Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release

Forums: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release

Postby johlanga » Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:07 pm

johlanga Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:07 pm
Seems that most Octane for SketchUp users has left for V-Ray, or to the Standalone. It's a pity, .....it deserves a lot more attention. From my point of view as an architect, this plug-in has the most potential to release the MAGIC which CEO Jules Urbach talked about in this presentation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZCfg4doWYg

Arcitects using SketchUp are a HUGE user base for OTOY to tap into. And Octane has the edge in fast viz, if only it was more accessible. Architects generally don't want to learn Cinema 4D, Maya or MAX etc...
Jules are you listening? :)

I am reading the bugs and roadmap thread and can't help thinking that this plug-in needs more momentum and love from OTOY.

Some suggestions:
-Ask users (when there are some still using it) to test specific features that are in focus for next release.
-Make a list of feature not to use, news and technical details. Ref. http://poserphysics.blogspot.no/2016/03 ... pport.html
-Make a road map
-Give users a reason to invest their time (free v4 upgrade?)

Best Regards,
Johnny
Win7 Sp2____2xGTX1060 [email protected]____Su17.2.2555 and Su18.0.16975____SketchUp Plugin 4.00.0.17____4.00.RC7 Standalone
johlanga
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:58 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release

Postby johlanga » Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:33 pm

johlanga Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:33 pm
Found a fairly stable working method....

1. Don't use materials

2. Load/unload terrain proxies from standalone (with materials).
It's a must to unload it before saving, or doing anything besides simple push/pull and move operations.

A request for next release:
Make the plug-in remember the positions of nodes in the nodegraph editor. My head is about to explode :oops:
Attachments
Terrain_proxies.png
Win7 Sp2____2xGTX1060 [email protected]____Su17.2.2555 and Su18.0.16975____SketchUp Plugin 4.00.0.17____4.00.RC7 Standalone
johlanga
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:58 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release

Postby azen » Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:22 am

azen Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:22 am
Hi all,

Many thanks for the helpful suggestions. Just to keep the thread updated on progress - some of the more complex low-level integration challenges is now also being addressed with help from an additional developer. This has been very helpful thus far, and we are currently in the middle of testing and validating a fresh build with improvements to the inner-workings of the Octane Viewport and Nodegraph.
azen
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:06 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release

Postby johlanga » Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:26 pm

johlanga Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:26 pm
azen wrote:Hi all,

Many thanks for the helpful suggestions. Just to keep the thread updated on progress - some of the more complex low-level integration challenges is now also being addressed with help from an additional developer. This has been very helpful thus far, and we are currently in the middle of testing and validating a fresh build with improvements to the inner-workings of the Octane Viewport and Nodegraph.


Hi Azen,
Thanks for the update. Good to hear about the additional resources allocated to SU plug-in :)

The low-level integration are it related to major changes in Octane SDK, and preparing for Brigade in next release. Can you tell us anything about that?
Win7 Sp2____2xGTX1060 [email protected]____Su17.2.2555 and Su18.0.16975____SketchUp Plugin 4.00.0.17____4.00.RC7 Standalone
johlanga
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:58 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release

Postby cakeller98 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:31 am

cakeller98 Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:31 am
FYI - I just tried Sketchup 2018 with Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14.

I have SU 2017 installed, and reinstalled the latest octane plugin.

I then copied the plugin stuff from the 2017 plugin folder over to the same folder in 2018.

The file:
C:\Users\<...>\AppData\Roaming\SketchUp\SketchUp 2018\SketchUp\Plugins\octane_render.rb
The folder and all contents:
C:\Users\<...>\AppData\Roaming\SketchUp\SketchUp 2018\SketchUp\Plugins\octane\

Started up SU 2018 and everything seems to be working OK. Note the sun/shadow on SU does not control octane's environment. However octane's Sun/Sky environment DOES control the SketchUp settings.
As of 2019-02-12
- Dell Precision 7710 w/Xeon E3-1535M v5 2.9GHz
- Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit (SP 1)
- 32 GB System Memory
- nVidia Quadro M5000M (Driver Ver 416.78)
- Standalone 4.0, 4.01.1, 4.02
- Maya 2018, 2019
Modo 12
Sketchup 2018, 2019
cakeller98
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:18 am

