Texture sequence

Forums: Texture sequence
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

Texture sequence

Postby kivig » Fri Aug 06, 2010 3:48 pm

kivig Fri Aug 06, 2010 3:48 pm
I have to do a render of same object with a ton of different textures.
A logical solution would be to make a sequence of textures and render it as animation.
Is it somehow possible to use texture sequence?
http://www.visnevskis.com
Vista64/Ubuntu, GTX470/580
User avatar
kivig
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:42 pm

Re: Texture sequence

Postby radiance » Fri Aug 06, 2010 4:04 pm

radiance Fri Aug 06, 2010 4:04 pm
if you're host app supports this and you have an octane plugin for it, it should be simple not ?

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Texture sequence

Postby kivig » Fri Aug 06, 2010 4:54 pm

kivig Fri Aug 06, 2010 4:54 pm
Guess this thread should be moved to Blender plugin forum then.

Made a test scene with single material, that has texture sequence. After exporting the scene I have same material without a texture at all. (So that's why i thought I just have to connect all the textures manually inside Octane and asked about sequence)
If I connect the texture manually, when I reexport I have two materials now. One is automatically named as texture filename (and has no texture) and used instead of previous one. And another is previously manually created with texture but the material not actually used in the scene. After some more of reexporting I get more weird results but texture frame is not changing whatever I do.
http://www.visnevskis.com
Vista64/Ubuntu, GTX470/580
User avatar
kivig
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:42 pm

Re: Texture sequence

Postby radiance » Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:35 pm

radiance Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:35 pm
Hey,

I'm afraid i can't help you much with this, i've never used texture sequences in blender.
i'll move this topic into the blender forum, maybe some more seasoned blender users can help.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Texture sequence

Postby kivig » Sat Aug 07, 2010 1:15 am

kivig Sat Aug 07, 2010 1:15 am
Trying to get it working for some more I found that export script is sort of passing the texture in *.mtl file (map_Kd filename.jpg) but it is not loaded into Octane.
If I set "R" option when exporting, the texture gets loaded but all the materials get reset. And still only the first frame of texture sequence gets there.
http://www.visnevskis.com
Vista64/Ubuntu, GTX470/580
User avatar
kivig
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:42 pm

Re: Texture sequence

Postby face » Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:38 am

face Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:38 am
Thats right because the image with the material is saved in the ocs file.
To change it in blender will have no effect after you create a new scene in Octane.
Maybe it gives a option in Blender to bake the material (ambient color) to a new texture file.
This new texture file should have every frame the same name so that Octane can load the changed texture.
In the Softimage exporter i wrote, i search for the bake property in the mesh and if any exists, i render it before i export the mesh.
So i have every frame a other texture with the same name.
But this must make the exporter.

You can see the effecte here:


face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Texture sequence

Postby kivig » Sat Aug 07, 2010 12:49 pm

kivig Sat Aug 07, 2010 12:49 pm
face wrote:Maybe it gives a option in Blender to bake the material (ambient color) to a new texture file.
This new texture file should have every frame the same name so that Octane can load the changed texture.
In the Softimage exporter i wrote, i search for the bake property in the mesh and if any exists, i render it before i export the mesh.
So i have every frame a other texture with the same name.
But this must make the exporter.


Good idea!

But it shouldn't be a problem for Python just to to copy current frame textures under the same file names, so they can be manually attached in Octane.
I know nothing about blender API yet though.
http://www.visnevskis.com
Vista64/Ubuntu, GTX470/580
User avatar
kivig
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:42 pm

Re: Texture sequence

Postby face » Sat Aug 07, 2010 8:22 pm

face Sat Aug 07, 2010 8:22 pm
kivig wrote:Good idea!

But it shouldn't be a problem for Python just to to copy current frame textures under the same file names, so they can be manually attached in Octane.
I know nothing about blender API yet though.

Ok, thats would be a faster solution ;)
But the plus for baking is, that you can use more than one uv-map, you can animate the position of every uv-map, you can manipulte the uv-values (if blender it supports), you can use animated procedurals and you can use vertex maps like the video (if Blender can bake them). All this you can use because all textures will be bake into a single texture that you can use in Octane.
I don´t know which uv-map the script use, but i think it use the first one if more then one exists.

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Texture sequence

Postby kivig » Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:25 pm

kivig Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:25 pm
face wrote:Ok, thats would be a faster solution ;)
But the plus for baking is, that you can use more than one uv-map, you can animate the position of every uv-map, you can manipulte the uv-values (if blender it supports), you can use animated procedurals and you can use vertex maps like the video (if Blender can bake them). All this you can use because all textures will be bake into a single texture that you can use in Octane.
I don´t know which uv-map the script use, but i think it use the first one if more then one exists.

face


You are right again :)

It'd be a shame to loose texture mixing, plug-ins etc.
Ideally there could be a switch between baking and copying the first found texture.

Though I'd be happy to see anything that works :D
http://www.visnevskis.com
Vista64/Ubuntu, GTX470/580
User avatar
kivig
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:42 pm

Re: Texture sequence

Postby ROUBAL » Sun Aug 08, 2010 12:42 pm

ROUBAL Sun Aug 08, 2010 12:42 pm
I am not sure that I have understood well everithing about this topic, but I have a question that sounds more or less related to this topic. It 's not actually about animating textures, but rather animating materials properties :

As the upcoming version will have emitting materials, I wonder it it will be possible to animate the color or the intensity of lights : in Blender it is made by using IPO curves, but I don't think that these curves will be usable in Octane.
French Blender user - CPU : intel Quad QX9650 at 3GHz - 8GB of RAM - Windows 7 Pro 64 bits. Display GPU : GeForce GTX 480 (2 Samsung 2443BW-1920x1600 monitors). External GPUs : two EVGA GTX 580 3GB in a Cubix GPU-Xpander Pro 2. NVidia Driver : 368.22.
User avatar
ROUBAL
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: FRANCE
Next

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:06 am [ UTC ]