Octane Render for SketchUp 4.00.0.6 Test Release

Forums: Octane Render for SketchUp 4.00.0.6 Test Release
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 4.00.0.6 Test Release

Postby Jorgensen » Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:29 pm

Jorgensen Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:29 pm
Nice
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 4.00.0.6 Test Release

Postby CaptainCrowbar » Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:43 pm

CaptainCrowbar Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:43 pm
johlanga wrote:There are inconsistency with Hide/Unhide geometry when using Skatter, this makes it a pain to use.

-Asset A > render only (see skatter 1 and 5 in render list), octane auto-hide it.
-Asset B > render only unchecked , octane don't auto-hide it and THIS is the preferred behavior.
-The rocks > from the Skatter Library and octane render the hidden seed asset.

When using render only it's impossible to reuse assets :(


I know there are several issues with geometry hiding & visibility in various contexts - with Skatter, with different scenes, and with selecting layers. I'm working on a revision of the visibility control mechanics that should fix these issues. I hope to have a new build with these and other improvements next week.

johlanga wrote:Cap, when connecting proxies to obj .ocs/ .orbx/ .obj/ can you make the plug-in connect it to its own node graph (see pics below).
And please make it remember the layout/setting ;) and please don't auto-delete floating nodes!

ocs are often complex, and this would make the "Nodegraph editor" chaos a little less annoying.


Looking into this. Layout persistence and not deleting floating nodes will be easy to fix and should be in the next build. (Discarding floating nodes was a mistake on my part, sorry; I originally put it in as a temporary workaround for another bug that was keeping nodes around from the old scene when a new one was loaded, then forgot to take it out after that was fixed.)
User avatar
CaptainCrowbar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:38 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 4.00.0.6 Test Release

Postby johlanga » Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:40 pm

johlanga Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:40 pm
CaptainCrowbar wrote:
Looking into this. Layout persistence and not deleting floating nodes will be easy to fix and should be in the next build. (Discarding floating nodes was a mistake on my part, sorry; I originally put it in as a temporary workaround for another bug that was keeping nodes around from the old scene when a new one was loaded, then forgot to take it out after that was fixed.)


Thanks, much appreciated!

It would also bee nice if the content of sandbox and proxy node graphs does not auto rearrange every time you reopen SU file :D
PS: the distance between Universal material nodes are too small.
Win7 Sp2____2xGTX1060 [email protected]____Su17.2.2555 and Su18.0.16975____SketchUp Plugin 4.00.0.17____4.00.RC7 Standalone
johlanga
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:58 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 4.00.0.6 Test Release

Postby johlanga » Fri Sep 28, 2018 7:22 am

johlanga Fri Sep 28, 2018 7:22 am
If I create a more complex scene than simple test boxes, the geometry generation becomes really slow (several seconds to generate a single polygon).
The scene below are trees generated in SU (3D ArcStudio), two loaded as proxies, third one only leafs loaded as proxies.

Is this normal/expected?
When are geometry generation/optimization planned in the development cycle?

Edit: It seems related to 3D ArcStudio. I try investigate and report back.....
Edit Edit: I uninstalled 3D ArcStudio in SU2017 and instead copy/paste from SU2016 after I have exploded all nested levels inside tree component.
Now trees from 3DAS works like a charm in octane plug-in :)


Edit Edit Edit: Of course, it was several issues. I reconnected leaf proxy > problem reapers.

I have sent a PM to Cap with SU file.
Attachments
50_tree06_slowGeometry2.png
50_tree06_slowGeometry.png
Default View10.png
Win7 Sp2____2xGTX1060 [email protected]____Su17.2.2555 and Su18.0.16975____SketchUp Plugin 4.00.0.17____4.00.RC7 Standalone
johlanga
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:58 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 4.00.0.6 Test Release

Postby CaptainCrowbar » Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:12 pm

CaptainCrowbar Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:12 pm
Just a quick note to keep you up to date. I was expecting to have a new release out last week, but ran into a couple of delays. The visibility issues were a bit more complicated than I thought, but I think I have a handle on this now. (Johlanga, this should help with the issue you posted just above.) Secondly, I'm planning to make simultaneous 3.08.x and 4.0.x release as far as possible now, so I need to get the code in a position to be built with either version of the SDK. Finally, I'll be away for part of this week (followup treatment for the broken finger I mentioned earlier). I'll try to have new 3.x & 4.x releases for you as soon as I can - possibly later this week, but more likely next week.
User avatar
CaptainCrowbar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:38 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 4.00.0.6 Test Release

Postby teeshiiddo » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:45 pm

teeshiiddo Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:45 pm
Thanks for the update, a newer version 4 based on a more recent RC build would be great.

Does the current version 4 build expire today, in 8 hours?
Asus X99 10G WS | Windows 10.0 | 6x GTX 1080 Ti + 2x 2080Ti | i7-6850K CPU @ 3.60GHz | 32GB RAM
teeshiiddo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:29 am

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 4.00.0.6 Test Release

Postby johlanga » Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:32 am

johlanga Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:32 am
Yes, octane plug-in has expired.
Had to uninstall it to continue work in SU.

Luckily I don't use the Octane plug-in for work related stuff.... :evil:
Win7 Sp2____2xGTX1060 [email protected]____Su17.2.2555 and Su18.0.16975____SketchUp Plugin 4.00.0.17____4.00.RC7 Standalone
johlanga
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:58 pm
Previous

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:15 am [ UTC ]