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release

Postby ArchMP » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:27 am

ArchMP Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:27 am
Honestly we got tired of trying beta versions.
We also paid the PLugIn (and I personally bought two) in addition to the standalone engine.
if Otoy wants us to continue using Octane, after two years, I think it's time to get a professional version, There are many other render engines on the market, really stable.
If we have to keep doing the beta testers, tell us clearly and roundly, we should eventually be compensated for this.
I do not know about you, but we have to work, do not play bugs... Two years of tips and strategies to get around the bugs! but come on, it's a shame. :!:
ArchMP
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 10:26 am

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release

Postby resmas » Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:13 am

resmas Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:13 am
ArchMP wrote:Honestly we got tired of trying beta versions.
We also paid the PLugIn (and I personally bought two) in addition to the standalone engine.
if Otoy wants us to continue using Octane, after two years, I think it's time to get a professional version, There are many other render engines on the market, really stable.
If we have to keep doing the beta testers, tell us clearly and roundly, we should eventually be compensated for this.
I do not know about you, but we have to work, do not play bugs... Two years of tips and strategies to get around the bugs! but come on, it's a shame. :!:


Exactly!!

And A Good Year to everyone

cheers
i7-2600k | SSD Vertex 3 | WD Velociraptor | WS Revolution | 16GB Ram HyperX | PSU LEPA G1600W | 3 X Asus GTX590 |
https://pt-pt.facebook.com/arq.resmas
User avatar
resmas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release

Postby happymilk » Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:39 am

happymilk Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:39 am
ArchMP wrote:Honestly we got tired of trying beta versions.
We also paid the PLugIn (and I personally bought two) in addition to the standalone engine.
if Otoy wants us to continue using Octane, after two years, I think it's time to get a professional version, There are many other render engines on the market, really stable.
If we have to keep doing the beta testers, tell us clearly and roundly, we should eventually be compensated for this.
I do not know about you, but we have to work, do not play bugs... Two years of tips and strategies to get around the bugs! but come on, it's a shame. :!:


+1
I am very tired too
Win 10pro 64 | 3 x Geforce GTX980Ti | i7 5930K | 32GB
User avatar
happymilk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:25 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release

Postby johlanga » Sat Jan 06, 2018 3:10 am

johlanga Sat Jan 06, 2018 3:10 am
ArchMP wrote:Honestly we got tired of trying beta versions.
We also paid the PLugIn (and I personally bought two) in addition to the standalone engine.
if Otoy wants us to continue using Octane, after two years, I think it's time to get a professional version, There are many other render engines on the market, really stable.
If we have to keep doing the beta testers, tell us clearly and roundly, we should eventually be compensated for this.
I do not know about you, but we have to work, do not play bugs... Two years of tips and strategies to get around the bugs! but come on, it's a shame. :!:



+1
approaching 4 years waiting.... :(
Win7 Sp2____2xGTX1060 [email protected]____Su17.2.2555 and Su18.0.16975____SketchUp Plugin 4.00.0.17____4.00.RC7 Standalone
johlanga
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:58 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.07.0.14 Test Release

Postby ff7darkcloud » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:23 pm

ff7darkcloud Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:23 pm
Not sure if this has been mentioned before but the materials that get created when launching the plugin are glossy by default, is there a plan to make that diffuse instead? Is there a way to prevent this?
( PC ) Win10 x64 | 2xRTX2080TI | ASUS Rampage VI Extreme | i9-7900x | 32GB | 1600W
( Laptop ) Win10 x64 | RTX2080Max-Q | Lenovo Legion Y740 | i7-9750H | 32GB - Octane Standalone Win 10/ Sketchup 2019

PORTFOLIO: https://renderspace.wixsite.com/portfolio
User avatar
ff7darkcloud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 11:20 pm
Location: Fairfax, VA, USA
PreviousNext

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

Fri May 29, 2020 2:23 pm [ UTC ]