Page 1 of 2

settings materials for animation

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:03 pm
by Sdados
hi everybody...

simple question... how can i set materials in octane when i want to render an animation from blender?

usually for still images i just export the obj in octane and then work on materials. but with animations there is no way i can set materials in this way.

I saw that changing options in blender materials affects also octane material, but looks the relation between options is quite messy.

any help with this?

thanks!!

Re: settings materials for animation

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:14 am
by yoyoz
Hi Sdados,

once you're done working with the materials on a still image save your project and then ensure to uncheck the 'Replace' checkbox before starting the animation. This way the exporter will only update the obj and let the ocs file alone. The filenames must match but this will be the case if exporting both still and anims using the script.

Cheers,
Yoyoz

Re: settings materials for animation

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 8:34 am
by Sdados
thank you very much yoyoz!

Re: settings materials for animation

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:12 am
by Sdados
here i come again with another question! :D

now i think i understood how to make an animation... there is a little problem left. i cannot find the rendered images.
i set the path in the box just above the render animation button, but then i cannot find them where i wanted to put them.

i tried many variations... relative path, absolute path, with the name, no name, writing also the extension (as .png for example) but i still won't find them!

what am i doing wrong?

thanks!

Re: settings materials for animation

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:18 am
by yoyoz
The plugin is supposed to build the filename based on the following parameters: animation output, project name and frame number.
So if you have the following:
- Animation output: C:\Output (must be an absolute path)
- Project name: myproj (no path, no extension)
- render frame 25
the image should be C:\Output\myproj_0025.png

However, on Windows the actual parameter given to Octane is C:/Output//myproj_0025.png ("/" or "//" instead of "\"). Blenders accomodates well with that (I could check the obj and mtl files are properly created), but I don't know if Octane does too as I can't test it on Windows. I'm pretty sure I didn't alter the original code from Enrico for this part and was assuming it was fine.

In order to check, please start blender from command line, ensure verbose mode is on in the 'Octane System Setings' panel, render an anim and check the output from the console. The full command used to start Octane will be shown with all parameters.

Re: settings materials for animation

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:23 pm
by Sdados
first of all thanks again for the ready help yoyoz!

and second... stupid me :D i was trying to put the path+name of the file the animation output space. so that was the problem, now is working fine!

so thank you again and don't worry... ill be back soon with more questions :D

Re: settings materials for animation

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:13 pm
by Sdados
sorry... i still have problems with materials in animations...

that's my workflow: i export the still render, i set the materials and then i save the .ocs file over the exported from blender one. i come back in blender, i uncheck the "replace" option next to the project name, and then i click on "render animation".

the animation starts correctly, but the materials are the default ones... :? :oops:

some help please?

thanks very much!

Re: settings materials for animation

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 6:20 am
by yoyoz
Can you post a small test scene here?
I'd also like to see the console output from Blender when exporting the still with 'replace' and then rendering the anim (without replace of course)

Thanks

Re: settings materials for animation

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:26 pm
by Sdados
yoyoz... first of all thanks again for helping me. now is working... im sorry to bother the forum with my problems but to be honest i think i was doing the same things when it was not working... but probably not :D

sorry again, ill try to do more experiments on my own next time before asking.

even if octane and exporter still needs improvements, seems now they are working fine for me.

sorry and thanks again :)

Re: settings materials for animation

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2012 11:23 pm
by oneeyedfox
hi I just try to render first animation in octane all of this here help me a lot thx. I mixed to colours rust and scratched metal by marble texture but after couple rendered images I have to stop because that marble mix mask isn't effected by rotation movement just stay on place.could I fix it ???https://www.dropbox.com/s/8gr4w6dx3sbtj0p/0000-0083.avi