency and

Forums: GPU efficiency and
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

Re: GPU efficiency and

Postby protovu » Tue Jan 22, 2019 1:48 am

protovu Tue Jan 22, 2019 1:48 am
All drivers were updated with the recent Win10 upgrade. Had it done by an expert who built the system.

It is a client file, so I will try to make another failing file.
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: GPU efficiency and

Postby DrawFun » Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:17 am

DrawFun Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:17 am
Hi protovu,

First of all, thanks so much for J.C's help! The suggestions are perfectly hitting home!

"Error binding socket......5131..." means port 5131 is being used by other applications at that time. Please ensure the port is available and do not run multiple OctaneServer programs at the same time. Besides, please make sure OctaneServer and the port are not blocked by the firewall.

About the GPU configuration and usage, as we don't have any additional settings about device configs on plugin side, running scene under Standalone might be the most useful way to locate issues. Thanks.
PS: I am not sure whether windows update can match the NV drivers perfectly. If it is possible, please fetch Nvidia drivers from the official website.
To use this version, you need a GPU of compute model 3.0 or higher. Support for Fermi GPUs (like GTX 4xx and 5xx) has been dropped. Also make sure you use a driver of version 387 or higher and if you are working on Mac OS that have a CUDA driver installed that supports at least CUDA 9.1.


Cheers,
DrawFun
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am

Re: GPU efficiency and

Postby protovu » Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:47 pm

protovu Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:47 pm
HI Drawfun,

Ok, just updated from 417.35 to 417.71.

How can I determine what exactly is using the 5131 port?

Since I am able to start Blender and use the Preview for a while, does this mean that something else is starting on its own to access the port? If not, the Error message would come up immediately, correct?
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: GPU efficiency and

Postby J.C » Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:41 pm

J.C Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:41 pm
You can check ports using system tools:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/481 ... on-windows
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 1xGTX 970
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: GPU efficiency and

Postby protovu » Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:46 pm

protovu Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:46 pm
Hi Drawfun and JC,

listening ports.png


So...I have a render going...(wait, actually it just crashed on frame 159), and simultaneously seeing the above image. Not sure exactly when the errors came up, as they usually appear behind the Blender App.
I notice them when minimizing the program or floating the cursor over the ORserver icon in my taskbar.

Am I supposed to see 2 instances of the OctaneServer in the listening ports?

You have to forgive me, but this is all Greek to me.

I have added an image corresponding to the restarted render...more port info. Render seems to be going ok now.

thank you for your help,
Rick
Attachments
more ports.PNG
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: GPU efficiency and

Postby grimm » Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:15 am

grimm Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:15 am
I have noticed that some times OctaneServer will not quit and I have to kill it manually. Doesn't happen often, but you can get these kinds of errors when it happens. It might be something different too as I'm on Linux, so YMMV. :)
Linux Mint 19 x64 | Nvidia GTX 980 4GB (displays) RTX 2070 8GB| Intel I7 5820K 3.8 Ghz | 32Gb Memory | Nvidia Driver 410.66
User avatar
grimm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Re: GPU efficiency and

Postby protovu » Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:19 am

protovu Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:19 am
Interesting..

Just to be certain order of things...., the drill to use Blender Octane is still:
turn on O-server,
then launch O-Blender.
yes?

Not necessary with my Carrara plugin. Both launch with Carrara.
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: GPU efficiency and

Postby J.C » Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:58 am

J.C Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:58 am
There should be only one instance of the OctaneServer running on your system. Is it starting when you boot up your system?

When you run Blender-Octane the order is arbitrary. You can run Blender or Server first. Just double check if another server instance is not running.
Last edited by J.C on Wed Jan 23, 2019 1:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 1xGTX 970
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: GPU efficiency and

Postby protovu » Wed Jan 23, 2019 1:10 am

protovu Wed Jan 23, 2019 1:10 am
With a single instance of the OctaneRender Server running, I definitely have the Octane Server on Listening ports 1024, 1025, 1026, 5130, 5131.

Something to do with dual CPUs and 4 cards?
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: GPU efficiency and

Postby J.C » Wed Jan 23, 2019 1:30 am

J.C Wed Jan 23, 2019 1:30 am
On my system Octane Server has also several ports opened:
proto: tcp4 addr.port: *.5130
proto: tcp4 addr.port: *.5131
proto: tcp4 addr.port: *.1026
proto: tcp4 addr.port: *.1025
proto: tcp4 addr.port: *.1024
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 1xGTX 970
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław
PreviousNext

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Tue Jun 18, 2019 8:52 am [ UTC ]