names with spaces

Forums: names with spaces
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

names with spaces

Postby kavorka » Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:54 am

kavorka Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:54 am
Is it a problem with octane or the Blender plugin that files names cant have spaces?
Recently got a new job and there is a network folder that has a separate folder for each employee. I want to use my folder as the default path so everything is backed up and accessible from other computers. Problem is, the root folder has two words and a space. I cant change it because then everybody elses file associations get wrong.

Any way to change this?
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: names with spaces

Postby kavorka » Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:55 pm

kavorka Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:55 pm
can anyone tell me if this is a blender exporter problem, or an Octane problem?
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: names with spaces

Postby yoyoz » Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:29 pm

yoyoz Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:29 pm
Early versions of Octane didn't support file or folder names with spaces in them, so I enforced 'good' names into the exporter. Now Octane has much more tolerance, I may remove the restriction in a future release of the exporter, if any.
Desktop: Ubuntu 13.04 x64 - i7-3770K @ 3.5GHz - 32GB DDR3 - GTX670 2048MB
Laptop: Linux Mint 11 x64 - i7-2860QM @ 2.5GHz - 16GB DDR3 - Quadro 3000M 2GB
Software: NVidia 319.12 - Cuda 4.2.9 - Blender 2.66a
User avatar
yoyoz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Belgium

Re: names with spaces

Postby kavorka » Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:22 pm

kavorka Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:22 pm
I would greatly appreciate it. Right now, I can't export to our network drive, and if I later move the files to the network drive, the file associations wont be the same.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: names with spaces

Postby matej » Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:47 am

matej Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:47 am
In Linux you would just make a symbolic link to the folder in question (network drive with spaces in name) and use that link path inside Blender/Octane. Doesn't the system you use have such option?
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:52 am [ UTC ]